We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Welk Resort San Diego

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Welk Resort San Diego
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,394: English reviews
Parker, Colorado
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Welk resort is a good place to stay and relax,We had a higher room on the hill and it was new and clean,No complaints on room at all.Resort was OK,Food was not great.Big complaint is distance to attractions in Orange Co. Some road noise from hywy could be heard at balcony,not a big deal but if You crave quiet It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Mark D, Thank you for staying at the Welk Resort San Diego. It is great to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, as well as some feedback. We hope to have you back soon!

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I was very happy with my recent visit to the Welk Resort Villas San Diego. We stayed there 4 years ago and the experience was good, but not great. However I can say that this year we really enjoyed our stay. Our 2-bedroom condo was recently remodeled and the new interiors and furnishings look great. The condo was very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Joe B, We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay here at Welk. We are happy to hear that you found your unit to be spacious and comfortable. We strive to provide the highest in quality accommodations and we are thrilled to hear that this fell in-line with your experience. We look forward to having you...

Reviewed 31 March 2015

They overbooked the hotel and had nowhere for us to stay. Flew cross country and they left us stranded. This is the worst of the worst of the timeshare industry! Front desk had no explanation after I showed my confirmation that she finally left the from desk never to return. There is no rating low enough for this company, I...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Jjh49
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Jjh49, I apologize for any challenges you had during check-in. I have my resort management team investigating this matter. I will message you directly with my contact information so we can properly address your concerns.

Reviewed 30 March 2015

We just returned from a vacation at Welk Resort. We had an updated 2 bedroom Resort Villa. The unit was clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we could have possibly needed. It is a bit of a distance from San Diego, but the drive wasn't too bad. We did make the drive a few days. We also spent a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vamotherof4
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hello vamotherof4, Thank you for your kind compliments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and found your unit to be comfortable and well-kept. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We hope to see you again if you return to the area.

Norwalk, California
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Stayed a week to celebrate a birthday and totally enjoyed our experience. Saw The King and I on a Sunday and the Magic Show on Wednesday. The food at the Canyon Grill is delicious. Had at least one breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Grill - all excellent. Plenty of activities for young and not so young! Hope this helps....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JOHN M
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear JOHN M, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of the great activities and amenities we have on-site. Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us. Happy birthday!

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Two bedroom, two bath condo on Melody Hill was excellent! Had a separated floor plan and two well stocked bathrooms along with a great open-air kitchen. Everything was clean, and check-in was a breeze. Many things to do for everyone, and the resort left great messages about what was going on several nights throughout our stay. Moderate sales pitch from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie B
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Jamie B., Thank you for taking the time to share a bit about your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations, as well as some of the activities we have on-site. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you back!

Calgary
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed at the LW Resort and they are renovating two pools which led me to write a less than favourable review. The place is nice here, but the pools reportedly reach capacity at 11am, which is a nightmare. Also, they offer day passes to the pools and bbq's here, so they get quite an interesting crowd using the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shyloCalgary
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear shyloCalgary, I am glad to hear you found the resort nice. I apologize for the two closed recreation areas. we are in the middle of a number of upgrades to the resort. We do allow day use to a limited number of our owners. It is nice to hear you had a chance to enjoy some dancing under that...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Welk resort San Diego is about 45 minutes north east of San Diego, just north of Escondido. We stayed here at the new Mountain Resort (one of several sections of a 600 plus acre resort). The 1 bedroom we stayed in was very comfortable and well furnished with a gas fireplace in the living room and bedroom, a Jacuzzi type...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scoobster007
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear Scoobster007, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and the for the detail you have provided on our resort. I am glad you enjoyed the condition and quality of our villas and all the activities we have to offer. It is great to hear you really enjoyed your vacation here at Welk Resort.

Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We traded our timeshare for a week at this property. We are happy that we selected it. This is a very large property. It has a multitude of amenities. The suite that we got was very nice, large and well appointed. The pools and other amenities are very nice. The place it between LA and San Diego. During the week...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Radmrjg
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Hi Radmrjg, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Welk Resort San Diego. We thank you for your kind compliments. Your comments will certainly educate our future guests on some of the great things to expect while staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to have you back soon!

Vermilion, Canada
Reviewed 25 March 2015

You must have a vehicle to be at this resort as everything is quite a distance from it. We stayed at the Villa's on the Greens. The living room furniture was dated, but the worst of it was that it was so dirty, we felt uncomfortable sitting on it. Two of the four pool area's were closed for maintenance while...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LuckyLooVerm
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Welk Resort San Diego, responded to this review

Dear LuckyLooVerm, I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the condition of your villa. I have passed your thoughts on to our management team. I am glad you found our customer service levels to be more the adequate. I hope you choose to stay with us again so we have a chance to improve your opinion.

1,122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (664)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (163)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Other (242)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Boulder Springs Club House (49)
Viewed
Mountain Springs Rec Centre (24)
Viewed
Mountain Villa (73)
Viewed
Resort Villa (93)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Villas On The Green (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
23.5 km away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#31 of 279 in San Diego
1,825 reviews
19.4 km away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#8 of 16 in Escondido
86 reviews
13.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego - Escondido
20.0 km away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Drive, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Price Range: RM651 - RM1,383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Welk Resort San Diego staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms close and facing the freeway.”
 of 5 bubbles mychef1985, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room in the Resort or Mountain area.”
 of 5 bubbles Buddy-Bear, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the Mountain Villa's. They were great.”
 of 5 bubbles 832markc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Golf course views are nice.”
 of 5 bubbles Cilantro63, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't buy a timeshare.”
 of 5 bubbles daleb372, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5