We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 119: English reviews
La Mesa, California
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was very large, which I loved. The room and bathroom were clean. The location was convenient. But most of all, the free wifi was super fast!!! Love it. Excellent room for the money. Check in was great. i don't recall the name of the young man who helped me but he was fantastic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy9899
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Tracy Thank your for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time and giving us your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Inn. Our staff works hard to provide great service, a clean room at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the area. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Loma Linda, California
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I must say that this hotel provides good services which could be considered more than enough in $65. Air-condition was good with heating facility. Flat Panel television with a good quality picture, a good internet facility. I must say that this hotel provides also a good breakfast and I don't need to find anything else out side before checking out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business. I am so glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast with hot waffles. I am glad you enjoyed our new flat screen tv, our guests are finding this upgrade refreshing. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Diego area. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Arizona
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I have enjoyed my stay with this hotel in El Cajon. I found co-operative staff on the specific demands such as no room in front of light, non smoking room, down stair room etc. Room is facilitated with flat screen, refrigerator, microwave and high speed internet service. This is really good against $65-70$ per night. I will prefer to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chintzzz K
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Chintzzz Thank you for your comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed our new flat screen tvs, and other amenities offered in our rooms. We hope to see again on your next visit. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I reserved and paid in advance for two rooms at this hotel via an online booking site. Although I paid for both rooms, I put one room in my name and the other in my son’s. When we got to the hotel, I was informed by the crew at the front desk that: a) there would be a $100 security...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunburnt_curt
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Curt Thank you for your comments, I apologize for any misunderstanding in regards to our deposit policy. You had made your reservations thru Expedia, our deposit policy is clearly stated under the hotel policies. As you know with credit card fraud on the rise, we have strict policies. We only accept credit card that matches the guest name on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

As per my last review. The hotel was dirty, bad smell in some of the rooms. South Asia Indian staff (I believe owner and Manager) were rude. None of the 4 rooms shown to me had flat screen TVs as per their photos. Should be shut down for health and safety reasons.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kliment G
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Kliment Thank you for staying with us. I apologize about the confusion on television sets in our rooms. We are currently in process of upgrading to new LCD TV in every room, our goal is to change them all out by middle of October. I am sorry the cleanliness was not to your expectation, I will speak to the...

Waco TX
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Where do I start? Okay I missed the continental breakfast which stopped at 9a.m.That was my bad. I was further disappointed after finding curlies in one of the beds! California water restrictions have contributed to This properties' sanitary issues i.e. not cleaning the bedding regularly. I paid 90 bucks I should expect a clean bed. Ac was good. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Yes I agree we do try to save water by having a linen reuse program. Under this program we change out all linen from a room when a guest checks out. However if the guest is a staying more than one night we do not change the sheets unless the guest places a...

Queen Creek, Arizona
Reviewed 4 August 2015

Well, I can say it is an OK hotel - let me re-phrase that, motel. Rooms are not bad and beds are fairly good. They were clean and our room did not have a smoke smell (as I have saw some others review). Bathroom is a little dated, but not overly gross. Old tube TV (remote worked when it wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redbeemer
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. You will be happy to know we are in process of changing out all our old tube tv to new LCD. This will be done by end of September. I am glad you enjoyed our room and the breakfast. We are an economy property and offer continental...

Arizona
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We got a room here in order to visit a friend in nearby Santee. The room was spacious and clean - the pool area looked very nice, although we didn't take the time to go swimming. The bed and bedding was comfortable and the breakfast was fine. Our only problem was that the way into and out of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your comments. I am sorry you had trouble finding us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our spacious and clean room. We value your business and hope to see again soon. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

Really unhappy, the check in room stunk so bad, I didn't even want to breathe. Don't get me wrong, the person at the desk was friendly and all. But I would never stay here again. And if you get the one with the kitchenette bring your own pots, pans, spoons and all that. They don't provide any of that, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mmendoza89
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your business. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will speak to my housekeeper and provide additional training to make sure the room does not smell. I hope you will give us another try on your next visit. Sincerely Chetan Patel

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Chose this hotel for location and price. It is in an older area of town. I was a little leery when we first got there thinking this place was going to be as old as the neighborhood it was in. Although the outer appearance does look to have a little history to it, it is very well kept and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ehernadnez
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear E.Hernandez, Thank you for our feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our inn. People are often surprised in a good way at our inn. It seems the work we have done to clean up and maintain the Inn is showing well. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found our staff to be nice. We...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Cajon hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
2.5 km away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in El Cajon
103 reviews
1.2 km away
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Price Range: RM280 - RM383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super 8
El Cajon Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Management takes just about 2 months to respond and I have questions. First, I will not accept your apology 2 months later. You had your chance at the time of arrival. Next, I will dispute your attempt at an explanation as it is not even close to what really happened that night. 1) If someone needed to extend their stay, they would have given you ample notice. Even if last minute (check out at 11), I arrived at 6PM. The bed should have been on the premises long before I arrived. 2) If this was true, why wasn't I informed by the front desk clerk that this was happening. If I was told this was happening, maybe I wouldn't have been upset. 3) I spent 2 hours on the phone with Corporate Customer Assistance as they worked to get me into your hotel after another hotel couldn't handle the bed issue. See items 1 and 2 and I ask again, with Corporate Customer Assistance working with me to get this solved, why wouldn't you tell them that you had an issue with your last known rollaway. 4) When Corporate Customer assistance called back the next day, they were not informed of this solution, yet you want to stay with your version of what happened. 5) You state I left the premises before you could get the bed from another hotel.......again, see all notes above where your front desk showed not an inkling of care as to whether they could/would/should share any information with me.

So, bottom line, please do not try to paint yourselves as a misunderstood hero when during the whole process, you were the villains.

I will not give you a second chance (as you really had it already when Corporate sent me back to you and was still treated badly), or a third or any other chances. First impressions...........especially in the business world.

NOTE: I did enjoy someone's comment that you should "dress professionally in order to get a clean room". Nice..........

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles sunburnt_curt, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“King room with sofa sleeper can sleep 4. Upstairs rooms are quieter, less people noise.”
 of 5 bubbles redbeemer, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another place....just be careful if you do have to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles londons2015, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor which is always a plus for less noise. At this hotel staying second floor mid parking lot so your not to close to the pool would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnC971, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early (at least 2 weeks) before arrival. And use your choice hotels card for free nights.”
 of 5 bubbles JRGerry_Champagne, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay