We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Motel 6 Newport Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Newport Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The room was really big and the beds were very comfortable! The TV had loads of channels to choose from. The room and motel halls, etc were clean. There was a lovely little swimming pool which we didn't expect. The man who checked us in and another who checked us out were very friendly and offered free coffee. With the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocco11221
las vegas
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Beware booking online here. They are a straight out thiefs. I had reserved 1 room online and had 1 confirmation # for 1 guest When I checked in I was told I made 2 reservations. I explained to the clerk I only reserved 1 room an only needed 1 room for 1 person reservation. They charged for 1 room at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank homesbuydonna
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Yeah, when I think of Motel 6, images of those Breaking Bad roadside hotels come to mind. This was not it, to our pleasant surprise. The accommodations were mostly new. It seems that they probably remodeled the place not long ago. The sleep was comfy, and it's fairly quiet. The only negative is with the towels, which appeared to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionysus38
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Dionysus38, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We will look into your issue with the towels as we make cleanliness a priority here. Thank you again for the feedback.

Vicenza, Italy
Reviewed 12 March 2016

This is a Motel 6, so don't expect breakfast, a hairdryer, etc. However, it does provide a fridge, microwave and free wifi and many cable channels. And it is 50% cheaper than anywhere else nearby and provides a clean quiet place to sleep. Check in was easy and we ended up with a free upgrade to a bigger bed. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DVen8
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

DVen8, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again the next time you're in the area!

Reviewed 10 March 2016

The only thing good about this place is the room seem cleaned. Only based on the fact they have new hardwood floors. No hair dryers, drains for bath tub, rude workers, thin walls, etc. Stay somewhere else!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda V
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Amanda V, Thank you for writing us a review. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to franchise standards we don't have hair dryers or drains for the bath tubs. I also apologize that you found our staff to be rude, but want to assure you that was not their intention.

Elmwood Park, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Very simple, but everything you need to crash while spending a few days in the area. The room was clean and check in was a quick and pleasant experience. The motel is close to Starbucks and a variety of places to eat, not to mention close proximity to the beach. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeremy B
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Jeremy B, Thanks for leaving us a review! We are glad to know you had a pleasant experience with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Alaska
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I watched at the office that the manager was very rude to minority people! The employee treated the minority people no respect at all!!! Room was cleaned but smelly and room was not securely locked afterwards, which was a little concerning. The night went on the next door and the hallway got louder and VERY much louder and went on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aprilmay48
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

aprilmay48, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I'm sorry you felt that our manager was rude to minorities, but I want to assure you that we aim to treat all of our guests with respect. In fact, our manager, and most of our hotel staff, are minorities themselves. I still apologize, though, that you found...

Lake Mary Fl
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a quick hotel that's clean in Costamesa /Newport area this is good. The staff was very nice and helpful Fixing my reservation for me which had the wrong bed size. The parking is free and convenient, free wifi, pool, laundry facility's Convenient location. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tennisfamily808
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Tennisfamily808, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back again!

Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Close to the beach. Clean, upgraded with laminate floors (glad not to have carpeting!) Even though it is close to the freeway, the rooms are back far enough not to have any street noise! There is a nice cozy Italian restaurant next door. For the price it was pretty nice!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie S
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

Stephanie S, Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Reviewed 9 February 2016

It is what it is... a $75 motel close to Newport Beach. The room was what I expected; laminate floors, small (but clean) bathroom, lots of nearby takeout and delivery food, and of course the BEACH is just a little ways away. When I stayed here I didn't spend much time in the room because there was so much to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PDXtrent
Sahil P, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Newport Beach, responded to this review

PDXtrent, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and our service, and hope to see you again next time you're in Southern California!

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.6 km away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#12 of 23 in Costa Mesa
211 reviews
2.6 km away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
4.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-1751
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Price Range: RM333 - RM461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Newport Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the top floor so no one is walking above you.”
 of 5 bubbles DVen8, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you want a good room, Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles amandav511, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the east side are quieter and away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 383jeremyb, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Parking lot fills up at night, park early to get a good spot”
 of 5 bubbles PDXtrent, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any room is quiet even though it's off the freeway. If you have any questions the front desk is great in recommending anything you need.”
 of 5 bubbles kristiana454, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay