We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Royal Road, Calodyne, Grand Gaube, Mauritius 742CU001
E-mail hotel
17 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$197
View deal
Official Site
US$227
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$153
View deal
Expedia.comUS$198
Hotels.comUS$198
TravelocityUS$198
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8249)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 12/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Calodyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Zilwa Attitude, situated on the north coast of Mauritius, in Kalodyne, is different. Its Mauritian concept breathes throughout its architecture, decoration, cuisine and experiences offered. In Creole, zilwa means an islander. Entirely thought and designed with the aim of sharing the simple and genuine life of the islanders with its guests, this 4* hotel is a hymn to Mauritius. Right through, the choice of artists’ work and local material used are true illustrations of the prevailing Mauritian soul. Zilwa Attitude offers a panoramic view over the 5 northern islands. The contemporary and rustic chic architecture and design of the hotel take inspiration from the traditional homes, the old seaside bungalows. The 214 rooms have been customized to match the needs and expectations of each guest; in each category, the rooms have their own identity and personality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French
5440Reviews1058Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,149
  • 992
  • 219
  • 59
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julogserama wrote a review Today
Harrogate, United Kingdom41 contributions15 helpful votes
We have just returned from Zilwa after a 2 week stay with our 20 year old and 16 year old and had the best holiday! Our daughter has a gluten intolerance and the hotel were absolutely superb in accommodating this! The chefs personally took her around to show her what she could and couldn't eat at each mealtime. Everything is also labelled clearly for intolerances. If we ate at the ala carte restaurants they already had a note of her gluten intolerance and it was so reassuring. The staff are absolutely fantastic, so friendly, helpful, nothing is too much trouble, incredible service throughout the whole hotel. We did snorkelling and kayaking whilst we were there which was brilliant and all included in the All Inclusive. Wish we had done the catamaran trip with the hotel (1800 rupees) as guests who went on it said it was excellent. We spoke to the concierge regarding trips out and he was superb, we arranged a bespoke 5 hour trip and he sorted it all out with Zilwa taxis who were excellent and very good value. Again nothing was too much trouble and the taxi driver was so informative, talking us through lots of interesting facts about the island. Food occasionally lukewarm on the buffet but not to the degree that it affected anything in any major way. The food was delicious in the main restaurant and all the ala cartes! Pink sparkling wine was the best of all the sparkling wines there for you prosecco drinkers. Tips: Grand Zil where you go to the little islet for a bbq - if you want to spend most of the day then go early on the 10.30am or 11am boat to guarantee a sunbed. Or you can actually just go over for lunch and come back to the hotel afterwards as the boat is running all the time. Remember to prebook the ala carte restaurants and beach bbq either when you arrive or prior (which we did) by emailing guest services at the hotel who are incredibly helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Superior Sea View Rooms Certainly delivered! It was lovely to wake up to on a morning.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Hansraj Ramlugun wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff at Zilwa attitude were excellent and very friendly, they made us feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel has a Mauritian style decor, which complements it's natural surroundings. There are many great restaurants to choose from and they couldn't be more accommodating, especially for me as I have special dietary requirements. They are many activities to get involved with such as kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boarding and diving. The location is beautiful and overall we had a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MK_WillB wrote a review 10 Aug
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We've recently returned from a fantastic 8 days in Mauritius and Zila Attitude. The more recent reviews on here cover the hotel facilities well so I'll simply echo those and say the resort, staff, restaurants and amenities are all very good. I'm not sure what it is missing to be considered 5 stars in all honesty. A special callout for Kot Nou restaurant as you can tell the staff there really care about the food they serve and the authenticity behind it. Whilst all restaurants were very good, like so many, our favourite for the food was Tadka. A quick note on the climate as there seems to be so many different views. In July it's windy and some of the day will likely be overcast, even in the north of the island where Zilwa Attitude is located. It's still very much t-shirt and shorts weather though and in the evening you may need a light jumper - that's it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Zilwa Attitude! Thank you for staying among us, we appreciate you for sparing your valuable time to write those glowing lines about us on TripAdvisor. We thank you so much for your very kind words, which truly means a lot to each one of us. Your special feedback about the entire team, has been shared with them. For each of us our guest experience matters the most and such kind words of appreciation of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently. Rest assured your praises will be shared with all our Family Members whom you mentioned in your review. We are glad to know that the product, facilities & services, the culinary proposal and the hospitality of our dedicated Family Members exceeded your expectations that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and have taken back pleasant memories of this stay. We definitely look forward to welcome you again in a near future. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
784miral wrote a review 10 Aug
Turku, Finland7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We had wonderful time at Zilwa attitude hotel. During our stay we got married. We had a wedding of our dreams! Thanks to the skillful wedding team, everything went perfectly. Special thanks to our wedding coordinators Elvina and Karisma who really went extra mile to fulfill all our wishes. Our stay at the hotel was very relaxing and enjoyable. Hotel provided numerous activities like kayaking and windsurfing that we liked a lot. The hotel itself was very beautifull and the view from the hotel was breathtaking! The staff at the hotel were fantastic, so kind and friendly. Food at the hotel was great. Six different restaurants gave tastes from the different parts of the world. We really enjoyed romantic beach restaraunt Lor disab where Elvinah and others made our evenings unforgottable. The wedding dinner from Lor disab was perfect and so tasty! We also loved chinese Siaw and indian Tadka restaurants. Siaws Teryaki beef and Tadkas Murgh tikka were absolutely amazing! Tabaj offered delicious Mauritian streetfood. We really loved their Rotis and Dholl puris! The main restaurant Karay had delicious buffet breakfast and dinner every day. Not to mention Mauritanian restaurant Kot Nou, which was like crown jewel of the hotel restaurants. At Kot Nou Rajiv, Noorina, Faresh and Jessica took good care of us. The food and the drinks were amazing! We also had beach barbeque in Gran zil island which was also very enjoyable! Siro Kan and beach bar had great drinks, vanilla rum and Zaccoco were our favourite! This hotel is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in! Thank you Zilwa attitude crew for making our wedding and honeymoon so perfect and unforgettable! Hope to see you soon again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Miral, We thank you so much for taking the time out to post such a detailed and heart whelming review about our hotel and for choosing our resort for your wedding and honeymoon. It was pure pleasure to have you and your family with us and we are delighted to note that our team were able to handle your engagement with care. Thank you so much for your comments about the team, their attentiveness and thoughtfulness, kind and caring nature. We are truly blessed to have such a fantastic team here who were able to make your engagement celebration a memorable one and rest assured I will be sharing your kind feedback with the whole team and specially with those who you have mentioned :) Thanking you once again for your feedback and we look forward welcoming you back at Zilwa Attitude. Warm Regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
LJ wrote a review 9 Aug
Liverpool, United Kingdom152 contributions36 helpful votes
The hotel’s entrance/decor is lovely and although we arrived at midnight so didn’t get the ‘wow factor’ view when you walk into reception, we certainly did the next morning - it’s stunning! When we got our the taxi, we were met by two members of staff who were extremely friendly, welcoming and professional. The porter took our cases to our room whilst a lovely staff member called Joy checked us in. He didn’t keep us long as we were tired after our long journey and it was late. He took us to our room on the buggy cart and showed us our room. The room was lovely - it had a basic, rustic feel to it which was effective. It was open-plan bathroom and bedroom but the toilet was separate. The bed was very comfortable - we both had the best night’s sleep every night! We paid for a sea view, and although it was a lovely view, we could barely see the sea, so I probably wouldn’t bother paying the extra for sea view unless you’re paying for beachfront. The balcony was also lovely with comfortable chairs. We did have to keep our balcony door shut because the birds would often fly into our room, and we also had a visit from two lizards in our room one night! The rooms and the hotel grounds are very clean. Our cleaner, Asha, did a fantastic job daily and was always friendly when we saw her. The food was one of the best we’ve experienced at an all inclusive - there’s so much choice. For evening meal, you can book into the a la carte restaurants (Indian, Chinese, Mauritian, beach restaurant) rather than going to the buffet. The Indian was our favourite - delicious food. Note: make bookings as soon as you arrive because they book up very quickly. The evening entertainment was usually from 8:30pm-10:30pm and would range from singers to dancers. The entertainers themselves were great but I feel Zilwa could do more to make the evenings more enjoyable. There are nowhere near enough seats for the evening entertainment so lots of people have to just stand around and there’s not much going on - maybe they could put on some background music before and after the entertainment to make the atmosphere a bit more enjoyable. We did a day trip to swim with dolphins and turtles in the wild (great experience) which we booked through Denis on the beach. The trip was great and our driver, who picked us up, waited whilst we were on the boat trips and then stopped at different sites on our journey back for us to get photos, was great! The beach is manmade so a bit gritty but it serves its purpose. The sea is shallow so you can’t really swim in the sea. The water sports activities the hotel offer (which are included) are brilliant and a nice touch: kayaking, stand-up paddle boards, pedalos, snorkelling, glass bottom boat and more. We went over to the little island, Grand Zil, for the barbecue which was lovely. We also went over to sunbathe and explore on a separate day. You can visit the island without booking but if you want the barbecue for lunch you have to book in advance. Bar staff serve you at your tables and at your sun lounger on the beach/at the pool too! Service can be quite slow so we sometimes went to the bar ourselves which we were fine with. Most staff were lovely and very welcoming but there was a couple that we found to be slightly abrupt and rude. Check out was at 12pm but we weren’t leaving until 4pm so we were able to book the shower room to get ready - towels were provided and the room was close to the luggage room which was convenient. We really enjoyed our stay at Zilwa, it’s such a lovely hotel, but I do feel like the evening entertainment needs to be improved, especially because there’s nowhere around the hotel (apart from getting a taxi/bus to Grand Baie) to go out for the evenings.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guests, Many many thanks for these glowing lines! We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback online and it is really rewarding to know that we succeeded in providing you a memorable stay that left you truly satisfied. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. Rest assure that your praises has been shared among the entire team especially to those who you have mentioned. We look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
AW wrote a review 9 Aug
South Devon, United Kingdom8 contributions
+1
From the moment you walk in to the Zilwa hotel from your long haul flight there is a Wow ! Moment when you see the view out to the island of Coin de Mire . This view we never tired of all the time we were there. The hotel is very well designed and spread out over a beautiful setting with a beautiful beach. There are 5 restaurants and they are all very good with delicious A la carte menu in all but the buffet restaurant. ( do book as soon as you can after arrival). The best thing about this hotel apart from its stunning location is the Zilwa staff. They are so friendly, professional , very attentive and pre empt your every need ….nothing is too much trouble at all. The entertainment officer Prithwi was very professional,friendly and did an excellent job in including as many people as possible in the fun activities, beach volleyball, aqua fit , soccer etc etc. He is a huge asset to the Zilwa Attitude hotel and all the incredibly friendly staff. We did venture outside of the hotel to see more of Mauritius, but it was always so lovely to return to Zilwa . And Zilwa does offer many things to do , kayaking, sailing, SUP , catamaran trips etc. We loved our stay here and we were so sad to leave and we would definitely return and definitely recommend this hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 4 days ago
Dear SE Alison W, Many many thanks for these glowing lines! We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback online and it is really rewarding to know that we succeeded in providing you a memorable stay that left you truly satisfied. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. Rest assure that your praises has been shared among the entire team especially to those who you have mentioned. We look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
Gayatri palande wrote a review 8 Aug
1 contribution
Extremely delighted to have chosen this property for our Mauritius family vacation excellent service humble staff very accommodating for all types of request Would refer each and everyone who has Mauritius plans must go for this resort Its an resort with a different world of its own no need to step out with all comforts and fun .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Gayatripalande, Greetings from Zilwa Attitude! We thank you truly from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and to include us in your family vacation. We are happy to read your stay with us went on smoothly and better than your expectations. Thank you so much for your very kind words, which truly means a lot to each one of us. Your special feedback about the entire team especially to those who you have mentioned. They are much delighted to hear about your praise for them. For each of us our guest experience matters the most and such kind words of appreciation of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently. We look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
Carolynne wrote a review 8 Aug
Haslemere, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Myself, husband, mother and three children could not spend enough time at this restaurant, the staff were so welcoming, the food was delightful!! we ended the evening knowing we had made amazing friends and we couldn't wait to come again!! We truly felt welcomed and this was all down to Noorina, Rajiv, Faresh and Akshay!! If it would have been at all possible we would have eaten here every night!! Carolynne, Colin, Catherine, Ambre, Teddy and Lolly 😋 👍🥰
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Sundreams, Greetings from Zilwa Attitude! We thank you for sharing your feedback and for the rating on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed the facilities and all the activities that the resort has to offer. Thank you again for highlighting the genuine hospitality of our dedicated and passionate Family Members. We look forward to your next visit and providing you with another outstanding holiday! Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
Chris Y wrote a review 8 Aug
Mapou1 contribution
Final day at Zilwa attitude where me and my wife have been vacationing for our honey moon/ baby moon. We have had a brilliant time, the staff here be above and beyond- very kind and great service. The food is exceptional and perfect for vegetarians. The hotel is beautiful, stunning views and well looked after. Big shout out to Ashley- working hard everyday and made my wife a special iced coffee as well as teaching me how to make tea with cardamom, ginger and vanilla- delicious. Great entertainment services, the lady who provide services each day is approachable and sociable (not sure of her name- sorry) and Prithi- not sure if spelling so apologies if this is wrong- is always available making every activity enjoyable and even playing tennis with myself 1:1- thanks mate! Maeva and Attifah are great at their job and made sure me and my wife were comfortable each day! The only thing I can say is how is this not a 5 star! Thanks everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 5 days ago
Dear W Chrisy, Many many thanks for these glowing lines! We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback online and it is really rewarding to know that we succeeded in providing you a memorable stay that left you truly satisfied. Your comments will serve as an added inspiration for us to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. Rest assure that your praises has been shared among the entire team especially to those who you have mentioned. We look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
Mee i wrote a review 7 Aug
1 contribution
Last minute planning at Zilwa Attitude for my best friend's birthday. Awesome planning by Zilwa team with the welcoming, surprise birthday cake and excellent service. As always amazing food and setting. Definitely a one-stop hotel for most. Special thanks to Amrish, Nasreen and Kim for their warm welcome!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Autre at Zilwa Attitude
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Ms. Meei, Greetings from Zilwa Attitude! We thank you truly from the bottom of our hearts for this wonderful review and to include us in your vacation. We are happy to read your stay with us went on smoothly and better than your expectations. Thank you so much for your very kind words, which truly means a lot to each one of us. Your special feedback about the entire team especially to those who you have mentioned. They are much delighted to hear about your praise for them. For each of us our guest experience matters the most and such kind words of appreciation of our efforts by our guests drives us to do it consistently. We look forward to the next opportunity to be at your service. Warm regards, Guillaume Tyack Cluster General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere du Rempart DistrictGrand GaubeCalodyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
214
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Zilwa Attitude
Which popular attractions are close to Zilwa Attitude?
Nearby attractions include Le Grand Bleu Excursion (6.1 km), Notre Dame Auxiliatrice (3.2 km), and La Cuvette Public Beach (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Zilwa Attitude?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Zilwa Attitude?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Zilwa Attitude?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Zilwa Attitude?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Zilwa Attitude?
Conveniently located restaurants include Inti, Bodrum Blue, and At Linda's Place.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Zilwa Attitude?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Zilwa Attitude have airport transportation?
Yes, Zilwa Attitude offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Zilwa Attitude?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Zilwa Attitude offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Zilwa Attitude?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.