We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

I would have loved to stay longer and go in the swimming pool! The staff were very friendly and kind. I would love to come again in December. The garden was beautiful, we could have played hide and seek!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank b1b2g2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Very nice hotel with lovely rooms and beautiful gardens and pool The service was very good and the staff members were very friendly I would love to come back The food was delicious which I liked though a little bit spicy Thank you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanvrit
London
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We had a wonderful stay there before our climb.The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable, and were incredibly genuine in their approach. We came down after 9 days climbing,summiting on my friends 50th Birthday, to a gorgeous Birthday cake with her name on it.....the icing on the cake! Thankyou all at Mountain Inn, and I will recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mairead m
Bryncrug, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Recommended by Audley Travel we found the Mountain Inn to be very welcoming. The lady on reception was very helpful and charming. The room spacious clean and comfortable. The bathroom a little basic but functional.there was no hairdryer but then if your going to climb up Kilimanjaro you'll be missing mire than that. The food was excellent, especially the curry...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annef302
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 July 2015

It took us a while to reach this hotel from the airport after our long journey. The Inn was beautiful, rooms spacious and clean, food was good though the selection was limited. Mountain Inn is the perfect place to stay if you are doing the Kilimanjaro hike. We also returned to the same Inn after the hike. The staff were...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShaViswa
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 22 July 2015

We stayed here a couple of nights before and after our safari and really enjoyed our stay. The meals are what did it for me in this place, and would really like to compliment the chef. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and they did not even mind teaching me some Swahili during the time I was there –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hemant L
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Part of a package stay for a mountain climb. Had my money stolen from my bag from the "safe" It took me complaining via my agent for the hotel to admit they will refund my money. Next be careful when you rent equipment. The lady at the shop overcharged me. When i asked I was told the raincoat i rented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
Remee R, Marketing Manager at Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, it is with great regret to read your review and feedback on our TripAdvisor page. Furthermore we sincerely regret that we accepted your request, when you asked us if we could hand over your valuables that were in the safe to your “driver”, because you were not able to come to collect them yourself as your flight details...

Toronto
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed here at the start of our trip to Tanzania. The room was spacious and clean. This was very nice, keeping in mind where this is in the world. There was some street noise at night from trucks but not bad. We enjoyed some traditional inspired food at the restaurant and breakfast was enjoyable. The grounds are well kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mortaric
Hoi An
Reviewed 1 April 2015

What a wonderful find, an oasis of peace and comfort amongst all the dust, dirt and noise that is East Africa. Although located just outside Moshi, it really is worth the little (and easy)effort to get to this place. Set out in a 'plantation bungalow' style, in beautiful and peaceful gardens, the very large rooms are simple (perhaps basic) but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryHoiAn
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I stayed at Mountain Inn, along with 14 colleagues in January 2015; we stayed the day before and day after our climb of Kilimanjaro, before continuing on to safari, all organised by Shah Tours (I have a separate review on here for them!) The hotel is located a short taxi ride outside of Moshi, which we found great as it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 0Tracey

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
1.4 km away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#5 of 16 in Moshi
34 reviews
215.2 km away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0.5 km away
Parkview Inn
Parkview Inn
#4 of 16 in Moshi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sal Salinero Hotel
Sal Salinero Hotel
#11 of 16 in Moshi
106 reviews
0.9 km away
Keys Hotels Limited - Uru Road
1.2 km away
Q Wine Hotel
Q Wine Hotel
#10 of 16 in Moshi
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Food & drink at the hotel
Mountain Inn - Indian Restaurant
Mountain Inn - Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, International, Fusion
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Inn is the perfect base hotel conveniently located: - 5kms from Moshi town on the road to Marangu / main gate to Kilimanjaro National Park- Approximately one hour to Marangu gate - Half an hours drive to Mweka gate- Approximately one hour to Kilimanjaro International Aiport. Mountain Inn has 24 spacious en-suite rooms (singles, doubles and triples) allowing preparations before and after a Kili trek to be easily handled. Our restaurant is one of the very few in Moshi that serves freshly prepared meals including breakfast, lunch and dinner with a set menu, a la carte menu and an Indian menu by our experienced chefs. The small fully stocked bar and gardens are a popular place for meeting fellow trekkers. Services & Activities: Free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, massage & more! Itineraries planned by Shah Tours and Travels include accommodation at Mountain Inn unless otherwise specified. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Inn

Address: Taifa Road | Kiborloni, Mnazi, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Price Range: RM252 - RM385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shah Tours - Mountain Inn Kilimanjaro Hotel Moshi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bungalow rooms are fairly spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 67MichaelF, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near the pool and bar”
 of 5 bubbles adityar736, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms which are close to swimming pool are nice to see the mount Kilimanjaro view”
 of 5 bubbles Kilimanjarobrothers, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book room just beside swimming pool or dining area.”
 of 5 bubbles PriyaPanda, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road (noisy) and the kitchen (noisy and smelly)”
 of 5 bubbles richardbV1351MI, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5