We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area\/Chula Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

DON'T STAY HERE! If your use to staying in really nice hotel dont stay here. There was no AC UNIT in the bedroom only in the living room, we had to go buy a fan and no extra sheets or pillows in the room for the hideway bed. This is a old hotel. I do have to say there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan2016918
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had to go out and purchase your own fan for your room and will make sure we look into your concerns to ensure our future guests do not have to encounter this issue. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2016

They have roaches, pool is small the hotel has a curfew of 9 so no one can be outside after, dirty hotel and would not recommend we only stayed there because it was cheap but next time will pay extra just to not stay there

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 163msc
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your needs and will make sure we look into your concerns so we can address them to ensure your next stay is a good one. More 

Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Loud and you have to go across a busy street. 2 wings on oposite side of street. Like the gated parking. Bring cooking things if you are going to cook. They have nothing. Bring extra towels and soap the head cleaning lady is kinda mean. Anna is the she is on the second floor across the main lobby building. Building... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 156darrelm
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and are sorry it was a little loud but are glad you had a good overall visit; we hope to see you again soon. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

No a/c told management three times. They don't care about there people. This place sucks and they advertised they had a hot/spa and dont. I will not stay at a howard Johnson ever again. There breakfast sucks.

Helpful?
Thank sandra581245
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your issues and will make sure our management hears your concerns promptly. More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Beds were not made on saturday and we had to ask for towels. I won't be staying here again when we come back next year as i smelled marijuana in the corner unit rt before walking down the stairs when i was in room 410. Very poor service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank miketY3952DH
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will make sure housekeeping is aware of your issue and are sorry to know that we did not fully meet your needs; we hope to better serve you in the future. More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I loved it was like a one bedroom apartment. But it was infested with roaches . I even stepped on some baby ones not realizing it . DISGUSTING!!! That is so unsanitary.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank HotelGirl12345
Paresh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your experience and will make sure our management knows so we can address this issue promptly. More 

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
0.4 km away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
511 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#12 of 20 in Chula Vista
46 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Easy Access Off I-5 and Minutes to San Diego Convention Center, Downtown San Diego, San Diego SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo,Knott's Soak City Water Park,Sleep Train Amphitheater U S Olympic Training Center and San Diego Beaches. 100% Non Smoking Hotel The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Offer Free Continental Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi, Free Parking Car or Bus ,Pool & Spa And on Side Guest Laundry. Offer include a LCD 39" TV With Primer Channel, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee & Tea Maker ,Iron, Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, Soap, Shampoo ,And Lotion, Sofa Bed And Kitchenettes Room Also Available. The Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area Chula Vista Within Walking Distance To Restaurant And Public Transportation, Such As San Diego Trolley And Bus Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista

Address: 235 Woodlawn Ave., Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly Travelers Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range: RM241 - RM438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelers Hotel Chula Vista
Travelers Inn And Suites
Travelodge Chula Vista
Travel Lodge Chula Vista
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Vancouver, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Diego Area/Chula Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good comfortable , but no good breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 169raulg, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask to have a room in the same office building, is the part of the hotel with better look.”
 of 5 bubbles violetam653, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Book early to avoid this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles tuna629, 26 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles TaylorA326, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay