We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

622 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Start your review of Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent 3 nights here I believe that it has all that a lodge should have and more. The rooms were fine with balcony views over the countryside. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean. The main lodge was very attractive. The food was very good and a nice variety of dishes for all of the meals. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review posted following your stay with us. It was good to see you all embrace the whole Ngorongoro experience with such enthusiasm and it is always a pleasure to host guests who enthuse about this beautiful part of Tanzania. I will certainly pass your kind comments on to the staff. With best wishes from...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rhino Lodge is perfect for a few nights when visiting the Ngorongoro Conservation Area or Lake Manyara National Park. It was originally the home and offices of the original park curator so has a nice rustic, old-fashioned charm. The restaurant has nice log fires lit in the middle to keep one warm and cosy and still with panoramic views on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tropicopter
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your enthusiastic review following your stay with us Rhino Lodge. It is always interesting for us when guests want to know the history of the building and the general area and who appreciate our night time visitors! We are indeed very fortunate to have such wonderful views and to be so close to the Crater. We do...

London, UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent our last night here and it was very convenient after a long day of game drive in the crater. The restaurant area is very pleasant with a big fireplace in the middle of the room and the manager is super nice and friendly, and made sure we were well cared for. Food was fine. For my standards, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KooChoLondon_UK
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your stay with us. You are quite correct, we are a budget lodge. We do our best to provide a homely, cosy and welcoming atmosphere and most people love the surroundings and the chance to see the buffalo etc right in front of the terrace. The water is boiled and...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is perfect to spend a night or two while visiting the crater. The setting is fantastic, overlooking and hosting visitors from the jungle. We had waterbuck and bushbuck grazing right in front of our patio, all that cramping of the neck in the safari truck was truly unnecessary! The restaurant is huge and the food quiet good. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobyfrancis
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Yes, we are indeed so very fortunate to be in such a wonderful location and it is great for us to know that other people also appreciate the special atmosphere of Rhino and its surroundings. The Lodge was originally built as the house for the Conservator of the Crater and the simplicity but homely atmosphere helps to create the atmosphere...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved staying at this small lodge for 3 nights & spent 2 days exploring the crater! It may not be a luxury lodge, but we were very comfortable & had everything we needed. We are a family of 3 (which includes a photographer & a college daughter studying conservation & ecology). We liked that Rhino Lodge didn't feel like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank violinmama2017
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you sincerely for your very positive and useful review of your stay at Rhino Lodge. It will help others understand what we aim to achieve, a homely atmosphere, comfortable areas to sit and relax and rooms with a view and close proximity to the Crater. I will pass your kind comments about onto our staff as they are a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night in this lodge. It's a nice complex, in the middle of the nature. Staff was really friendly. The rooms were basic, with a nice patio outside, and the bathroom was okay. Our neighbours were talking and sneezing the entire night, and we could hear them like they were standing next to us. So we didn't sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yaanav2015
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your overall positive response to your stay with us Rhino Lodge and we're glad you got to see our resident herd of buffalo. We are so sorry you had such a disturbed night with your neighbours causing you to have lack of sleep but unfortunately some guests can be unaware of the fact there are guests in...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a budget lodge that was well located to Ngorongoro crater. The rooms were average and basic with a few issues with the shower setup, but hey it could have been worse. Service was good and a nice welcome. Dinner and breakfast were reasonable and in a nice high ceiling lodge with verandah. I wouldn't return for a holiday,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesterinoz
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review for Rhino Lodge. Indeed, for most guests it is a one night only stop and we're glad you appreciated the welcome and good service. We are in the process of replacing many of the showers and various other items in the bathrooms. During the high season this is not possible...

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Very old, poor service and the food was not anything good. We barely had something to eat, as the food was not very inviting. Also, the lunch boxes were the worst we had on our 6 days safari adventure. The rooms had a good view, but you can get that lots of places. We would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DKanonym
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry to learn of your disappointment at your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. Our staff are normally known for their friendliness and eagerness to help in any way so thank you for alerting us to the fact the service was not good the night you were here & for the issues concerning the quality of the...

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Staying here for two nights during our Ngorongoro Crater visit was a fantastic choice. This was my favorite lodge of the 14 day safari. Why was it my favorite you ask? The staff was friendly and welcoming. The setting of the lodge is near the road to go down into the crater. However, it is set back away from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheflew
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderfully descriptive stay at Rhino Lodge. It is so good to learn that guests appreciate not only the wonderful scenery but also the wildlife that is an essential part of the experience also. You were fortunate indeed. Our staff always do their very best to make guests feel welcome and at home and nothing is too...

Norrbotten
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Stayed here with my boyfriend one night during a seven days safari. The location is good, just 20 minutes drive to the crater entrance. The view is also nice and the lodge felt safe and secure. No malaria mosqitos here or tsetse flies due to the high altitude. Due to the altitude the temperature is lower here, but in February...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pluttan
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such an enthusiastic response to your stay with us at Rhino Lodge. We do aim to create a cosy and comfortable atmosphere, both in the rooms and in the main lounge/dining area and the woodburners are much appreciated by many guests. Our waiters and chefs do their best to make our guests feel at home. We do...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (360)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
2.0 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
607 reviews
9.1 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
396 reviews
20.4 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,101 reviews
16.1 km away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
614 reviews
10.6 km away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#31 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: RM1,197 - RM3,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nothing to add”
Jesterinoz, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose something else”
DKanonym, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are a bird watcher, ask for a room facing the forest.”
sheflew, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe a corner room would be quieter....”
dylanyo, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had Room 22. Animals passing close by were nice to see so close.”
Tiflis, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5