We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

TripAdvisorUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$168*
US$146*
Great Deal
US$148*
US$149*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

After not having visited the venue for a number of years, my wife and I went to the Mount Grace Hotel in Magaliesberg for lunch at their Terrace Restaurant. The hotel and gardens were looking stunning on a perfect autumn day, which set the scene for a great lunch on the shady patio outside the main hotel area. We decided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChaplinP
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chaplin P, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great lunch and time with us.. Your wonderful comments will be shared with the TEAM. With a spirit to serve, we take...

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

I came to visit Mount Grace with such excitement and to my disappointment it was the opposite of what I had expected .The spa experience was horrific .My husband and I were assigned to two therapists for our massages and it was as if they selected therapists who had no training at all.After that we went to use the facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nonni2014
MountGrace, Deputy General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nonni2014 As a valued GUEST, we appreciate your feedback. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the experience you had at our Spa. We have shared your feedback with the Spa Manager to ensure that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 April 2016

What a lovely stay! We were welcomed late in the evening by friendly, efficient staff and driven to our garden unit in a golf cart, which our 3 year old loved! Our room was neat & clean. The Nespresso machine wasn't working but from the moment we made the call to reception until we had a new working unit only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisha B
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trisha B, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay as well as your 3 year old son. Your wonderful comments will be shared with the TEAM. With a spirit...

Pretoria
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

We decided to celebrate my hubbies birthday at Mount Grace and loved it. We arrived late morning, but spent lounging in the bar while waiting for housekeeping to get our room ready. A birthday bottle of wine welcomed us with a birthday card signed by staff members. We spent a lazy afternoon at the spa . The therapists were pro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie345
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Annemarie345, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor Review in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and enjoyed your stay. Your compliments have been passed on to all of the hotel teams that were...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

My husband booked in at Mount Grace for our Anniversary and informed Mount Grace of same. No special effort or acknowledgment was made. We arrived on Saturday lunch time and went to the terrace for lunch. It was not busy. We waited for 10 minutes for a waiter to bring us menus. Thereafter no one was to be seen to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn R
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor Review in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, as well as our call to discuss your experience. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during...

Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stayed at Mount Grace this weekend to celebrate a special occasion as a family. We had high expectations given that this marketed as a 5-star property, but our stay could be described as mediocre, at best. This is not a luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The Pros A wonderful, warm welcome at the gate Beautiful location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlyTwenty1
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear FlyTwenty1, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent kids play area... the best so far for me. Was just disappointed by the food... the buffet ( dinner) was average if not below. I drove all the way from Johannesburg to go spend the day and eat dinner there. The day was well as spent with my kids being entertained at the kids club. 100/100 food was 50/100

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rehoboth657
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rehoboth657, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the African Pride Mount Grace Country House and Spa with us. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I would like to...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

An exceptional 05 days holiday with no-one bothering you but, with full attention from some wonderful staff. Food was delicious and everything available in The Twist Restaurant and some very fine dining in The Rambling Vine with a huge selection of some very fine wines. Room 144 was exceptional and extremely comfortable. I will certainly make an effort to re-visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn G, Thank you for sharing your experience at the African Pride Hotel Country House & Spa through TripAdvisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at Mount Grace many times over the years and have never had the kind of experience that were subjected to between the 19- 27 March 2016. It was disappointing to say the least. I booked the extended stay based on our past experiences at Mount Grace: with hindsight , I should never have done this. I will...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard B
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Richard B, Thank you for taking our call regarding your TripAdvisor post. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay as this is by no means the standard and the lack of hospitality we wish on any of our GUESTS. As we at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa do pride ourselves on...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We booked this weekend for my birthday. We arrived on the Friday afternoon to a rather frenetic filled reception. The staff were obviously busy but not the friendliest. The porters however were very friendly. They helped us to our room. We ordered a late lunch/early dinner from the bar and sat upstairs watching sports on the TV. The service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiciM2475
MountGrace, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review

Dear NiciM2475, Thank you for taking our call regarding your TripAdvisor post. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay as this is by no means the standard and the lack of hospitality we wish on any of our GUESTS. I have addressed this with the relevant Managers in each department, and retraining will be done...

449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (285)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Other (18)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.4 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
53 reviews
2.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
302 reviews
2.5 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
449 reviews
30.9 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
455 reviews
11.2 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: RM649 - RM1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountain view is good, try to be as far as possible from twist resturant and garden as some time you hear the noise from them”
Q6800JHabdullaha, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of bush, mountain or valley. Upstairs rooms are probably a little quieter, but all the rooms are well soundproofed.”
, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford a villa then stay in the villa.”
AHMEDSULIMAN55, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Private villa is worth the premium and includes private heated pool.”
dshorneh, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“All good....”
theodoreln, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$146* /night
View Deal
Protea HotelsUS$148
Hotwire.comUS$149
CancelonUS$168
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates