We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hacienda La Cienega

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hacienda La Cienega
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda La Cienega
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

We were taken to the Hacienda La Cienega for lunch. We drove there from Quito, all the time in the shadow of the famous and fabulous volcano Cotopaxi, which I first heard about when I was in preparatory school aged eight, and have since learned and discovered so much more about. On the day of our drive, it was at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Hello Peter! Thank you for your review, how amazing it is that you got to see Cotopaxi (and issuing smoke!!) after you heard and learned about it your entire life! We are happy you could visit La Cienega, please do visit us again sometime! Warmest regards.

Suffolk
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Lovely old hacienda set in beautiful grounds. Room had a lovely fire and was spacious. All staff very friendly and helpful . Lovely dinner menu again set in large old dining room where your imagination can run riot!. Local musicians played whilst we dined. Tour groups do use this hotel so be aware- but still highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review!! We are happy to hear you liked the hacienda, we hope to have you back one day! Best regards.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a bus tour of Ecuador. The grounds and building are pretty and it is not hard to imagine how impressive it must have been 300 years ago. However, I found it a little too rustic for my taste. The rooms are large but the lighting is poor and the bed and pillows, linens...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear Heidi, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments and suggestions will definitely be taken into consideration for the improvement of our service. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, please don't hesitate to visit us again! Best regards.

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

A genuine 1700s Hacienda building still owned by the original family, beautiful, quiet setting. Nice up to date rooms, good service and a restaurant with an excellent menu choice. Stay at least 2 nights in this character hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear David, thank you for your recommendation! We are glad to hear to had a good time at the hacienda. Warmest regards.

Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewed 8 November 2015

We were very fortunate to be able to stay in the Humboldt suite also. We visited in September, which is off season, but also business is down in the whole area because of the eruption of Cotapaxi. I wouldn't let this keep you away. It is actually an excellent time to visit Lasso and Latacunga because with the tourist traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Hello Elaine, we thank you immensely for your wonderful comments. We are happy we could provide you excellent service and that your stay was a good one! Tourism has been down for the last months because of the Cotopaxi situation but it's status has recently changed back to normal :) Regardless, we are glad you could enjoy the house to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2015

We were priveledged to stay in the room used by Alexander von Humboldt on the early 1800's. It has a lovely view of the entrance and back garden from the second floor. It is absolutely enormous! A real suite with genuine antiques as far back as Louis XVI. Lovely bed, creaky floor boards, so much atmosphere, but still all mod-cons....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TukoPomojaAustralia
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Hello dear guest, your review is the type of thing that makes us appreciate the work and effort we put into La Ciénega, so thank you for that! We are glad to hear you liked the place and that you had a good stay! Please do come back if you shall return to Ecuador one day :) Any further comment...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2015

After three perfect days here, I was seriously tempted to extend my stay and just soak up the peace and tranquility of this delightful property. After an easy and comfortable coach ride from Quito's excellent new bus station, a short taxi trip (even in the little town of Lasso, there are plenty of taxis by the bus stop) took me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoMoreBunking
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear guest, it is so good to read reviews like yours! We are very happy you had a pleasant stay, thank you for your wonderful comments! Cotopaxi did actually keep people away (although an eruption wouldn't affect La Ciénega). Please DO visit us whenever you return to Ecuador and please let us know in advance :) If you have any...

Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Wow!! How beautiful it's 5*+ excellent service excellent good excellent rooms excellent setting, views,value for money it's do ridiculous !! It could charge 500% more and still be value it's incredible the best place I think I have ever stayed !! The staff are incredible even the little artisans shop is great.. I will definitely go back again next trip.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latinamujer
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review!! We are so happy to hear how much you liked it and that you had a good stay. We are very grateful for all your praises :) We will be waiting for you on your next trip to Ecuador and we are definitely going to consider getting all kind of pillows....

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed on our tour through Ecuador one night at la Cienega and would have liked to extend the stay there. The main building ( over 300 years old) still has the original rooms and furniture in many rooms. Great paintings and details add it up. We were able to see the room where already Alexander von Humboldt stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AUMUC
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We would really like to hear your opinion about the food and how it could be better! If you don't mind sending a mail to marketing@haciendalacienega.com we would be extremely grateful. We are glad the breakfast was great! Till the next time, warmest regards.

Orange Park, Florida
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

This is one of Ecuador's oldest colonial haciendas. It's situated near the Cotopaxi Volcano and its national park and nestled in the Andes. The hacienda goes back to the 17h century and the Marquis of Maenza family. Today is tastefully converted into a charming Inn and restaurant. It's surrounded by breathtaking natural beauty and rich folkloric memorabilia. We had lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ukienomad
haciendalacienega, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda La Cienega, responded to this review

Dear lady, thank you so much for your review and for your pictures! We definitely hope next time you can stay overnight. If there is anything you think we could do to improve, please let us know. Our guest's feedback is very important for us in order to give every time a better service. We are very happy you liked...

433 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (381)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (169)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lasso
18.2 km away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 3 in Latacunga
141 reviews
17.8 km away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 3 in Latacunga
88 reviews
30.4 km away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
99 reviews
30.7 km away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
129 reviews
4.9 km away
La Quinta Colorada
La Quinta Colorada
#3 of 3 in Lasso
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the oldest colonial properties in Ecuador, this 300 year old hacienda is located in the skirts of Cotopaxi, it's made of volcanic stone walls of two meters of thickness. Turned into a hotel in 1982, when it opened its doors to offer the visitor the poetry of a time and the nature of the zone, La Cienega is an unforgettable memory of The Andes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda La Cienega

Address: Lasso Panamericana Sur Km 72, Lasso, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Lasso
Price Range: RM514 - RM620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Cienega 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda La Cienega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cienega Hotel Cotopaxi Province
La Cienega Cotopaxi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hacienda La Cienega staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Allentown, Pennsylvania

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda La Cienega staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For family we found spacious adjoining rooms with fireplace!”
 of 5 bubbles mikebB4742SK, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We just had lunch and visited the Hacienda”
 of 5 bubbles MichelB748, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a new mattress (if possible)”
 of 5 bubbles Enrique_Reyes, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“wifi in the main house, don't be alarmed by the really rough road you need to travel to get there”
  • I think this was room #9 every room is completely different
 of 5 bubbles Globetrter, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There were better rooms and some with views. If you are staying for more than one night, it is probably worth asking for one of those.”
 of 5 bubbles mjhhitchin, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5