We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Charlotte

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Charlotte
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon road trip. The place was everything I was hoping and more. The building was beautiful and rooms were quaint and charming. It was a great place to chill out. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watch the traffic and pedestrians pass by. Great location for Yosemite, do not be concerned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P123red
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel that will take you back in time. Staff are very helpful and will spend time helping you to enjoy the area and its sights. The must have for dinner is the stir fried sprouts and croutons, if you think not for me, give it a try, it's a must eat. Room 12 where we stayed has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iwells6
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not expecting that amazing steak without fries x best steak have eaten in a long time service was lovely a very quaint hotel was not expecting quality of food we got x went and out of Yosemite so glad we stopped here lovely hotel serving the best food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisebeirne2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very good hotel, in the style of the past. It is a great place where you can stop before visiting Yosemite. If you want to get here by 120 from the west, try to do it before dark because there is a lot of twisted road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kamila Ś
Roseville, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful and memorable stay at the Hotel Charlotte on 11/12/16. The hotel staff were all excellent, the restaurant (Fork & Love) food was fabulous for dinner, the room rate included a breakfast the next morning. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area, and we will visit again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great place to stay if you are visiting Yosemite and don't stay inside the park. It is about 1 hours drive outside the park. The hotel is a lovely old hotel, but very comfortable and clean. The restaurant serves up fine fare - we struck a night it was open as apparently they are not open 7 nights a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moirad976
Muskego, wi
Reviewed 31 October 2016

A one night stay on way to Yosemite. We had a late arrival and they made accommodations to get us into our room. The hotel is very warm and welcoming. We felt very comfortable and breakfast was included which was a nice touch. I would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Living_In_Zin
Jennykedwards, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review

Dear Living_In_Zen, It was such a pleasure hosting you! I'm thrilled that you had such a nice stay and appreciate you taking the time to recommend us to others. We would love to have you on your next trip to Yosemite. Safe travels, Jenn

Reviewed 31 October 2016

Never having been to the area, I am convinced that if you do not stay right inside Yosemite Park, this is the best location you can find. The road from this location is easy to navigate and a very easy drive to the park entrance. The hotel itself is a perfect peek into history but updated just enough to provide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
Jennykedwards, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review

Dear Thomas T, Thank you for your kind words and we're so happy you enjoyed the Hotel and your stay. I'm glad that you appreciated our balance of modern amenities with historic charm. We've worked hard over the last five years to renovate and bring things into the modern era while still honoring the rich history of the Charlotte. While...

Prunedale, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016

A friend and I booked rooms at the Charlotte Hotel for a 3 day visit to Yosemite National Park. Arriving back to the hotel on Thursday around 5, we were told there was no water available at the hotel. A water main had broken behind the hotel, and it would be repaired by 7 p.m. While they were offering beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannonmcmillan
Jennykedwards, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this review

Dear Shannonmcmillan, Thank you taking the time to provide feedback. We learned a very valuable lesson during your stay. When we heard the water would be offer for a short while, we did immediately prepare to offer wine and beer for the inconvenience, which most all guests took us up on. We had been told the water would only be...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Unfortunately we arrived way too late to our hotel and had to leave early in the morning to go to Yosemite and we only got to stay one night. We would have loved a longer stay as we didn't take advantage of this charming little place. But we'll definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokopetiyotl

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
33.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 km away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#4 of 6 in Groveland
558 reviews
38.8 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
18.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
15.2 km away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#3 of 6 in Groveland
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, PO Box 787, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Price Range: RM512 - RM868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Charlotte staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Charlotte staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 12 with its roll top bath in the bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles iwells6, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We requested room 10 after reading other peoples reviews. It was a great choice”
 of 5 bubbles C3916BVmarks, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Narrow stairs can be a little cumbersome, get downstairs room or pack light .”
 of 5 bubbles V9356KWthomast, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles shannonmcmillan, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms all nice. Mostly I'd pick whether you want the ground floor or the upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles LPN2117, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay