We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Holiday Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 49: English reviews
Grass Valley, California
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

This place is so outdated its almost a joke. There is not even the bare minimums here. It is a joke a bad joke. They have never put one cent back into this place. It looks like the 1970 s in every room. Plus I read in the newspaper that they where dealing drugs out of the office. They found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rayjen3
Reviewed 3 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this place once 14 yrs ago it was gross. When I came back (family paid for stay) yrs later for a wedding It was still gross. The gave us a smoking room... which I could not stay in due to my child's health. They changed us rooms... still had smoke in it.... we a tempted a 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jenguerra
Holidaylodgegv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We noticed that you mentioned you stayed at our motel in March 2014. However, you wrote your review 11 months after your stay. During those 11 months, the motel not only went under new management, but also made many changes and upgrades. Take a look at our new...

Layton, Utah
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We were on the road and getting dark so decided to stay in Grass Valley. Unfortunately Best Western was full so desperate to find something close and searched my GPS for other nearby motels. This one came up so without any research, which I always do when traveling, we stopped here. The desk agent was very polite, said it would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mike S
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I had my weekend planned around the Strawberry Festival in Grass Valley and had not made hotel arrangements before hand. The Holiday Lodge was the only hotel with any vacancy and I am thankful for that! I was put in the room they call The Miners Cabin and it was such a cool theme. From a wood burning stove to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benjaminalaneugene
redding ca
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The rooms are somewhat clean but very out dated. The place has so many ridiculous rules and man if you dont see the 7 rules posted on a 8x11 sheet in small print.. be prepared to get chewed out.... and difinently do not book if you have young kids...the staff made sure to inform me that the little noise my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 143bubble
Holidaylodgegv, Front Office Manager at Holiday Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Our staff does remember you, because it is not very often that we have to ask guests to leave. During your stay, we received a total of 4 noise complaints for your party. These complaints were from other guests, most of them concerning...

Hayward ca
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Motel is an old funky one, probably from the 60's but the rooms were clean and in a quiet area. The grounds were well kept. Good location easy on and easy off Highway 20. For the price we paid it was well worth it, but if your looking for a 3 star look somewhere else. The girl at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BooblaJean
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Clean room, excellent and professional staff! Thanks, Holiday Lodge for a great resting place that I can call home for 1 night. Never been here before. Will recommend to any travelors. Lots of eating places near here. A freeway ramp is been build to exit to this motel within the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wei R
Auburn, Washington
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Check in went fast. After that I could not get any help from management. All the plugs in the room don't work. Every time I turned a light on the plug would fall out of the socket. And had to plug my cell phone in in the bathroom. They don't offer a phone in the room because they choose to...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 271traveler01
La Verne
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When we first pulled into the place we felt we had driven into the local flop house with rooms to rent by the hour. Had a tarp over a section of the roof, old mattress stacked along the street side. Upon walking into the office we were greeted very nicely by a wonderful woman with a great sense of humor....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mans265
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 18 August 2013

An unclean "non smoking" room. Overpriced. My preference is to stay in locally owned places but this was a bad choice. I would recommend finding a different place. The location is ok but not walkable to Grass Valley's cute downtown

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank cyclinjohn

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grass Valley
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
327 reviews
1.7 km away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
210 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holbrooke Hotel
Holbrooke Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grass Valley
122 reviews
4.0 km away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#3 of 5 in Nevada City
88 reviews
4.4 km away
Broad Street Inn
Broad Street Inn
#2 of 5 in Nevada City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Lodge is a pet-friendly boutique motel conveniently located on East Main Street in Grass Valley. We are less than a mile from historic downtown Grass Valley, a quick 5 minute drive to Nevada City, and less than 1 mile off the I-49. Our location features affordable rates and a clean, comfortable stay. Every room is equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. We offer both standard and themed rooms. During the summer months, take a dip in our large outdoor swimming pool. We also provide a free continental breakfast each morning. Please note, we underwent new management in late Summer of 2014 and have been making many renovations and upgrades. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge

Address: 1221 E Main St, Grass Valley, CA 95945-5711
Region: United States > California > Grass Valley
Price Range: RM446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Grass Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“keep moving”
 of 5 bubbles Evanston_WYBikeboy, 7 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Pick a theme room! They are awesome”
 of 5 bubbles benjaminalaneugene, 14 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask questions, lots of them and you get what you pay for some times and make sure they don't put you next to the ice machine”
 of 5 bubbles 271traveler01, 5 May 2014 | Read review
“Ask Dawn. She'll show rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 33tomh, 21 Sep 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay