We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 81: English reviews
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Had a small studio and small is the operative word. Very clean and comfortable with just toaster,microwave and kettle. Generous free Wi-Fi allownce. For a quick evening meal John's fish and chip shop all but next door, then cross the road and sit and eat them looking across the bay to Wellington and beyond. Easy parking and a quick run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I booked this motel for a overnight stay with my wife on my way through to take furniture to my son in Wanaka South Island. Very delighted in our decision. When I made the booking I informed Heather I would be towing a trailer. When I arrived the staff was extremely helpful and they had organised for easy access and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2016

We stayed for several nights. The room was clean and tidy. Towels were changed every day. Choose a room at the back to avoid the noise from traffic. Don't try cooking as all you get is a microwave and an electric frying pan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 155richard81
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2016

This is a really nice motel with friendly staff and in a very convenient location. The only thing I was disappointed in was the tiny shower cubicle. Overall great value in every other respect. Location is really close to shops and train service. Petone is only the second train stop from Wellington central so it's a very short journey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Hi Owen ,Thanks for your great review - we are very pleased to have you stay and happy you enjoyed your time here. Our location is a big bonus , we are a short walk from the train station to Wellington,trains every 30 minutes and a quick trip to Wellington city. The wonderful restaurants along Jackson street - again just...

Gosford
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We were extremely to find a bed for the night. The cricket was on between Australia and New Zealand, also football and other events. Everywhere we tried was full so we got lucky with this one. Very, very helpful and friendly owners went out of their way to find us a place to stay the next night as they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevgay
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Hi Bevgay, We were very pleased we had the cancellation and were able to accommodate you for the night. Nice to have you stay and we appreciate your kind words , we were also pleased we could help with finding a room for Saturday night in Upper Hutt. Speight's is one of our favourite local restaurants - we are spoilt...

Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We have just come home from 3 nights stay at this motel. We have been here twice before. This time we were put around the back on the second floor, as I requested a quiet room, as I'm a light sleeper. I found the studio room very hot and stuffy, very uncomfortable. They did supply a fan but with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShonaH569
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Great to have you stay for a 3rd stay here Shona. Sorry about the problem with the new toaster in your room and we were pleased you pointed this out so we could replace this with a better one. Yes it was very hot for Wellington while you were here, pleased we had purchased fans for all the rooms this...

Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

I stay in, on average 3 motels per week due to work and this would rank in the top 25%. Location is good, staff are great and the room is what you would expect for the price. The only downfall would be the horrible combination shower gel and hair wash dispenser, why not have individual shower gel, shampoo etc bottles.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Hi Daniel, Thanks for your recent review - appreciate your comments so have added the individual shampoos and conditioners we used to provide. We fitted the more expensive Swedish soap/shampoo dispensers to tick the "Eco box" for the Qualmark ratings . But you are correct by having both allows the guest to decide which they prefer to use. We look...

Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 13 January 2016

I have stayed here 3 times now while travelling in and out of Wellington, I find it more enjoyable staying in Petone and getting up early to get to the airport for a flight than staying by the airport. On this occassion I had been travelling for 48 hours and arrived early with no booking. They happily gave us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveling
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Hi Kiwitraveling, Thanks for your recent review and thanks for being one of our regular customers. As an ASURE property we can offer you the $100 off your 10th stay when you have stayed at 3 or more ASURE motels. As you mentioned there are lots of very nice restaurants just around the corner.We went to a great new Thai...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Very noise due to being on the main road to the container terminal, building needs insulation and double glazing. Cant open windows and no air con. Stairs hand rails are non compliant. There is a separate block of units at the rear that may be better

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

Sorry Hugh you don't seem to have had a very enjoyable stay.Wish you had let us know at the time we could have easily moved to to a quieter room in the rear block. Front rooms have a special hush glass and they are normal opening windows , turn handle and push , sorry you were unable to operate these....

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Very nice accommodation. We stayed in the two bedroom suite, very spacious and clean. The people that run the property are very nice and helpful. The breakfast was really yum too! I found the accommodation to be very quiet as well. It's also a short walk to Jackson street.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CountrySherry
83Bythesea, Owner at ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone, responded to this review

CountrySherry, We look forward to seeing you again , your comments are very kind and you are also lovely guests. Please stay with us next time you are in Petone

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petone
0.9 km away
Settlers Motor Lodge
Settlers Motor Lodge
#4 of 6 in Petone
28 reviews
1.1 km away
B-K's Esplanade Motor Lodge
1.3 km away
Ava Lodge
Ava Lodge
#1 of 6 in Petone
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Wellington Top 10 Holiday Park
4.8 km away
Boulcott Lodge
Boulcott Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lower Hutt
185 reviews
0.6 km away
Quest Petone
Quest Petone
#1 of 5 in Lower Hutt
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ASURE- Motel Accommodation situated 10 minutes outside the city centre on Petone Beach. InterIsland ferry terminal 10 minutes , Lower Hutt city 5 minutes and Petone's great cafes and restaurants just 5 minutes walk. Modern comfortable cosy rooms some with Harbour views. Good of street parking and handy to trains and buses to the city centre, Tepapa and Stadium. Conference facilities,Free Wifi internet and Great Breakfasts. Hosts Gary and Heather Kingston . ... more   less 

Additional Information about ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone

Address: 83 The Esplanade, Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Lower Hutt > Petone
Price Range: RM433 - RM593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Family two bedroom apartment is separate to all the other rooms so it is very quiet.”
bluerosepetal1, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs with harbour views,”
992judyh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 19 no issues at all”
justdaft, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“be aware of noise from road and other rooms”
tracyh716, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Book the rooms in the back if you don,t like street noice”
615stephenb, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5