We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monarch Beach Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Monarch Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,906 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,864: English reviews
Newport Beach, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

when we gOt there, hungry AnD tired, they don't serve lunch at the main bar lounge. so we taxi to ritz carlton for lunch. wE camE bacK sunDay and the brunch buffet was sO small comapres to st. regis hotel that use to be, they raise the price to 99.00 per person comapres to 77.00 when st. regis was here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHAUSTER B
Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here specifically for a conference, the grounds and location are awesome! the food IN THE restaurants was great! The food quality of the conference lunch was the classic "rubber chicken" meal, it was cold and was not very good.. The shuttle service to the beach club was taxing at times as their standard answer was it should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nvlandguy
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had booked the Ritz but before we left we checked the Monarch and they had a "Rediscover" package with a better room and pricing. Having just spent 4 nights at the Monarch Beach Resort, we will be coming back! This resort is fabulous: the newly remodeled resort has all the amenities for an the active couple, gym & spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DS M
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I spent 3 night at the Monarch Beach Resort for a conference at which I was a presenter. The property was absolutely gorgeous and I had a room overlooking the pool area with the ocean in the distance. The room was beautiful but I would have been delighted to sit on my balcony for 3 days and stare at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megawatt259
Los Angeles
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a class operation...recently remodeled beautiful location and facilities (used to be a St. Regis). The resort offers many amenities including multiple pools, golf , restaurants, spa etc. We had 3 suites with balconies. The rooms, the bathroom and the balconies were all spacious. The beds were comfortable but they do not look like they were all replaced when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos803
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amos803, Thank you for staying at the Monarch Beach Resort during your visit to Orange County. I am very pleased to learn that our team provided you with exceptional service throughout your stay and that you and your family had a restful weekend with us. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our coastal...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was located to the back near the golf course. We had a one bedroom suite with amazing ocean views... The sunsets were breath taking. My family and I have been staying at this hotel for years and since the remodel and new owner ship the safe and hotel is still breath taking. I have to say Sandy, Eric...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kelsey892016
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear kelsey892016, Thank you for the incredible compliment! Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of our one-of-a-kind beach house hospitality family. Thank you for your loyalty over the years and I look forward to creating many more unique memories for you for many...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here during my California vacation. Property is gorgeous and views are great. Property is 5 star. It's seems very popular as it was packed during our stay. Service in on par with 5 star. Little disappoint this property is no longer part of St.Regis.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KSeven T
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear KSeven T., Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at Monarch Beach Resort. I look forward to having you return for many years to come. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

Allendale, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a gorgeous spot, formally the St. Regis. They un-branded and the place is now being run by inexperienced milenials. This is unfortunate. The rooms are well appointed, but I found the beds uncomfortably stiff and too high (I'm only 5'3") . The "firepit" rooms are just regular rooms and the firepits are not real, they are freestanding heaters,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sweetmelissae
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear sweetmelissae, It is vitally important to us that we provide the best customer service to our guests and are always appreciative to our guests when they provide us feedback when we don’t. I am disappointed that it was not a flawless stay for you and would welcome the opportunity to discuss any of your concerns further should you wish....

orange county, ca
Reviewed 1 week ago

We returned to spend the Thanksgiving holiday with our 7 kids and grandkids at the Monarch Beach Resort. This resort has quickly become their favorite. I am the one that sets everything up, so I have a lot of interaction with the reservations and front desk staff. These people make my job so much easier, handling every single detail which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billorangecounty
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear billorangecounty, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Monarch Beach Resort. Hearing feedback from guests such as you is one of the many reasons our staff members are so proud to be a part of beach-house family. I look forward to having you return for many years to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been coming here for years for thanksgiving brunch. Last year was a bit of a disappointment, not only because of the remodel, but because they trimmed the food offerings, eliminating the Asian food. This year, we were so excited when our waiter, Dan (who was awesome by the way), told us that the sushi was back! We all enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis E
MonarchBResort, General Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Travis E., Thank you for your compliments and loyalty over the years. I am pleased you and your family enjoyed our Thanksgiving Brunch at Aveo Table + Bar, and we hope to have you back to the Resort soon. Sincerely, Ian Pullan Vice President & General Manager

1,335 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (876)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (325)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (395)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Deluxe Studio Suite (38)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite (56)
Viewed
Ocean Vista Suite (71)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Premium Resort View Queen (39)
Viewed
Resort View King (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.9 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
16.7 km away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#5 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,376 reviews
9.5 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 20 in Huntington Beach
2,874 reviews
4.6 km away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
367 reviews
6.6 km away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our AAA Five-Diamond sanctuary is sublimely located near Southern California's renowned destinations, including Catalina Island and Dana Point Harbor. Nestled hillside overlooking a private beach, discover an array of adventuresome experiences at our coveted Orange County resort. From thrilling water sports, to championship golf links, to acclaimed Miraval Life in Balance Spa, encounter lasting memories at our pristine coastal locale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort Dr., Dana Point, CA 92629 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Price Range: RM1,487 - RM3,286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“wait until the CEO OR BOARD MEMBERS improve or Get off from their medication”
 of 5 bubbles chausterb, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“On the lower floor there are suites with fire pits which are a lot of fun in the evening and on cold nights.”
 of 5 bubbles Amos803, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wait until they rebrand”
 of 5 bubbles sweetmelissae, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an inside view so you can see the ocean. Stunning sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles T1827CSmarkd, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Third floor room was convenient and had an ocean and courtyard view with beautiful sunsets.”
 of 5 bubbles mamafly, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay