We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

933 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 738: English reviews
Start your review of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
 Click to rate
Waterloo
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We planned a hiking trip to Costa Rica. Blue River Resort's website noted that it was 2km from the Caribbean side of the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. Its website stated that access to the park and its hiking trails was available from the resort. When we arrived, we were immediately disappointed. Nothing about this location qualifies it to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDLWaterloo
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This resort is off the beaten path (which is part of its beauty) with so much to offer. Loved that there were not masses of people here - just contributed to the tranquility. The staff at this resort are so friendly and we really enjoyed getting to know them during our short stay here. We had a lovely dinner our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hunster25
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! We appreciate your kind words and everyone here appreciates knowing your experience at Blue River Resort was a highlight of your vacation. It begins with having so many awe-inspiring natural amenities in one place. We have done our best to include good service. We hope you return soon. Again, thank you and Pura Vida! Yours truly, Kevin

Lenexa, KS
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Less than a 2-hour drive from Liberia; however, the last 20 km are on the roughest roads most anywhere. Just take your time and you’ll be fine. We appreciated the very good signage guiding us from Liberia to Blue River Resort. Very rural resort, as this is not your 5-Star glamo resort. Nice grounds with excellent and very diversified foliage....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kurteg
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! We commend you on communicating our essence, as it can be challenging. As you put it, we are not a typical resort. By harnessing the special nature found only here, on the north side of Rincon de la Vieja we believe the ultimate all-natural combination of relaxation and adventure is delivered. The lush rain forest, blue rivers, natural hot...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used the Liberia Airport Shuttle company to drive us to and from the resort. The drive up was rough but we enjoyed seeing the country. It was like a tour all the way there (about 2.5 hrs). The entrance gives a bad first impression but our stay was what we expected. All of the staff was very friendly which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank All4SunnyDays
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola - We are glad you enjoyed yourself however, I must confess, with sadness that we did not exceed your expectations. With respect, please indulge me with a few comments. How long to stay - this is a question that depends upon the guest. For example some people use the resort for a base. After a couple days of settling...

Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed three amazing days at Blue River Resort, wish we could have stayed longer! Plenty to do with amazing botanical gardens, butterfly gardens, mud baths and natural sauna, mineral pools and on-site restaurant. The new addition of the dinosaur park is something to see! The staff is very friendly and helpful too! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YFRinCR_11
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! With appreciation and good wishes from the staff and owners at Blue River Resort. Everyone here feels rejuvenated and charged up. By harnessing our amazing nature in an environmentally sustainable way, we also believe the ultimate combination of relaxation and adventure has been achieved. Again, thank you. We sure hope you return soon! Yours very truly, Kevin

Denver
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights in January 2017. We found it to be lovely; it is not a high end resort but rather a very nice, restful cabin retreat. The accommodations were clean and spacious. The food was good and the wait staff, especially Hazel, were attentive to our needs. The Swedish massage was exceptional in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kytherababe
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from the owners and entire staff at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. Your kind words and call-outs are greatly appreciated . We also appreciate your comments about reservations. Key staff turn-over took place but the situation has now improved. Unfortunately, with respect to phoning the US toll free phone number, bad weather effects the line. We must use...

Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok the resort is great....Accomodation, Fantastic Cabins are awesome huge clean great The pools were fabulous a little hot, Botanical Gardens are very nice as well as their Butterfly Area,there was a Sloth in the tree Orchids were non existent all the staff were very friendly and helpful There is NO WiFi only at the office & Restaurant OK Restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brats
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! All of us - the staff and managers – very much appreciate knowing that you had a wonderful time. Permit me to address a couple of the comments The Tiki Bar & Restaurant – To readers, please know I’ve written back to the reviewer, privately, asking for more specifics. In general, we receive rave reviews, so this is extremely...

Apex, NC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel with our two boys 9 and 11 and had a wonderful time! It is beautiful and a very interesting cultural experience! The grounds and rooms are very clean and we saw no bugs in our room. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are very well taken care of. Our son...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mcglsh00
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from the the owners and employees at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. All of us appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your vacation here. We hope you return soon. Yours truly, Kevin

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We took the hotel transportation and loved being able to have a few beers and not worry about the drive. Check in was a breeze and we scheduled our excursions right away. The room was incredibly comfortable and spacious. The hammock was a nice place to nap after a busy day. The view from our porch was spectacular. The hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdees07
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! The staff and owners very much appreciate learning that you enjoyed the amenities and service. All of us take great pride in our work and the unique nature here. I also have kids (3) in the same age range and parents particularly love the freedom and safety found here. Many hours are spent playing in the pools and on...

Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at Blue River Resort relaxing and enjoying the 'hot' springs before flying home after 2 beach weeks in Costa Rica (with our young family). The cabana was spacious and completely adequate with frig/TV/safe/great shower/good beds. We especially enjoyed the front porch & hammock with view, The grounds were well maintained with lovely rainforest flora. We came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mg20152015
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola from the staff and owners of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. Thank you for all your comments. Please know your queries and suggestions are being acted on. The hot springs pools are a topic not commented on in a long time. We regard the natural mineral “green” hot springs as our crown jewels. There are few natural hot...

1,054 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (820)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (234)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (341)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
17.5 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,228 reviews
28.5 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
256 reviews
39.0 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
659 reviews
13.5 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
733 reviews
19.2 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM374 - RM914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the individual cabins. Go for the 'honeymoon package." Wasn't our honeymoon but we enjoyed the package”
 of 5 bubbles Kytherababe, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“108 great volcano view”
 of 5 bubbles mcglsh00, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All seem equal depending on 1 King size bed or 2 Queen beds....our 2 Q. bed cabana had a nice view of the volcano from the porch.”
 of 5 bubbles mg20152015, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are bungalows and roughly the same I think”
 of 5 bubbles vb0wers, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There wasn't a bad cabana here that we could see. NOTE: You can drink the water here at this resort!!”
 of 5 bubbles dorisf98, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5