We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Hotwire.comUS$88*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$109*
US$88*
US$94*
US$109*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canon de la Vieja Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 104: English reviews
oss
Reviewed 20 January 2017

The place had good rooms to stay. The food was good. Still, there is something about this place that would not make me come back here again. We had room # 40 (from memory...might have been 41 as well) and the pool was not far away. Sitting on the small veranda the music from the pool was easily heard. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HdBOss
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear guest: I would like to thank you for visiting us! It was great to read that you enjoyed your room, the food and were able to see some of the wildlife. I want to apologize for the inconvenience with your cup of tea request. We have a brand new restaurant next to the pool for guest staying with us...

Reviewed 16 January 2017

The bungalow was nice, we had number 36 on an edge of the terrible road. Nice and quiet. Airco, WIFI! refrigerator and small coffeemaker, very nice. Two small double beds. Nice terrace. Nice swimmingpool. Diner on the first night was bad, we don't like to complain, but the tomatosoup was terrible salt and the rest was eatible. The next day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrick v
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Upon our pm arrival, we wanted to leave. The room was not impressive and were frustrated we had pre-paid a rate of over $100. However, it was late and our options were few. We stayed and enjoyed our stay so much - we plan on returning on our next trip to Costa! Once we occupied the room, we found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ED4664
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Our lodge was clean, had airco, plenty of space. Unfortunately the rooms did smell mouldy if the airco was turned off. We also found some of glass plates missing in the windows which means you can turn the airco on but the hot air is flowing into the room anyway. Luckily we their are sufficient nets in front of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RC583
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your comments. It is always important to receive them so that we may have a direct perception from our customers. This year we have some projects as improvements in the rooms and gardens to make them more welcoming as you mentioned, as well as the inside roads. Regarding our brand new Los Almendros Restaurant,...

Indio, California
Reviewed 21 December 2016

While the location is lush, green and beautiful, we had a negative experience on the tours they offer. We went for an all day adventure package, that we were unable to complete. We did zipling and lunch. On the next activity, horseback riding, our daughter was bucked off a horse and sprained her wrist. While accidents happen, this could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iltalk4u
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello dear Mrs. Reed: Greetings from Costa Rica! First of all, we want to apologize once again for what happened. As advised before, we recognized our guide did not handle the situation the way he must, respective measures have been taken. We are very sorry that we are being affected by third parties, the guide you purchased the package from...

cheshire
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Quite isolated location so unless have transport or take a taxi to Liberia not able to go elsewhere at night. Rooms ok but due to gap in wooden chalet type ceiling directly over the bed, spent a lot of the night removing large ants from bed covers! Only fine mesh on windows and quite a few insects get through. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hitcharideCheshire
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Hello: A warm greeting from Canyon de la Vieja Lodge! Thank you for the visit and your comments. We are located in a transition area between the city of Liberia and the mountains of Rincon de la Vieja; therefore there are insects and various types of animals in the surroundings, as far as possible we try to keep them out...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

A group of 8 of us were there just for the day. We did the zip lining and the spa mud bath, and our favorite, inter-tube ing down the river! We had fantastic guides that took care of us while we had a day of adrenaline highs!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigerwebb83
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 November 2016

We only stayed here one night. Our room was of a very good and spacious size. Located in a park like area it was nice. Beds were comfortable, bathroom of good size and clean! Pool area with bar was really nice. We had a nice time relaxing! We didn't have dinner here, we went into the village. We had dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBuijs
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We had the best time during the Mega Combo tour. We started out horseback riding down to the river where we did white water tubing (this is a lot crazier than rafting, trust me!), zip lining and then finally to a mud bath with mineral spas. I have never pecked so much adventure into 1 day. It was amazing. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tahereh H
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The arrival was a little bit strange.. nothing arround and the entrance was protected and chained. The reception was nice but everwhere workers were doing their jobs. The map of the lodge does not fit to reality. After reception asked for help with the luggade we denied and tried to walk to our lodge,... bad mistake the way is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Majo Ä
CostaRicaMarketing, Director Comercial at Canon de la Vieja Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Majo: Greetings from all the staff and thank you for your comments, which help us to continuously improve. We have a security guard at the entrance to provide better protection to all our guests. We are already working on an updated map of the hotel in order to show all the improvements we have now. We are sorry to...

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (47)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
11.7 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,288 reviews
10.5 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
427 reviews
12.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
967 reviews
15.5 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
758 reviews
17.9 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM393 - RM517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Canon de la Vieja Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalows 1-6 are close to the pool and restaurants.”
Tallinda, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
iltalk4u, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 24-25 are near the pool and spa.”
SummerLover71, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are duplex cabins, so there is no preference.”
Loboli2, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have wifi, those near the pool do. Nice bar, restaurant, many available activities.”
882martinf, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$88* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$94
Expedia.comUS$88
HotelQuicklyUS$109
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates