We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

El Rancho Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
El Rancho Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 124: English reviews
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed two nights in the suite, located in town away from the motel. It is very nice, comfortable and clean. The area is quiet and there is a yard with bbq and smoker. The personnel is kind and available. We will go again.

Helpful?
Thank Davide D
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear Davide, We would like to Thank you for being our guest and are so glad you enjoyed the new downtown suite. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Please be sure to call ahead early. Kind Regards Crystal And Steve More 

Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Seems rooms for the leaf-peeping season were in short supply this past weekend, but we're glad we found the El Rancho Motel! Off the main drag in Bishop and our room was just fine for the two of us, and our Golden Retriever! We didn't have a kitchenette but the fridge, microwave and coffee pot were enough for the short... More 

Helpful?
Thank mzjeepco
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice..older but clean quiet and nice.Propieters very...very nice. Would stay again. Not much more to say. No complaints at all.Trip advisor is a hassle. Too many emails. Too demanding. But the hotel was great.

Helpful?
Thank venness
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Good customer service, made us feel welcome. Place looks dodgy as the sign is not well lit at night, however don't let that scare you off! Most tenants are fishermen or tourists. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Agnese S
Corona, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very quiet location. We arrived at about 11 O'clock at night, had our key waiting for us. Quaint little room. Excellent hotel if you're looking to just catch some sleep and a shower. Very close to our favorite breakfast place, Jacks. Will definitely stay there again next time we make the trip up 395.

Helpful?
Thank MBrow94162
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear MBrow94162, First let us Thank you for being our Guest at the El Rancho Motel. We are always Happy to know that our guests were so comfy that they plan to return and stay with us again. We do our very best to make each guest feel like they are home . thank you for your feedback and we... More 

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stayed here with my young adult daughter for three nights as we hiked and explored the area around Bishop. Not all motels have rooms with two doubles as they did here .Nice beds and bedding - definitely upgraded from a standard old style motel. Location was great - walked to the bakery every morning for coffee. Owners pleasant and helpful.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marie p
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest.we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. Sincerely crystal and steve More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The El Rancho looks like an old-timey indie motel on the outside. Inside the room you can see how the owners have made an effort to set their place apart. The mattress, pillows and bedding were of high quality. The air conditioner appeared new and ran quieter than most. The walls were a pretty green pastel. There was a full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mikxe
El Rancho M, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for the feeddback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We hope you had agreat time in Bishop . sincerely crystal and steve More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We had a party of 6 (4 adults + 2 kids). This provided sufficient space for all of us. Kitchen was supplied with some basics though we did not try to cook. We did have cold breakfasts there, and it was nice having plates/cutlery etc to eat with. Bathroom tiny.

Helpful?
Thank LizM01
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear Liz, Thank you so much for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the El Rancho Motel.thank you so much for being our guest we hope to have you here again in the future. Sincerely Crystal and Steve More 

Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Room was small but clean and within walking distance of store and restaurants. AC worked good but was a little noisy. Coke machine outside made some noise at night also. Would stay again for a quick overnight visit to Bishop area. Price was right.

Helpful?
Thank SierraDan
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for being our guest and hope to see you again in the future .sincerely Crystal and Steve More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Don't look at the pictures, the motel is very old. I spent one night with my family on July 16 and it has been my worst experience during the whole trip to US The facility is old, the mattresses are uncomfortable and they need to be replaced. Room was not dirty but it was full of small flies and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paolo B
El Rancho M, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review

Dear sir first let me say im sorry you did not have a great experience at the El Rancho Motel, yes the motel is one of the original motels of bishop but we have done alot of upgrades.we will definately address the issues you had during your stay as our guests comfort is the number one priority. sincerely crystal More 

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.9 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,381 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
776 reviews
1.4 km away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
220 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.7 km away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Pet and People Friendly Establishment. We offer 22 units total 7 kitchen units, Suites 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom are available. In-room Coffee, Microwaves and Refrigerators, Duvet Comforters and Flat Screen TV's in all Rooms. Non-Smoking Rooms, Daily housekeeping available. We are walking distant to the Bakery for Breakfast and Lunch and Several restaurant and bars. Free Shuttle to the Paiute Palace Casino. Come and enjoy your stay ant The El Rancho Motel! ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 274 Lagoon St, Bishop, CA 93514-3405
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: RM299 - RM500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rancho Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Bishop
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Rancho Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are on main level, so no noise from guests above or below.”
 of 5 bubbles mzjeepco, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side away from the coke machine will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SierraDan, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the room in the SE corner. Wifi doesn't work and shadier.”
 of 5 bubbles neils31, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Nice for a short stay.”
 of 5 bubbles Arno0571, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 852wendyb, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay