We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Valley Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

276 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 274: English reviews
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went here with my wife for a weekend away. Very relaxing and quiet which is what we were after. Staff were great, food was great. The surrounding area is great for outdoor activities although you do need to do advance research to find out what is available. Lots of monkeys running around so just keep your windows closed. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kennymash
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We visited Valley Lodge and Spa and overall thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. The location is peaceful and the rooms overlook the river. The spa is lovely with professional treatments on offer. The staff there are delightful. It is a bit pricey though. It's a pleasure to walk through the gardens and there are zebra wandering around. The rooms are comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreanaOchse
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear AndreanaOchse... Thank you so much for taking the time to review Valley Lodge and Spa. Saturday night was not quit what it should have been, for this I am sorry, we have taken on a group of trainees from the collage, and they were let loose a bit soon. Kind Regards Laurence

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

I would have given the lodge a 4 out of 5 or great if it was a 3 star hotel but it's a 4 star and we expected more. It's the little things that make an impressionable experience and things like a flooding bathroom to cold food to not organizing something special for my partners' birthday like I had requested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MsDaku
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MsDaku... Thank you so much for taking the time to review our lodge. We are constantly striving to improve our levels at all times. Regards Laurence

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely weekend, relaxing and peaceful. The rooms are beautifully appointed and neat and clean. Separate units, not attatched to the neighbours, made for quiet stay. We had room 76, a superior room next to the river. We loved it! Service was excellent! Plenty staff looking after all your needs, but never in your face to irritate you. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohannesburgJudith
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear JohannesburgJudith. Such a nice review...... thank you. Laurence

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked one night at Valley Lodge and Spa hoping to have a small escape on our 5th year wedding anniversary. We chose this lodge because it was not far from JHB and seemed great on the website. We were quite disappointed with the small things that make a getaway comfortable, our tv channels were extremely bad, we requested them...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tania2710
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Tania2710... I am so sorry.... this is not good. Thank you so much for your review.... I have addressed these issues with my team. Regards Laurence

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We just spend our 10-year wedding anniversary here. Just after arrival we went for coffee on the terrace. A biggish group of people were quite rowdy & loud. All the other guests just watched this group of people. Luckily they went not too long after. ROOM: We had a beautiful decorated room. (Nr 75) Stunning view. Huge bathroom with double...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnT0606
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi AnT0606.... Thank you so much for your review.... I will pick this up with my team. this is not what Valley lodge and Spa is all about. Regards Laurence

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was always very happy with attending Valley lodge, even though the prices were a bit high, i always felt like it was somewhat worth it. until we ventured out this weekend, after paying an enormous amount of money for one nights stay, and then being shunted to a slight upgrade of a luxury room, being marketed as a "Superior...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tashielb
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tashielb.... This is terrible... lease contact me on gm@valleylodge.co.za so that I can sort this out. I am so sorry. Regards Laurence

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely venue with friendly staff who are very helpful. The food was a huge disappointment, they market themselves as s food destination but all u get is an expensive conference style buffet🙈. The other disappointment is the type of custom they attract. We were kept awake until 3 in the morning with loud guests who continued the next afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 306michelev
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi 306michelev... Thank you so much for your candid review. We had a group in (That will never be invited back) that well lets just say did not know how to behave in accordance. I am so sorry that you had to be part of this experience, this is not what we are about. Regards Laurence

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Johannesburg has many venues within a couple of hours of town which are used for the multi-day workshops and conferences that South Africans are infatuated with. The locations vary greatly in quality so it was good to find that Valley Lodge - had really comfortable well equipped rooms (including capsule coffee machines) - excellent food, buffet style but good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank semarumi
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi semarumi.... Thank you so much for your review. We have increased the Wi-Fi from 5 megs to 10 megs... I hope that this will sort out this issue, if not we will re-look.... Regards Laurence

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked the best rooms they had availible and my wife and I where extremely disappointed! No maintenance is been done. The room that was given to us the aircon was not working and the toilet seat was broken. The aircon in the hotels they as well don't switch ON. Personally I will never go there again! For 4 Star I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary G
ValleyLodge, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Gary G. I agree.... this is not what we are about, I have raised this issue with my Maintenance manager. Regards Laurence

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (432)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Luxury Room (68)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Superior Room (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.0 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#7 of 7 in Magaliesburg
47 reviews
4.4 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
384 reviews
23.7 km away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Rustenburg
88 reviews
30.5 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated on the banks of the Magalies river and just an hours drive from the centre of Gauteng, the Valley Lodge & Spa offers superior accommodation in a majestic, natural setting. An ideal getaway for the busy executive needing time out, to reconnect with family or a haven of tranuility for a romantic weekend. Choose from our 76 well appointed,individually furnished rooms and spoil your senses with an array of world class treatments in our Spa & Hydra Therapy centre. Be it the private fire lit Saunders bar or the entertainment of Maloneys bar with a full size billiards table, pool table, darts & fooseball, Valley Lodge & Spa offers variety throughout its 250 acres. With natural winding paths and trails around the Magalies river, a private nature reserve boasting old stone age ruins, and for the more energetic guest, rowing boats, tennis courts and a swimming pool. Sunday lunch is still a popular attraction for city dwellers looking for a day away from the urban stress. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Valley Lodge & Spa

Address: 13 Jennings Street, 1791 Krugersdorp, Magaliesburg 1790, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Price Range: RM833 - RM949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Valley Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Magaliesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Valley Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Valley Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are a few nice rooms with river view but a lot of variety - best ask what is available and pick and choose”
 of 5 bubbles semarumi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All their rooms are stunning... The luxury rooms are the best.”
 of 5 bubbles resheg0s, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good for Couples . / Honeymoon”
 of 5 bubbles kaisvelniyaal, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
  • Very nice rooms
 of 5 bubbles adele656, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Superior rooms are Amazing!!!”
 of 5 bubbles Carthusia9, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay