We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club

Save
Share
120 Highland Dr, Carmel, CA 93923
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Hyatt.com
US$899
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Priceline
eDreams
Agoda.comUS$899
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1189)
Room & Suite (742)
Dining (103)

About

#23 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Indulge yourself. Hyatt Carmel Highlands is a picturesque retreat overlooking the Big Sur coast with epic views of the Pacific Ocean, and a stunning natural environment made even more special by our impeccable staff. Our Carmel by-the-Sea hotel is an oceanfront retreat that seamlessly blends the amenities of a large hotel with the refined charm of a boutique hideaway. Dine at the award-winning California Market at Pacific's Edge restaurant. After a morning of yoga, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or unwind with a relaxing spa experience. If it's outdoor activity you crave, we offer mountain bike rentals and maps for hikes, jogs and bike rides around the stunning Carmel area. Let the Les Clefs d'Or Concierge arrange a day trip to explore Big Sur or a round at legendary Pebble Beach. Host an intimate sunset wedding ceremony or intimate reception on our redwood deck. Feel inspired by the breathtaking vistas that surround our Carmel hotel. Your experience is limited only by your imagination.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Iron
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1674Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 811
  • 398
  • 215
  • 140
  • 111
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JIMCHI wrote a review Yesterday
Sacramento, CA261 contributions399 helpful votes
We're staying here now as we do every year for about the past 20. Staying in one of our favorite rooms (a Ocean View Townhouse Spa Suite) in the 500 series block. The room has been completely renovated- new carpeting, furniture, wall coverings, light colored paint that makes the room much lighter. All wood surfaces and cabinets have been refinished or replaced. It no longer has the "tired" look that many have complained about. Only downside is that the wood burning fireplace has been replaced with a gas log one, I guess in response to complaints about smoke. Breakfast was outstanding as always and they still serve my favorite, the Point Lobos with Dungeness crab. We checked in a few minutes before 4 p.m. and the room wasn't ready but said housekeeping was working in it and it was ready for us about 20 minutes later. Full housekeeping every day has been restored. We couldn't be happier with the changes that have taken place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jeff l wrote a review 9 Aug
1 contribution
so we stayed here two nights the rooms and faculties are super dated. we would have spent the money and stayed in big sur if it had availability. no housekeeping and while the clubhouse has the best view on premises at night they limit the seating which means it’s removed more than half the seating overlooking the water.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carla F wrote a review 9 Aug
Santa Cruz7 contributions3 helpful votes
Others have pointed this out: this hotel is not a good value for the price. Go next door (Tickle Pink), where you get the same view and nicer rooms for the same price. The restaurant (at least for breakfast), Pacific Edge, was mediocre and also over priced. Keurig coffee makers with motel-style cups and stirrers; bathroom only ok; TV old and no good channels; that kind of thing. The views from the rooms are wonderful and the service was great--for every issue, someone responded promptly.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you don't have difficulty walking then higher up on the hill is probably better. Get an...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
aslx1973 wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco, California2 contributions5 helpful votes
Disappointing on so many levels..category 7 property, visiting on a points reservation with wife and 2 children for 1 night (Saturday.) Requested early check-in on the drive down (guaranteed check-in is 4PM). Said they were fully booked but they would try. Arrived at hotel ~ 3pm. No rooms ready. Waited in lounge and asked again at 3:55PM; they reminded me rooms were not guaranteed until 4PM, so I asked if my room would be ready in 5 minutes. They said “no, the room was going through final inspection and would take 15-20 min. Finally made it to the room at 4:30. The room (#511) - small, dark, dingy, finishes from the 1990s, at best. Bathroom had a small shower, no bathtub, and a sink drain that didn’t work. Called maintenance to fix - didn’t really fix, they just took the stopper out. Recall this is a category 7 Hyatt! Before heading off property for dinner, called housekeeping to set up rollaway bed for my son. Arrived back at hotel at 10pm to find a folded/deflated air mattress on the floor with some sheets/blanket. Couldn’t figure out how to inflate so called housekeeping to help; they arrived and realized mattress was broken. Waited another 20 min for another and finally at 11 it was ready. Requested late check out the next morning; no deal, “because it’s a Hyatt Residence property”. Nonsensical excuse since we were not staying on the “Residence” side of the hotel. Had breakfast at Pacific Edge. Wife returned her meal to the kitchen because eggs were way over cooked. Total bill would have been $140 for 2 adults, 2 kids without Globalist status. Checked out after breakfast, well before the official 12pm check out, and will never be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: This hotel assumes you’ll excuse the horrible condition of the property because the views are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We regret that you experienced issues during your stay. We will certainly review all of your comments and share with appropriate staff.
Read more
Chloe wrote a review Jul 2022
California12 contributions7 helpful votes
My husband and I have stayed at this gorgeous property many times. It's a lovely hotel in a fantastic location. The lounge and dine-in area have a breathtaking view. I wish the server during the breakfast hour could be more patient regarding their service. Since the room costs almost $1,000 per night, I would expect the property to update the room's interior and design. The room is for sure cozy but can feel outdated. I highly recommend this property to you all who are planning on visiting Carmel, California.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much, Chloe, for taking time to share feedback about your recent visit. We will share your observation with our restaurant staff. We appreciate your continued patronage and testimonial, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Wanderer64763974140 wrote a review Jul 2022
15 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel rooms are spacious but need urgent renovation. We paid 900 dollars / night, which seemed to be far too much for what the hotel offered. Friendly staff and location is good - we could get to almost any interesting location within a few minutes driving.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and appreciate your compliment to our staff.
Read more
Reflections1 wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We have just arrived at the Hyatt Highlands after a long drive from LA, and what a disappointment. This place is terrible! We booked the ‘Big Sur Suit’ and what a joke. The so called ‘Palour’ is a big room containing a pull out couch, small table and two chairs, a cheap TV and a fire place, photo attached. The room appears to be circa the 1960’s and is smells like it too. A strong smell of damp greeted us as we entered the room, so if you suffer from breathing issues, might be better to stay clear. Aside from a lick of paint, some new cabinet tops and a new TV, the room hasn’t changed in 60 years. All the door surrounds show the dents of times, just painted over, paint runs and all. The bathroom tiles look original and have staining around the toilet. I can’t believe the Hyatt, puts their name to this place. I have no idea what we paid for the room, but if I cut it in half and half again, it would still be too much. The magic of photography makes the place look good, but it’s not. Don’t stay here, there must be better options.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Helpful hint…. Don’t Stay Here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and will share your observations with staff.
Read more
Mark C wrote a review Jun 2022
Palo Alto, California2 contributions
I've stayed here a couple times and it's an okay hotel but... I've now canceled two different trips and both times they didn't refund the deposit for MONTHS. I had to call and complain both times before the deposit got refunded. Super shady.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We regret any delay you experienced after your cancellations.
Read more
Tzipster wrote a review Jun 2022
Laguna Woods, California665 contributions179 helpful votes
+1
The views from our room are superb. The lounge and restaurant views are outstanding. The rooms are quite outdated. We’ve been coming here a few times over the years and nothing has changed. The grounds are magnificent. They really take care so that everywhere you go is beautiful. Beware. If you cannot do steps don’t come here
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your compliments to our views, grounds and Pacific's Edge Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back.
Read more
DR W wrote a review May 2022
5 contributions7 helpful votes
I have been a Hyatt member for over 30 years. And I’ve earned almost 2,000,000 points during that time. I stayed in hundreds of different hotels with a Hyatt brand and 99% of the time Hyatt brand is exceptional. Unfortunately, the Highlands Carmel is exceptionally subpar. The rooms are old and dated and accommodations are cramped. It is not the experience I expected for the price as charged. I suppose my expectations were substantially higher, but when we arrived the room a small damp old and musty. Heater did not work properly and we couldn’t leave the window open because it seemed like everyone was burning wood in their fireplace. The parking was ridiculous and the overall ambience was questionable. There was nothing to do with him walking distance and the drive from the Highlands into Carmel was not convenient. I would never recommend this property to anyone. I have never been more disappointed in your vacation stay than I was during this trip
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ryan Rance, General Manager at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Responded 6 Jun 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you were disappointed in your stay and will share your comments with appropriate staff.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$664 - US$831 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hyatt carmel highlands hotel carmel, highlands hotel hyatt carmel, carmel highland inn, carmel hyatt
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club
Which popular attractions are close to Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Nearby attractions include Point Lobos (0.7 km), Scenic Road Walkway (4.1 km), and Garrapata State Park (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, The Bench, and Dametra Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hyatt Carmel Highlands, Overlooking Big Sur Coast & Highlands Inn, A Hyatt Residence Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (4.5 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (4.9 km), and Point Sur Light Station (0.09 km).