We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

University Inn

TripAdvisorUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$65*
US$63*
Great Deal
US$65*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
University Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for University Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 53: English reviews
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewed 12 October 2015

I wish that the University Inn was better for those folks who have kids attending Chico State but it was really bad. It is very dirty and the rooms smelled like smoke. I'm not sure what room is on the front of the website, but the rooms we saw were nothing like that they were both the same, filthy!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amy B
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

Super friendly! They let me check in extra early. I have a fridge, micro, tv, clock, new carpet, 2 double beds, 6 great pillows, and it is right downtown! I have stayed at many fancy hotels. This is not a fancy hotel, this is Chico! And for the price and location... It's good! I would stay again! Also they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G M
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Worst hotel I think I've ever experienced. Took a shower, went to dinner and returned to the feel of a shanty town. Packed my bag and our group left instead of staying there. Asked for a refund and one was not granted. Disgusting.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thattraveladvisor
Port Orange, Florida, United States
Reviewed 29 September 2014

I have traveled the globe and visited some of the poorest villages imaginable. Never in my whole life have I ever come across a place this bad. The smell of cigarettes, body odor, and pot hit you in the parking lot, and don't stop. Cockroaches are everywhere, but if you are careful you can step over them as you enter...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank David P
Redding, California
Reviewed 7 September 2014 via mobile

Say no more, just VERY dodgy! The location is okay, room looks okay, but aircon doesn't work properly beds are saggy, looks like whoever made the beds just threw the pillows on the beds. The receptionist was grumpy, carpets dirty, and to add insult to injury, it's not cheap, this quality I'd expect to pay say $45.00 but this room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 33Wren33
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

I want for you to always have a quality, comfortable stay with us, 33Wren33. We do have a very stringent policy for keeping our rooms in top condition, so I'm disappointed that you left feeling underwhelmed. Your receptionist needs to be ready to address your concerns and make things right for you. I'll address these issues with my staff. Please...

Pasadena, California
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There were holes in the wall and I found multiple cockroaches in the room. The ice machine was next to room and was leaking water everywhere.water pressure was bad. the continental breakfast was instant and bad coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisymerollin
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

Daisy, we take pest control and cleanliness very seriously, so I'm surprised to read this. Although what you described is very abnormal here, we're always happy to address any issue you have at the front desk and make things right. If we can take care of these rare occurrences as soon as possible, we can better ensure that the rest...

San Jose, CA
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

There aren't many hotels that top the level of disgusting that the Extended Stay America has to offer, but this one really takes the cake. We were not the only people in our party staying at this hotel and when they rolled up at the check in time none of the rooms were ready. They came back an hour later...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TotalRockstar
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear we didn't leave a better impression on you! However, after reading your review, I can certainly understand why. Can you tell me what room you stayed in? I'd like to personally take a look at it as soon as possible so I can make sure it's guest-ready. Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner

Westlake Village, California
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you are ok with mold in the fridge, dirty furniture,filthy baseboards and bubbled ceiling that could full on you, this is the place to go. I paid $452.08 for 2 nights, May 2014, managed to get a refund of $50 whoopy should have been more like $400.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for following up with us after your stay, Linda. The last thing we want is for any of our guests to leave frustrated, but I certainly understand where you're coming from. I really appreciate you speaking up about the problems with your room when you were here; please know that we're working on addressing these issues! Sincerely, Mohammad, Owner

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Unless you like cockroaches, dont come here! The rooms were DISGUSTING as well as the shower. I wish i would have slept in my car. All they have is instant coffee and its NOT in your room. The towels were straight nasty. I dont think the clerk at the front desk even knew how to speak english. There were gangsters...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Vagabondsucks
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

I'm certainly sorry to hear you were so put off by your stay at our inn, but I appreciate you taking the time to let me know what you think. Nothing is more important to us than our guests' health and safety, so the last thing we want is for anyone to feel uncomfortable in our rooms. Please know that...

Harquer
Reviewed 8 October 2013

OK, so it's not Marriott or Starwood, but then if you could afford those you wouldn't be reading this. I can't explain the bad reviews --- maybe I lucked up with the nicest room. I certainly didn't feel "ripped off." Run by a very friendly (to me, anyway) family led by Mohommad, the Vagabond Inn Chico presents a clean, basic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Harquer
htlboss, Owner at University Inn, responded to this review

That's a great idea, Harquer! Thanks for pointing to the noise on busy weekends in your review. We're always looking for ways we can improve the overall guest experience, and having someone on hand to patrol our parking lot, etc., at night is certainly a way to do that. If you have any other helpful suggestions, feel free to send...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.3 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
260 reviews
0.1 km away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
990 reviews
3.2 km away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
2.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The University Inn Chico hotel is centrally located in Downtown Chico, California. We deliver clean, comfortable accommodations, quality amenities, a pleasant staff, affordable prices and classic, West Coast hospitality to each guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928-5616 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Chico)
Region: United States > California > Chico
Price Range: RM297 - RM444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Vagabond Hotel Chico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay in room 223”
Clickie, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor are quieter”
oliviae151, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel!”
wolfpooka, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't go!!”
  • Nice clean fridge ��
lindabI7721GR, 4 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs, especially if it's a weekend, and in the wing next to the office, the proximity of which deters late-night revels in the parking lot right there.”
Harquer, 8 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$63* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$65
TravelocityUS$65
Orbitz.comUS$65
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates