We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Kings Head Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned to The Kings Head after a previous nice meal a few months ago, unfortunately this time the food was average and the service poor. Waited half an hour to have our plates cleared, during which time the waiting staff must have passed us 20 times, then waited another 10 minutes for the bill to arrive, which arrived only after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanspoors
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear you didn't have an enjoyable visit to the Kings Head All staff undergo training which enables them to multi task and be aware of what's happening in the restaurant. I am so very sorry to hear staff didnt clear you straight away. I have spoke to all staff members working...

Durham
Reviewed 1 week ago

Used to be a great place to visit - food served fast and the ploughmans or mixed grill were great to share. The new menu doesnt have ploughmans, only the mixed grill (that I was told was no longer available). Had the 'Surf and turf buger' and was terribly disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We change our menus regularly to Ensure variety at the Kings Head We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our surf and turf burger , this is one of the most popular burgers we sell I haven't ever heard a complaint about it so I am surprised about this review. Did you tell any...

Durham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good quality sausage, bacon and black pudding, lovely mushrooms and potatoes, was asked if we wanted toast but she forgot to bring it, but didn't need it really. Would have been a 5 if they'd not moving all the furniture, surely it could have waited 5 minutes as they could see we had finished our food and were just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jelsef
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review We are very happy you enjoyed your breakfast Unfortunately we only have a small timeframe to get the restaurant reset ready for lunch service, we do try to do this with as little impact to our customers as possible, We did speak to you on the day and you advised us you were just finishing off...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love going for food at the kings head. Regularly visited and it's now my local! Amazing! If you do have to wait, the food is totally worth it! Especially their Sunday dinners! I've always been served really quickly, and if there is a bit of a delay I've always been kept informed. There is also the bar area, where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slc1017
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review We are so pleased you enjoy coming to the Kings Head We look forward to seeing you again soon Thankyou

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Usually lovely meal and quick service tonight service was slow 2 chicken dishes ordered hunters chicken not enough sauce chicken dry chicken in peppercorn sauce again chicken was dry potatoes were barely warm also beef wrap with chips chips were cold didnt taste nice at all very disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShirleeHolm
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. Following our telephone call yesterday, we look forward to seeing you again soon Thanks Beth

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Beautiful Pub Wonderful Food 5 Stars. Staff were so helpful especially Alison who served us our breakfast couldn't do enough for us. The Room was so hot even after we turned the radiator off, the hallway leading to the rooms was sauna Esq....Nice clean big rooms could save a fortune on heating bills...Overall enjoyable stay nice staff nice rooms wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marco_polo066
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you come and visit us again soon We are sorry to hear you found the rooms too hot, we will get our house keeper to look at the thermostats Thankyou

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Took 15 minutes to get our drinks delivered to the table, then we ordered the food. Polite server took our order then informed me there was no ribs to go with the chicken and rib combo but would I like extra chicken wings instead, yes I answered. 5 minutes later I am told that my selection was taken off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johntwist
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. I served you this day, table checked you and took payment and you didn't mention anything about being unhappy with your meals. I wished you had as we could have rectified the problem. We were busy last Wednesday and we served you as quickly as possible....

North East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Have been here several times before and our latest visit was booked at the last minute however we were accommodated without problem. we had the cod & chips and the sizzling chicken & bacon platter with chips, both meals very nice and tasty the only gripe was the onions on the chicken platter were a little undercooked and greasy, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danthemman2016
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Dan, we are pleased that you continue to be a valued customer of The Kings Head, our staff will always accommodate you if they can and deliver the best of customer service during your visit. Thank you for the review, Beth and the team

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

After today we decided not to come back. When we arrived we had to wait 5 min before we get seated. There was no reason what so ever. Wasn't busy. We picked our meals and waited. Staff were unfriendly and rude. We didn't had any knifes or forks. After we asked to get them there were just dumped in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinasina G
Beths89, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit. We monitor complaints very closely on a daily basis . We would be grateful if you could call us on 01207 520054 and ask for Beth to discuss your complaints

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Wow! What a find!! We have been travelling to County Durham to visit my husbands family for years and usually stay in Durham. This place was recommended by a family member and we weren't disappointed. A warm welcome, clean sheets, a lovely cosy room and a hearty breakfast! We shall certainly be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aligy2014
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to read from your review that you will be returning 😀 Thank you from Beth and the team

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanchester
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
10.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
0.2 km away
The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#9 of 39 in Durham
80 reviews
7.8 km away
South Causey Inn
South Causey Inn
#1 of 5 in Stanley
681 reviews
2.3 km away
Burnhopeside Hall
Burnhopeside Hall
#1 of 1 in Lanchester
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: Station Road, Lanchester DH7 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Lanchester
Price Range: RM271 - RM355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go in winter”
 of 5 bubbles marco_polo066, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A few stairs to climb but they are not steep”
 of 5 bubbles aligy2014, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wendyw885, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with twin beds quite small.”
 of 5 bubbles V2524QPpeterw, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“did not stay at the hotel only had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles katiehN8798WC, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5