We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 725: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Amazing off the beaten path resort with tons to do or just relax in one of the natural hot springs. Staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. Restaurant was very good as well. Zip lining , horses back riding and whitewater tubing for the adventurous. A must to visit while in Costa Rica.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monts39
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola and thank you, from the staff and owners of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. With so much to do at the resort and there are many award winning Eco-adventure tours for our guests to enjoy we feel blessed by our success. The nature here on the north side of Rincon de la Vieja has blue rivers, natural hot...

North Pole, Alaska
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms were great, very spacious. The grounds are huge and there is lots to see, from butterfly gardens to turtle ponds. The food was just average, which is too bad because it is your only option unless you want to drive on the super bumpy road to one of the road side little sodas. The electricity went out several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vb0wers
New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Please do read my entire review but pay very close attention to point #4 below on my list of concerns. It is a huge red flag and needs to be shared with others. We stayed at this resort at the end of December 2016. We were part of the group of three families. Everything about this place was really authentic,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank newyork_travelguru75
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. We are familiar with this reviewer. The hotel manager spoke with and has been corresponding at length and on the phone and the owner (my partner) also spoke twice to him. All conversations were civil and there appears to be sincerity. What hurts is how we were given to believe they enjoyed...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful spacious accommodations, well maintained property, friendly helpful warm staff, great food. The adventure tours (canopy zipline and tubing) were personalized for our skills, and the guides Felix and Oscar were amazing, knowledgeable, responsive, flexible, friendly. I learned a lot about local species of plants and animals from Felix, too. With his 21 years experience in building the ziplines and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A M
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from the staff and owners of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs! We always share reviews with staff and that includes the staff members who you called out in your review. All of us, indeed, are proud of the spectacular nature here, the natural amenities and take great pride in our service. Your kind words spur us on to...

York, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time we arrived, we were treated with great respect and friendliness of the staff at Blue River. We stayed for a week in Mar-Apr overlap 2016. The cabana's were lovely and the restaurant more than adequate for couples or families. My granddaughter was able to get her pizza and/or burgers which was a big plus. LOL She ENJOYED...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris F
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs! Daniel says hi and hopes you are well. All of us, staff and owners, get an extra thrill when guests describe having great experience. The nature here is spectacular and there is lots to do for the young, the romantic and the thrill seekers alike. We certainly hope you return soon. Yours...

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I booked this, we had intentions of hiking into Rincon de la Vieja. I wasn't aware that the volcano was active and the north side was closed. However, it was a great mistake, because this place was fabulous. Our room was big (we could sleep 4 kids in the bathroom alone!), very clean, had a fridge, lots of electrical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 53Coop
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! All reviews are shared between staff and owners and such reviews serve to energize our efforts. We thank you and look forward to your return visit. Yours truly, Kevin

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is off the beaten path meaning it is as others have stated an hour's drive on a gravel road. It is absolutely doable with the right vehicle. We arrived and it was rainy for our entire visit which was disappointing. The hot springs were relaxing regardless of the rain. The family loved the water slide and butterfly garden....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krogersmann
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thanks for your review. We are pleased your family enjoyed their time here. With respect, a couple comments: Weather, of course, is not in our control and to get a poor mark for that seems unjust. Expect rain here in the rainforest, but just enough to feel the special environment. Unfortunately, its rare on either side of that equation....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was interesting because it offer many things especially for families with small children. Donkeys horses a butterfly room and the spa and mud bath. The gardens are real nice too and we saw the peacocks and little pond with ducks. We were there for 2 nights and was planing on hiking a full day near by. Unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou L
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola - With appreciate for your kind comments. It is nice to know you had a great time. Being out in the countryside and getting a little lost can be a bit unsettling. To all readers, please know that locals are generally warm, friendly and happy to help. When a review includes a comment about the “many things” on offer...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place was fantastic! You'll read that it's a little tough to get there, and kind of is. You drive for about an hour off the highway, much of it gravel road, but absolutely navigable. The last 20 minutes, you'll definitely want to be careful, especially if you don't have a 4X4, but we did it in a sedan, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meds55
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! The staff and owners feel, all the more revved up and motivated, to please after reading such affirming reviews. Our small staff is like a family and we very much wish to thank you. All of us take special pride in the astounding nature, our many amenities and of course, our service. A Very Merry Holiday Season to everyone!!...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We had a BLAST! My family enjoyed very much of the hot springs and the wonders of nature. The dinosaur tour was amazing and Kevin the guide does a truly wonderful job. The food was good and the rooms were clean and cozy. The only thing I would recommend to management is to have a booklet with instructions regarding where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela J
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from the Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and owners. We are thrilled to learn you enjoyed your experience. Also, thank you your suggestion. Permit me to comment that in addition to Dino Park, kids are loving the dairy farm tour which was recently opened. Our region of Costa Rica is authentically rustic. Each morning the locals wake...

1,053 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (819)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (341)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
17.5 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,193 reviews
28.5 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
247 reviews
39.0 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 km away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
86 reviews
37.2 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
630 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM397 - RM883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are bungalows and roughly the same I think”
 of 5 bubbles vb0wers, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There wasn't a bad cabana here that we could see. NOTE: You can drink the water here at this resort!!”
 of 5 bubbles dorisf98, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The cabin rooms were large with just the right amount of amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles 799genevag, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some cabins are individual and others are a duplex style. Individual cabins will be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles RelentlessAdventurer, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The wheelchair accessible room was very good. It was close to the restaurant and the pools. There was paving everywhere we went.”
 of 5 bubbles Gummy65, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay