We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hacienda Guachipelin

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
Panoramas (32)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Guachipelin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 709: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and I have to say we had a magnificent time. Pros: perfect place to stay if planning on doing the tour adventures. Some are free if you're staying at their hotel. A lot of people were coming from outside the hotel so it was a big plus for us that we were staying there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ana V
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

8 days ? WOW ! Thank you for staying with us that long, and best of all, , we feel very glad that you enjoyed each and every day. Yes , for our guests we have free transportation to the National Park (Rincón de la vieja) and to our natural hot springs, also you can hike to different waterfalls for...

Spring Br
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room offers the basic necessities. The restaurant offers great buffet meals. The hotel is secluded and peaceful. If you want to commune with nature, this is the place for you. There are several hammocks available infront of each room . Nice place to read while listening to birds singing. The staff are very helpful and hard working. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doyit
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this comments, Trip Advisor readers will find them very helpful if they are planning a vactaion to Costa Rica and are considering Rincón de la Vieja área. As you mentión, we offer great buffet meals provided with very good service.Hammocks are very nice to enjoy nature that surrounds the hotel, I will make sure to tell...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable. I really liked the breakfast buffet. The cook would ask us if everything was okay and look really happy if we went up for seconds. The best thing was the adventure tour - WOW! It was a very full day. We started the day horseback riding on the trails, then went tubing down the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mvora_13
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, we feel very happy that you liked our rooms and surroundings. As you say, yes , we are located very close to Rincón de la Vieja National Park, and we offer free transportation to the park. We are glad you found value for your money in the activities...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Here you can live "The Campesino Sabanero" style of this hotel, if ur into adventures here is the place to be since there is a lot of activities to do around this area from riding horses, canyoning, tubbing, canopy (extremly recommended) or just hiking around the Volcán Rincón de la Vieja National Park in case you are looking for relaxation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melotico
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

We love comments like this, from people who really appreciate the hard work we put on keeping the campesino, sabanero and costarican traditions, for us is very important. Some times we get complaints saying that the guides during the horse back riding don´t speak very good english, but the reason is just that one, they are authentic sabaneros, and as...

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We did the full day of adventures....horseback riding, tubing, zip lining, and mud bath/hot springs. A delicious lunch buffet was also included. There were 4 of us that did the adventures (ages ranging from 9-46). We all had a blast!! The staff was fun and extremely helpful. One of the staff members actually stayed with our 9 year old during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BPR2013
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this nice review, it will be very helpfull for all readers to learn that the adventures we offer are for all ages to have lots of fun. Thank you for all the good comments regarding our buffets and our staff. We put a lot of attention to safety, specially with kids like yours. We hope to...

Miami, FL
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My fourth visit here since 1996 (3 past times with groups) this time for in-depth photography of the area. Good news: exceptional location near to Rincon dl Vieja NP; huge range of activities for adventurers; comfortable spacious rooms; excellent buffets with lots of choices; abundant resident wildlife; well-kept gardens. Pleasant staff very accommodating; prompt replies to emails. The pack of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Palmisto
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for coming to visit us since 1996, thank you also for taking the time in writing this review, very nice comments. As you say , yes , we are very close from the main entrance of Rincón de la Vieja National Park, this is a great value of the hotel. Readers will find very helpful...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We spent yesterday at this hotel doing the adventure package and had an amazing time! I am afraid of literally everything and was dragged along by my husband and friends and even I had a GREAT time. We did horseback riding, tubing, lunch, ziplining/rock climbing and then the hot springs at the end. It was a FULL day but a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrissy M
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Excellent, thank you very much for your comments, we feel very glad that you decided to go on and try our activities, and better, that you enjoyed them. Our staff knows very well that safety is the priority, so they will do everything to make the client feel safe. Thanks for your recommendation, please visit us again son.

Warrensburg, Missouri
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I can't comment on the rooms, but I can tell you about the restaurant, staff, and activities. We did a full day of activities: zip line, horseback to waterfalls, mud bath at the hot springs. Lunch was included at the hotel. It was buffet and the meats were delicious. I also loved the fruit juices. The salad bar was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ak335
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel glad that you enjoyed the adventure activities and our food at the restaurant. Your descriptions of all the activities are great, and I am sure they will help a lot all the readers. As you say, it could be remote, but the road up to the hotel is 90% paved...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Only shame is food is expensive and the pool was very dirty. Really didn't feel like getting in it at all.....tour company on site are very helpful. The hot pools and few kilometers away were very good, only problem was they had run out of towels. So suggest you take pool towels from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonesfamily2000
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, as you mention, yes we are very close to Rincón de la Vieja National Park and we provide free transportation as well to our natural hot springs that are a few kilometers away but that is because we had to find the source f the natural hot springs...

San Diego, California, United States
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you are traveling to the Rincon de la Vieja area in Costa Rica, this is a MUST-STAY place. It has everything: horseback riding, rock climbing, hot springs, zip lines, volcano hikes, river tubing, wildlife, open-air restaurant, and great staff. The stables are right in the middle of the hacienda, so bring plenty of bug spray, but hey--you're in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your good comments, we feel very happy that you enjoyed everything we offer, from all the adventure activities, food,hot srpings, proximity to Rincón de la Vieja National Park and our staff. I will let them know your comments about their service and friendliness. Please come back son and visit us.

1,055 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (741)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (152)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (49)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (382)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (212)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Hot Springs (21)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (Renovated) (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
6.2 km away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
420 reviews
11.7 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
271 reviews
33.1 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.7 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
17.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
962 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM352 - RM665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hacienda Guachipelin staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hacienda Guachipelin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We always ask for rooms away from the horse stables”
tizocs2016, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“better to be a little ways from the stables”
L6953YVpaull, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't think it would really matter. We were near the pool.”
snorkelerNan, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“away from the barns”
agneslynch, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“the suties are definitely the best!”
347DianeD, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5