We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Solangon Beach, San Juan 6227 Philippines
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (241)
Room & Suite (38)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from White Villas Resort
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 49 Speciality lodging in San Juan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We have upgraded facilities and required covid measures in place. Better promotions when you book directly on our own website. We are a small, peaceful, green and clean resort on the beach, in a good location only 15 minutes from Siquijor Town ferry terminal and with restaurants and dive shops nearby. We serve healthy breakfast-lunch-dinner in our restaurant by the sea, and offer free wi-fi, beach lounging, swimming pool, and a sunset beach bar (often spectacular sunsets). We rent out motorbikes and arrange island tours. Check-in after 3pm and check-out before 11am. You are welcome to stay at the resort or leave luggage if you arrive earlier. Solangon beach is not great for swimming, but at high tide you can take our free kayaks out to the reef and swim and snorkel. Dec-June is the high season. The July-Nov season is also popular but can be rainy and windy at times with (harmless) sea grass on the beach. Siquijor Island has banned plastic bags. We minimise single use plastics, recycle waste, make compost, and promote responsible tourism. We have full generator back-up and pure groundwater supply from one of our organic farms. Yours sincerely, White Villas Resort
Read more
Room & Suite (38)38
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Diving
Hiking
Snorkelling
Fishing
Free shuttle or taxi services
Taxi service
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available

Location

Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
167Reviews2Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 53
  • 18
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
grumpy554 wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom288 contributions207 helpful votes
We thought we had booked the best room, view etc... However, the layout was such it had no room for open suitcases, nor hanging space. A rather small bathroom but functional as long as the adjacent room did not shower at the same time... It is attached to the next room so your will hear every movement from your neighbours, noisy late at night, children jumping off the bed early morning. Then during the day, continual loud and irritating music from the restaurant in front, and until past 22.00 in the evening. The best was the outboard motor maintenance, plenty of noise, fumes, and in fact past midnight one day. I wanted to complain but the staff did not know who was in charge - their comment not mine. The breakfast was very very average. Eggs would arrive ten minutes before the bacon. And the coffee - disgusting, not surprising as the carafe appeared to have never been cleaned. Thank god there was instant. We booked a transfer to the port, twice the expected price mentioned on their site, and no attempt to reduce the cost by sharing with another couple travelling at the same time. It was the only time on our Philippine trip that we felt we had been deceived. If there are managers/owners they ought to do their job properly. Most of the wait staff were very willing and pleasant, reception mediocre. Very expensive for what it is
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jens Peter Tang Dalsgaard, Owner at White Villas Resort
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Guests, We are of course also disappointed and sorry to read your review. Just to clarify, you booked one of our cheaper rooms at the back end of the resort. And it happened to be during the early stages of the Covid-19 outbreak, when we were unable to be present at the resort ourselves and when our staff may have been unsettled by the whole situation. We are a little puzzled by some of the complaints though (no luggage storage, no place to hang clothes, over-priced transfer, late night restaurant music, bad coffee, motor maintenance at midnight?). But thanks for bringing any issue to our attention. We will of course follow up. Hope you overall had an enjoyable visit to the Philippines. With best regards, Edna Mae & Jens Peter
Read more
Karina P wrote a review Apr 2020
Soenderborg, Denmark131 contributions45 helpful votes
In fact, we were not supposed to stay at this hotel, but when the Corona virus broke out, we ended up staying at this hotel, until we could get home. We stayed in several of their rooms, and there is a big difference in the quality of the rooms. The large cabin down to the water is fantastic, but also expensive. Generally the hotel has a great location by the beach, however, is a little away from the city of San juan, however, it is easy to hire a scooter. The rooms in the large building fluctuate in quality, we stayed in a room where the air conditioning wasn't working so well, and in another that was very dark. However, there is good cleaning. Stable wifi. We only ate here once, the food was inedible, dry fish, half raw french fries, chicken consisting mostly of cartilage, and none of the dishes had taste. Heard, however, that their sandwich should be good. The manager was really good at helping us, find information about our return trip. However, the rest of the staff seemed a little affected by, the owner not being present, and many of the young staff seemed a little too unprofessional. However, the main problem at the hotel is all the "wild" dogs, they actually bothered the customers several times, and the staff rarely took care of the problem. They are noisy and all have sarcoptic mange, there should be taken care of for some control of the horde. You could not walk on the beach, without being followed by a horde of dogs, who often ended up in a dogfight.   Send feedba
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteVillasResort, Owner at White Villas Resort
Responded 14 Apr 2020
Dear Guests, We have decided to remain open during the COVID-19 crisis partly to help stranded international guests and partly to keep our staff employed and supported. With only few guests we were not fully staffed during your stay. We had e.g. fewer maintenance staff (to fix things like air-conditioners) and fewer kitchen/restaurant staff. The 9pm-4am curfew further meant that those staff had to leave earlier than normal to reach home. Also, it was difficult to buy fresh products for the kitchen/restaurant. And we ourselves were caught elsewhere and unable to travel back to the resort help supervise things. All this to say that our services of course were not up to normal standards at this unusual and difficult time. We would expect guests to show appreciation of this, to understand this. As for the dogs, there can be (harmless) dogs around the beach, but our staff and staff in next door resorts/hotels usually keep the dogs away. However, with fewer staff and people around the dogs were able to roam more freely. With best regards, Edna & Jens Peter White Villas Resort
Read more
Steen S C wrote a review Feb 2020
Greve, Denmark52 contributions27 helpful votes
Having spent a couple of weeks traveling the phillipines, I have to say that our stay at White Villas was the best, and it wasnt the most expensive of them either. If you are looking for a relaxing key west style of atmosphere this is a really good spot. The surroundings are nice and the staff are helpfull, and san Juan and a couple of nice places to eat are just around the corner. The only negative thing I have to say about WV is that I personally (if I was the owner) would not accept families with children to stay there. There are no activities for them to enjoy, the pool is too small and having them yelling all the time can ruin it for others. Other than that WV gets my warmest recommendations!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteVillasResort, Owner at White Villas Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the feedback. On the issue of families staying, we continue to welcome families and always hope that they manage their children well and respect other guests (noise etc.) - and vice versa. We like to keep the resort peaceful and quiet. Usually not a problem, but occasionally we have to ask someone(s) to be a little more quiet. Not always families with children though ;-) Our own 4 children have enjoyed many summers at White Villas over the years playing at the beach area with sand, shells, stones, frisbees etc., just using/developing their own imagination. Healthy and fun. Best regards, Edna Mae & Jens Peter White Villas Resort
Read more
stephen j wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada20 contributions14 helpful votes
My room looked toward the busy road and you can clearly hear traffic inside, and, of course on the balcony which overlooks water cisterns and a roof. I posted a pic. They offer a free ride to a nearby beach, great because as they themselves say their beach is unswimmable, and awfully unattractive at low tide. I posted a pic. Food good. Varied and good breakfast buffet. Lovely staff. Nice pool, although they treated it during the day and not at night so you couldn't use it one day and you can't swim at their beach.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteVillasResort, Owner at White Villas Resort
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Stephen, We went to great lengths to accommodate you before and during your stay. We offered a better room, we listened, we responded quickly. I guess the lesson we learnt this time is that it is not always possible to please everyone. Guests can choose to focus on the positives, negatives and post photos accordingly. That is life. Solangon beach is not attractive at very low tide, but it is pretty around normal and high tide, and it is possible to paddle to the reef edge to swim and snorkel. The sunsets are often beautiful. We had an issue one day with an absent staff and had to do pool-cleaning mid-day. We apologize. Our staff would have explained if asked. PS: our Standard Double Bed rooms at the back face away from the sea, and this is clear on our own official website. We cannot explain this on other online sites (they do not give us that option). With best regards, Edna Mae & Jens Peter White Villas Resort
Read more
Des wrote a review Dec 2019
Quezon City, Philippines583 contributions170 helpful votes
+1
Sorry for the late post, I got super busy because of my wedding :) Travel Date: August 2019 This is my 2nd time in Siquijor and saw this hotel in Agoda. We decided to book an overnight stay (we only had a few days of vacation leave, we feel that 1 night isn't enough to enjoy the place and the resort). We stayed at the family villa good for 4 pax. Kuya June picked us up in Siquijor port (they offer free port pickup). It is about 15 mins away from the port area. Checkin is a breeze, since we arrived super early our villa is not yet ready. So we decided to avail of their tour service so as not to waste time since we are only here for 1 day. We took the inland tour and we had a blast! We got back to the hotel at around 6pm and all our stuff is already in our room. Our room is spacious. There's hot and cold shower, the a/c is super cold, and the bed is comfy. We also decided to eat at their restaurant and the food tastes delish! Breakfast is also great! The pool is quite small and the beach that time was that not that clean because of the big waves due to the incoming typhoon. We were lucky that we already got back to Dumaguete before the storm came. Definitely going back for more than 1 night stay. Highly recommended! All the staff were super nice and friendly. Also, Jens is very responsive to all my inquiries :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from WhiteVillasResort, Owner at White Villas Resort
Responded 29 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Will share with our staff. Best regards, Jens Peter White Villas Resort
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$46 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasSiquijor IslandSan Juan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about White Villas Resort
What are some of the property amenities at White Villas Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at White Villas Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at White Villas Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at White Villas Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to White Villas Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dolce Amore Restaurant, Dagsa, and Mr. Sumo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at White Villas Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at White Villas Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Does White Villas Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is White Villas Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.