We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 765: English reviews
NYC
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

Our only regret: we should have booked a longer time than three days. What a beautiful place. We've traveled all over Costa Rica and this was our 8th time. The hot springs were stunning, with parrots flying overhead and many other tropical birds. Some of the best birding I've done in Central America was here. There are gardens everywhere and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fluffie26
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewed 29 January 2015

I went to Blue River Resort as part of our honeymoon and stayed there for 3 nights. The Great: The staff at the restaurant (Carlos) and on the excursions are great. The cabins are nice. The food surpassed my expectations. I doubted that a place so far off the beaten path could have good food, but it was great. Also,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan B
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for taking the time to create your review. Though we wish we could have scored higher, we very much appreciate your kind words and observations. We are sorry the weather could not have been better during your stay. Unfortunately there had been an unusual number of days with greater rain in January. As you know, the sun...

Puerto Vallarta
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Blue River Resort & Hot Springs was everything I had been told and more! The hot spring pools were wonderful, the food was excellent, the rooms were very clean. We did not go on any of the adventures but spoke to many that had, and they were all very happy and excited to be sharing memories at Blue River. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cinloukid
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola and thank you very much for your kind comments and taking the time to review your stay. All the staff reads them and take them to heart. Again, muchas gracias! Yours truly, Kevin

new york
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I Booked this resort as a gift for my husbands birthday. we were staying in Costa Rica for a total of 7 nights . after our 3 nights in a beach resort we headed out to Blue River. We had read that the last leg of the drive was over a bad dirt road so we were prepared. Boy was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pmgjoni
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Your kind words are deeply appreciated. We share all reviews with all the staff members and they are deeply touched. We hope you come visit again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. Yours truly, Kevin

Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 27 January 2015

It was a groupon offer the brought us here...but a very pleasant and relaxing stay that will bring us back. Yes, Blue River Resort is WAY off the beaten path. This is not a good hub from which to base non Blue River sponsored activities, however, it is a beautiful property with great food and plentiful excursions onsite that can...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlanBC007
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola Alan, Thank you for visiting, taking the time to write this review and make these observations. I, the manager and staff read, discuss them as a means of looking for ways to improve. We are very proud of what we have to work with. Please permit me to take advantage of this opportunity to add in something about being,...

fort lee, nj
Reviewed 19 January 2015

The hotel is in the area with very wet "microclimate". It rains heavily, frequently and unpredictably even during the dry season. And when it rains, there is not much to do - there is no game room, internet works sporadically and only near the office, equipment in the gym is broken (at least 3 machines were not usable) and there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodtravel
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Please know we read and appreciate all reviews. Myself and the staff read each one with an eye to improving. This review presents an opportunity for me to explain a few points, so permit me to take advantage: 1. The weather/climate & how long to stay– Too much rain can dampen just about any holiday but the comment about...

camillus ny
Reviewed 19 January 2015

My wife and I spent last three days of our vacation here. My second stay, her first. I enjoyed it so much three years ago I wanted her to have the experience. About a two hour drive from Liberia Airport , over a difficult road the last 20 kilometers . One is back in the boonies and back into rain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george l
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola George – thanks so much for taking the time to review Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. We take great pride in what we have and the service we provide. We are glad to have helped “score some points” with your wife. Again, greatly appreciated! Yours truly, Kevin

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Blue River Resort as part of our honeymoon. We originally booked it as we both enjoy hiking and thought it would be great to see a lot of wildlife and the volcano. We spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon here. We did not realize how rainy it is on this side...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle B
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola Danielle! We very much appreciate taking the time to review your stay. Let me begin by writing that what you describe about the bed is not up our standard and I only wish it would have been pointed it out at the time. I feel very embarrassed and can only apologize since its now after the fact. Thank you...

Downs, Illinois
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

A friend and I used a Groupon for four nights here in January. It's a beautiful spot, but adjust your expectations. I'll preface this by saying I was last in Costa Rica over ten years ago, and it is much more commercialized than it was even then. In other words they recognize the value of the tourist dollar and prices...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HG_Hook
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola! Please know we very much appreciate your comments and read each review with an eye to improving. I’d like to take advantage of a few points mentioned: 1. The weather – Our rainforest weather usually enjoys a temperature ranging from 24 to 30 degrees Celsius during the day and normally, a delightful rainfall takes place mid-afternoon for an hour....

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2015

We travelled to Blue River Resort to go horseback riding and hike through the rainforest and were not disappointed! From our original communication before our trip to our drive out of the facilities with big waves and smiles, we were treated like royalty. The ride and hike with our guide Gionvani were amazing! Giovani was safe and knowledgeable and exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Norma L
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review

Hola Norma – please know that we, the staff of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs read your review and like all reviews, we take all comments to heart. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you so much for your kind words. Yours truly, Kevin

1,070 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (831)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (237)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (73)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (344)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double Room (47)
Viewed
Hot Spring Pools (12)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)
Viewed
Waterslide Pool (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
17.5 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,265 reviews
28.4 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
271 reviews
18.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
621 reviews
35.3 km away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
307 reviews
37.3 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM515 - RM779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prepare for cool, damp mornings because of humidity and dew unless you use the A/C”
P8018SQmarks, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All good - cabins are huge!”
Q2457KOjessicaj, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Queen beds are better Bring your own snacks cause there none and meals are only available during specific times”
AZBob1devildog1, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms were good. If you rent a car in Liberia, come in the day light hours. The road is difficult at night.”
DrTFJ, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the individual cabins. Go for the 'honeymoon package." Wasn't our honeymoon but we enjoyed the package”
Kytherababe, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5