Hermes Palace Hotel

Hermes Palace Hotel

Jl. T. Panglima Nyak Makam, Banda Aceh Indonesia
Traveller (137)
view of basin
Room & Suite (36)
Kolam renang yang indah dan asri
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

RM 308
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#2 of 25 hotels in Banda Aceh
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Banda Aceh does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Hermes Palace Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. Rooms at Hermes Palace Hotel offer a minibar and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi. A concierge is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hermes Palace Hotel, free parking is available. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Banda Aceh, Hermes Palace Hotel is located a short distance from Jacky Chan House (1.5 mi) and Boat at Desa Lampulo (1.8 mi). If you like diners, Hermes Palace Hotel is conveniently located near Bakso Idaman Barata and Mie Pangsit Tunggal Rasa. Hermes Palace Hotel puts the best of Banda Aceh at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
Indonesian
342Reviews4Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 142
  • 84
  • 89
  • 22
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michel R wrote a review May 2020
17 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This s was my second stay. I like the new renovation of the room . The breakfast selection s really impressive , one of the best i ve ever seen. The pool s great but close too ealry we wanted to swim after 9pm but were told not to do ..overall the staff s professional n friendly..like it ..
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Budi Syaiful, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Michel, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on the guest comments. We are to glad that you overall enjoy your stay with us. Hoping to welcome you back again soon to Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh. Best regard, Budi Syaiful General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
These reviews are machine translated from their original language. Show machine translations?
Journey51771652469 wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
the rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is also delicious and has lots of variety. The swimming pool is also wide and there is a pool for children so it is suitable for holidays with the family. This hotel also has fitness facilities with complete gym equipment. recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hotel nyaman
Google
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cut tiwi wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This 5 Star hotel in Banda Aceh. Room is good, I stay at Junior suite room, location near city, all staff very welcome, food selection good, I will return to this hotel for next visit. Thank for fruits platters upon check in. So many café near this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Budi Syaiful, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Cut Tiwi, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on the guest comments. We are to glad that you overall enjoy your stay with us. Hoping to welcome you back again soon to Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh Best regard, Budi Syaiful General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kamal B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yang paling keren GM nya ka rara, Service ok, ramah , baik hati.

Hotel nya bersih , makanan ok.

Im so grateful with the hospitality, especially the GM. Also the staffs is amazing.

Cleanliness very good

Satisfied in all angles 😌
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Budi Syaiful, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Kamal, Terima kasih telah menginap di Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh dan memberikan feedback di TripAdvisor. Kami sangat senang mengetahui Bapak menikmati waktu dengan baik selama berada di Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh. Harapan kami agar Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh tetap menjadi Rumah Kedua Bapak dan keluarga ketika berkunjung ke Kota Banda Aceh. Best Regards, Budi Syaiful General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gregerni m wrote a review Apr 2020
Singapore, Singapore10 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay in the hotel for business and really enjoy our experience. After renovation the room give a great luxury feeling. The breakfast buffet is fantastic. The swimming pool is perfect with a terrace to relax after work. We ll come back as we like very much this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Budi Syaiful, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. gregernim, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on the guest comments. We are to glad that you overall enjoy your stay with us. Hoping to welcome you back again soon to Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh Best regard, Budi Syaiful General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Puan Sharrah wrote a review Jun 2022
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to Banda Aceh and choose this hotel. The room pretty comfortable and the staff super nice. They helped me with my heavy luggage. And i love the jamoo they served in the breakfast. Good choice if you visit banda aceh for a business, the hotel located in the central area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Budi Syaiful, General Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ms. Shardzun, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on the guest comments. We are to glad that you overall enjoy your stay with us. Hoping to welcome you back again soon to Hermes Palace Hotel Banda Aceh Best regard, Budi Syaiful General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dhillon D wrote a review Dec 2014
4 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start? 'The best hotel in Banda Aceh' maybe, but this is misleading. It was built very quickly after the tragic tsunami of 04 and it feels like they put little care in to the building.

The rooms are basic and the room I stayed in was in ruins. We couldn't shut lights, and the water coming from the shower head appeared as a brown sludge at one point. When we asked for an extra bed (pre-booked), a plastic-covered mattress appeared, complete with an ill fitting sheet and damp duvet. We also had some drainage problems in the bathroom, and the entire room stank for a whole day. Staying on the smoking floor made our room have a really chlostrophobic feel, as ventilation was not sufficient (none of my party smoke).

The swimming pool looks great but due to the Sharia law imposed by the local government girls and boys over 12 must wear something like a wetsuit. They won't normally want to this which makes the swimming pool a completely irrelevant feature to residents.

The food in the café is good, not amazing. The food is aimed at everyone and is probably the best thing about the hotel it lacks some flavour but overall is tasty.

To conclude, it is a shabby hotel that requires a lot of modernising. Not recommended...
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management_HPHBA, Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2015
Dear Mr. Dhillon D, We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment. Our swimming pool is the best in Banda aceh. We provide the variety of the menu you can choose international, Chinese and Acehnese menu We do apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We will improve all the facilities and amenities for the comfort and convenience of the entire guests. We look forward to welcoming you to feel the changes we have done. Warmest Regards, Management,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CeciliaDidier wrote a review Jul 2014
Auroville, india49 contributions120 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enchanting" is the term used by the hotel to promote their facilities. However the hotel itself is certainly not "enchanting" from our own experience.

On the good side, the big lobby with yummy cakes on sale was inviting; the breakfast buffet looked very decent and plentiful and the pool looked clean and nice sized.

On the not so good side, breakfast was good but we did not try lunch and dinner as we found the dining hall stuffy and overly crowded. The hotel corridor carpet looked very tired with huge brown stains in many places and the corridor stunk of food as if the air was straight coming from the kitchens though we were on the 4th floor. The room was okay - the thing that counted most and the only reason why we did not leave - , luckily it was on a quiet side on the 4th floor away from the elevator and noisy groups.

Regarding the pool, no one in the pool wore swimsuits. It is a Muslim country so that is understood one swims all covered up but there is no other specification/supervision whatsoever. While we were bathing, a dozen people directly jumped in the pool with their day clothes - long pants and full sleeves - the same they were wearing at breakfast the same morning. Junk food and plastics from junk food littered the floor around the pool area as if no one - children and adult guests alike - had ever heard of a waste bin; they were bins placed conveniently nearby but mostly unused. There was no one to clean up either. Plus there were dozens of fully dressed people watching and not swimming; it was not exactly an invitation to take a dip. To absolutely avoid on Saturdays and Sundays.

Comes the worst part: the current hotel practice is to make a withdrawal of a deposit of one night upon your arrival - not an imprint but a withdrawal from your debit card - whereas you are requested to pay your entire bill upon your departure, with a promise on their side that the refund will be credited back in no time. One month after we left, 3 long distance calls and a dozen e-mail reminders, the money has not been refunded. It does not appear as dishonesty and we still hope the refund will come, only there is a total lack of "savoir-faire". If asked at the reception, plainly refuse to make a deposit. Settle your full bill only or pay by cash.

Alternately, our advice: try other options in Banda Aceh.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 4th floor non smoking and away from elevators
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management_HPHBA, Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 15 Oct 2014
Dear Mrs We thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, and you found our facilities of good standard namely, lobby area, pool. We regret that your were disturbed by our guest at the pool and sometimes misbehaving. At that time we had a large group and in the future we will handle more carefully them to ensure that they behave in the pool area. In regards to your deposit, as you said it is a lack of “savoir-faire” from our team. We are really sorry for that, a refund is being transferred back to you on 25 September 2014, included the reimbursement of your overseas call. We now have review our procedure and from now on, we only take the imprint of guest credit card. Once again we’re really sorry for the way your deposit was handle, we can ensure you that we have changed our procedure to ensure that it doesn’t happen again. With best regards, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IndoTrader wrote a review Oct 2011
Jakarta, Indonesia57 contributions75 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I live in Jakarta and travel frequently across Indonesia, including to Banda Aceh. I have stayed approximately ten times at Hermes Palace (even when it was SwissBel Hotel). During the past year it has deteriorated. The past three times have all been disappointing: dysfunctional AC, no hot water and last week, the final straw: a huge and noisy wedding going on, with the whole lobby being taken up by around 50 dinner tables. Totally unacceptable. Next time I will stay at at Oasis or the Pade, two other good hotels (avoid Sultan and Grand Nanggroe).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary - Travel Consultant wrote a review Oct 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia16 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the only LOCAL 4 star hotel in Banda Aceh.

Being a 4 star hotel.. in my personal opinion it still needs alot more infrastructure revamping. The staff needs to be more reactive and proactive to situations arising.

Rooms were pretty decent and simple. However, lighting in the room is a little dark. You will not be able to do work in the room.

Bathrooms come with only bathtubs c/w standing shower, there is nothing to shout about regarding the bathroom. Standard toilet amenities are available.

Wifi is ONLY strongest in the lobby and cafe areas. There is only WIRED LAN service in the room, so if you are planning to use wifi in the room; then you might need to bring one of those personal routers and affix it to the LAN cable and run a personal hotspot in the room.

Food in general is HALAL.

Banda Aceh is a city that runs on the Syariah or Muslim Law. You will NOT be able to find any alcahol or bar for that matter since the municipality STRICTLY enforce this Syariah law w.e.f May 2014. As visitors needs to abide by certain subtle the dress codes, you might want to search and do some looking-up before arriving here. However; that been said, Banda Aceh is full of cultural experiences for the avid traveller to soak up. For those who would like to find out more about the Tsunami incident, this is the place to visit as this was Ground Zero at that time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Management_HPHBA, Manager at Hermes Palace Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2014
Dear Mr. Gary, Thank your comment about our hotel, from our staff service, rooms’ facilities.We glad to learn that you enjoy the comfort of our room. In regard to alcoholic beverage and beer we have the license and we do serve such a drink to our guests. For internet, we are sorry for the connection. we are currently in process to install fiber optic to provide better for internet connection at our hotel. Warmest Regards, Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
m0n_Ank asked a question Apr 2015
PAlembang136 contributions174 helpful votes
bagaimana kondisi umum keamanan di banda aceh saat ini dan menuju hotel dan point wisata disana
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia16 contributions20 helpful votes
Sudah aman ... Aman sangat
Answer from Budi S
Banda Aceh, Indonesia
Terima kasih atas pertanyaan bapak atau ibu Kita punya privilege card member yang memiliki fasilitas gratis berenang dan fitnes selama setahun untuk 2 orang serta gratis menginap di Hermes palace hotel banda aceh & medan hanya dengan membayar Rp.2.900.000 Saat ini kita punya promo untuk berenang saja tarif masuknya Rp. 60.500/orang. Terima kasih Salam Management
aris m wrote a tip 17 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"especially, you have to have a lot of money, and you have to be able to get along with your surroundings, smile a lot"
Read full review
Susi Y wrote a tip 15 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont Forget Book First couse this hotel always full"
Read full review
Ari K wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Providing even better services so that tourists can be more comfortable"
Read full review
hendraahong wrote a tip May 2022
Banda Aceh, Indonesia22 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hermes Palace Hotel, the only 5-star hotel in Aceh, is strategically located in the city centre among all trendy Cafés, Shops and Governor office."
Read full review
ZAINAL ABIDIN M wrote a tip Mar 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel has 5 floors. Any floor facing the pool side will be nice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Banda Aceh area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 305 - RM 343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndonesiaSumatraAcehBanda Aceh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
159
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HERMES PALACE HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶3̶7̶5̶) RM 291: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 150 Photos (Banda Aceh, Indonesia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hermes Palace Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hermes Palace Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Warung Nasi Kambing Lem Bakrie, Tanabata Coffee, and 3 in 1 Coffee Shop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hermes Palace Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Hermes Palace Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hermes Palace Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hermes Palace Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Banda Aceh HotelsBanda Aceh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Banda AcehHotels near Hermes Palace Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire