We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Buena Vista Lodge

Expedia.comUS$50*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of Buena Vista Lodge
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Basic small clean affordable rooms, food was good, enjoyed the included hot springs and canopy walkway. Amazing sunsets! Lots of other things to do like horseback riding and zip lines. We would go back to enjoy the beautiful Costa Rican mountains!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoriEmma
aocampo, Gerente at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lori, Greetings from Buena Vista Lodge! We want to express our deepest gratitude, for your choice of our Eco Lodge & Adventure, as your host on your recent visit. We value and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your Tripadvisor experience, about our activities, customer service and all the wonders surrounding this adventure destination that involves...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located on a summit of land drier than most of the rest of Costa Rica, burns Vista features spacious, quaint rooms. It looked like they all had a good view. But there was plenty else to do. Horseback riding on one of the mounts in their large herd could carry you to a fabulous hot springs for the day. Shopping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolmK577FR
aocampo, Gerente at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Greetings from Buena Vista Lodge! We want to express our deepest gratitude, for your choice of our Eco Lodge & Adventure, as your host on your recent visit. We value and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your Tripadvisor experience, about our activities, customer service and all the wonders surrounding this adventure destination that involves...

Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I enjoyed visiting Buena Vista Lodge for a 6 nights stay in April. The amenities and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for a great family getaway. There is so much to do and see on site. The lodge is also located next to Rincon de la vieja Park which proposes many other activities and sights. We enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shreddasnow
aocampo, Gerente at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Greetings from Buena Vista Lodge! We want to express our deepest gratitude, for your choice of our Eco Lodge & Adventure, as your host on your recent visit. We value and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your Tripadvisor experience, about our activities, customer service and all the wonders surrounding this adventure destination that involves...

Westminster, Vermont
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When we first arrived we were greeted by less than friendly/helpful staff. I had just come from the most wonderful ten days in Samara and was really surprised at how rude the front desk staff were as well as the server at dinner. The next day all the staff we met were wonderful. Redemption. Over all nice facilities. Hard to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beccapedigo
aocampo, Gerente at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Greetings from Buena Vista Lodge! We want to express our deepest gratitude for your choice of our Eco Lodge & Adventure as your host on your recent visit. We value and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your TripAdvisor experience, our activities, customer service and all the wonders surrounding this adventure destination that involves relaxation,...

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The road is in the worst conditions, I would not recommend anyone to visit the hotel. The attention is terrible. They do not offer the least empathy. I really hope that people who see this publication do not go to a hotel that has such bad road infrastructure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jose Alfredo Z
aocampo, Gerente at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas Sr. José Alfredo, Un gusto saludarle de parte de Buena Vista Lodge! Deseamos expresarle nuestra profunda tristeza por la...

Florida City, Florida
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We had a group and we booked this hotel for 3 days, we had a glass doing some excursion and hike trough the rain forest , Everything was Perfect organized, the food was good , rooms clean and pura vida staff!! We definitely we recommend %100!this hotel for any tourist. Pura vida buena vista!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHO8
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this just a day before we arrived. We did not had high expectations (it was only $ 60 per night) but it was a nice surprise. The rooms are a bit basic and the food is OK but the environment is wonderful. They have a nice free Spa hided in the mountains and very good for a relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PetervTNL
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We chose not to book an excursion on the beach at our resort because I've read so many mixed things about reliability, therefore we chose Tam tours and went to the Buena Vista Lodge. We had a blast doing several zip lines and went down a water slide four football fields long which you can do up to three times....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LouLou B
aocampo, Propietario at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Hello dear LouLou: We are so happy you enjoyed our activities and lunch, our goal is to offer a piece of Costa Rica´s culture, nature and charisma. I will let Javier and Gabriel know about your message. Looking forward to having you back soon! Regards, Aileen Ocampo Administrative Manager

Stockholm
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The lodge is spread out in a large area including canopy walk, zip line, sunset bar and a stable with horses. Our house was situated a short walk away from the reception and had one large room with two large sized beds (somewhat hard). There were lovely birds just outside, for example the blue magpies. We had breakfast in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ugurd
aocampo, Propietario at Buena Vista Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ugurd: On behalf of all the staff at Buena Vista Lodge, I would like to thank you for visiting us and sharing your lovely and complete review. Thank you for your evaluation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back any time soon. Best regards, Aileen Ocampo Administrative Manager

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This is a beautiful resort in an unusual setting with amazing sunsets and a decent buffet breakfast included. I booked a room over 6 months in advance and managed to get put in a room right at the front in probably the oldest building possible. There were 3 double beds??? for the 2 of us, the door was hitting on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vllywngs

762 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (350)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (238)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Cabin (32)
Viewed
Hot Springs (33)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (82)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
View to the Lake (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (73)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
6.2 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,288 reviews
10.5 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
275 reviews
28.6 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
757 reviews
15.1 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
222 reviews
18.6 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Buena Vista is a cattle raising Hacienda that changed part of its activity to dedicate itself to ecologic tourism in a rustic environment conserving the idiosyncrasy and culture of the zone. It is located 31 km. from Liberia and it borders with the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. It has an area of approximately 2,000 acres, 1,400 of which are intended to regenerate the forest and where adventure activities take place, always protecting the environment. The remaining 600 acres are dedicated to cattle rising and the ranch produces the majority of the products that the Lodge consumes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buena Vista Lodge

Address: | De Liberia 12 km hasta la entrada a Cañas Dulces, 5 km hasta el pueblo y 18 km hasta el Albergue, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM233 - RM431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vista Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Buena Vista Lodge staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Gallatin, TN
1 month ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Buena Vista Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Note that the rooms are not air conditioned but the fans work wonders.”
shreddasnow, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“make sure you get a room in one of the newer buildings”
vllywngs, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in Liberia.”
SoulPursuits, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“any room is good, is just depend how much you want to pay, but this place is lovely!!!”
marlonc742, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a pond view cabin, nice and clean, no luxuries, basic and practical.”
louiset149, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$50* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$53
TravelocityUS$50
Orbitz.comUS$50
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates