We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Ross Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Fort Ross Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fort Ross Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 258: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I had a perfect stay was at Fort Ross Lodge! I've stayed at several places around Jenner and Russian River, and was expecting something fine, perhaps a bit depressing, but with a great location. But it was so much better than that! Extremely comfortable and large bed, beautiful fireplace, incredible views, and very friendly staff from reservation to check in/out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jensf1
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 28 November 2015

My son was at Fort Ross for an overnight school trip in November. I stayed at the Lodge for two nights and it was great! Amazing views and fantastic service! It was cozy, clean, and I loved how secluded it felt. The BBQ on my private deck was a nice touch, especially because there aren't any restaurants close by! Perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia F
New York City, New York
Reviewed 27 November 2015

On a business trip to Northern California, my wife and I decided to stop at Fort Ross State Park to check out the old Russian encampment. We chose to stay at Fort Ross Lodge because of the unique proximity and online reviews. This has got to be the closest accommodations, being less than 2 miles from the Fort. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Samuel1024
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

Awesome awesome awesome place. Very peaceful and quiet for those who need to get away from it all. I'm currently taking a dip in the hot tub and loving the view out over the coastal pacific cliffs. I can't say it enough, whenever I'm back out on the 1, I'll be takin a rest at Fort Ross Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Samuel, Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review. We are very thankful for having you as our special guest. Hope to see you again very soon.

Reviewed 15 October 2015

The room was beautiful and spacious and the view was terrific! It felt very private. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way, and they even helped us with car problems -- they went above and beyond the call of duty! And there were delicious muffins for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Stephen, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We thank you for taking time out of your day to write such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Driving up from San Francisco along H1 coastal route, as was late was trying to find someplace for the night, as this trip decided just to wing in on accommodation. Unfortunately everything to that point had no external indications of availability, no 'vacancy/no vacancy' signs that i could see. This was the first we came across after an hour or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

So happy that you found us on your drive along Highway One. We look forward to having you visit us the next time you are in our area.

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 1 October 2015

My husband and I wanted to go up the Sonoma coast to spend a few days. Bodega Bay can be busy and even touristy in late September, and the accommodations are expensive. We kept looking north and discovered this wonderful lodge. We stayed two nights in one of the units with an ocean view from the private patio. The property...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Judith, Thank you, thank you, thank you for such a great review of our lodge. We would love the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon. Be on the lookout for our email newsletter in the next couple of weeks. Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

We should have come earlier! The cabins provided everything we needed and more! They were spacious, everything was perfectly clean, there is a private patio, a small but sufficient kitchen, a barbecue and a fireplace! I guess all of the cabins have the same nice seaside view as we had. So all in all, the perfect stay in the way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert_4223
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for the great review. We can't wait to have you as our guest again.

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We're actually there on Labor Day night 2014. Seemed like we were the only ones in our section. Had a great view of the ocean from our room. There is a bluff that it was easy to walk out onto. Did not see any access to the beach. But felt very much alone ( a good thing) Rooms were nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Bill for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon.

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Only disappointing lodging on this trip. You cannot access the beach and it is treacherous trying to walk out on the bluff to see the ocean as the ground is full of gopher holes and you are warned. Room was dark and dowdy and smelled stale. No counter space in bathroom. No breakfast. Sunroom not opened up and full of...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lorie M
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed during your visit to our lodge. We are on a rigid part of the rocky Sonoma Coast, and we do not claim to have beach access. We do warn our guests of the trail to the cliff, only because there are gophers/holes and it is State Park Property that we cannot maintain. Not sure what room...

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
1.4 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
59 reviews
30.8 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,087 reviews
22.4 km away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
466 reviews
15.5 km away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
287 reviews
4.8 km away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Price Range: RM549 - RM736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
napa, ca
over a year ago
Turlock, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Ross Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 14-17 for best ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles cameronp27, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms have wet bars with mini fridge, microwave & BBQ with charcoal. Bring a cooler & groceries. Limited dining choices nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles Raiderfanann, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles joshuagatesis, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look at the pictures on the website ahead of time. They well represent the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles L4386CBamys, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Amazing views from any room but I think the rooms up on the hill are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles jeffliggett09, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5