We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ferrari's Crown Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ferrari\\
Ferrari's Crown Resort
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ferrari's Crown Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
San Mateo, California
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

The location is fabulous and the rooms are clean and well maintained. It's not fancy, but it's clean and comfortable. For the price, you can't beat it. Breakfast was nice and I recommend a room with a little kitchenette. Everyone working there was friendly and accommodating. Would love to come back the summer to enjoy the deck and the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leya L
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Come back and visit us in the Summer! We have BBQs on the beach... -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Rented a lake front view could hear everything the neighbors were doing. Run down and old. This is also a motel, went to Reno paid half the price for a hotel and was twice as better. It was on the lake and the view was nice but not worth the price or hearing everything your neighbor is doing. Could barely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe M
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Hi Joe, We're sorry you had a bad experience at our place. In these situations our front desk staff are happy to move you to a different room if we have one available. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Petaluma, California
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We stayed last year and booked again of this year because it is kid friendly and affordable when ski costs are high. We had a family emergency and needed to cancel; the "family run business" was extremely rude to myself and the Expedia rep. The hot tub was barely warm and in question of being clean. I will NEVER give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robin_bisgaard
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We clean our hot tubs daily. I apologize for the firmness of our cancellation policy, but it is necessary for peak season. If you would like to give us another try, please message us through here and we can work something out. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

The room itself was super clean and exactly what I had expected from other reviews. We didn't want to pay extra for a view we wouldn't get to stay long enough to appreciate. We arrived at dusk and needed to leave early in the morning. Being on the 1st floor right in the parking lot sucked. We could hear Sasquatch...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lily T
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I apologize that the shower was not working properly. We strive to stay on top of these maintenance issues, so whenever possible please give us a room number so that we can have it looked at. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

nj
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Got basic 2 queen beds room. Room was large and all ok. Can't beat location, right on a beach. Deck is nice. Electric outlets in the room are simply funny. Room has refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker on top of it. There was no way to turn either one on as cord just won't reach socket. We had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank baraklo
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. We're sorry you weren't able to find an outlet that fit your computer. Next time please let our front desk know and we will provide you with whatever adapter you need or switch the room if necessary. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I came to Tahoe City for an Ironman, and chose Ferrari's only because it was steps from the start line. What a pleasant surprise! Quaint and simple, but comfortable and quiet with everything one needs. Clean and well-stocked kitchenette; nice pools and a stunning location directly on the beach!! In the heart of town; easy to walk to restaurants. Glad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wertuio22
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you next time you visit Lake Tahoe! -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Reviewed 2 September 2015

Although the 'resort' is on the funky side, you have to appreciate that it's been a family run operation for many, many years, and that its prime location makes it one of the best properties on the lake. Compared to other places in Kings Beach, I'd say it's definitely worth the price. Our room was located right on the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed our family operation! Come see us soon! P.S. During the shoulder seasons our availability is generally open. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

La Jolla, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I think calling it a "resort" is a little misleading, especially when you pull up to a bright neon sign that says Crown Motel. Our side of the motel said Goldcrest Motel which was odd. I was expecting it to be more tucked away from the street since it appears that way on Google maps and in photos but our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amber W
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! Next time try one of our Lakeside rooms as they are further away from the highway. -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 29 August 2015

This isn't the fanciest motel but it's not bad either -- clean and inviting.The price is right and it's located right on the shores of Lake Tahoe. Rooms are just fine but small, with frig. Other amenities make it worth the price as well. It's right on a sandy beach of north Lake Tahoe. The hotel has BBQ grills for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desertsage55
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you had a nice stay. See you next time! - Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

Reviewed 27 August 2015

We stayed in a regular room and one of the suites. Regular rooms are just that, regular, but who cares unless you plan to stay inside all day. We updraded to a suite overlooking the beach and it was perfect for us. Not luxurious, but great overall with a nice balcony and a fantastic view. Layed on the lawnchairs on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rezhunter
ferrari8200, Owner at Ferrari's Crown Resort, responded to this review

We're glad you were able to enjoy the fresh air and stars! Sorry about the bear! -Dave Ferrari for the Ferrari Family

361 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Other (90)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (6)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Family Suite (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kings Beach
0.8 km away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
279 reviews
32.8 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
816 reviews
16.9 km away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
2.5 km away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
825 reviews
1.7 km away
Firelite Lodge
Firelite Lodge
#4 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Ferrari's Crown Resort, proud to be your "Home Away From Home" for over half a century. We have been family owned and operated since 1957. Centrally located in North Lake Tahoe, we have a private beach, continental breakfast, hot tubs, pools, discount lift tickets and more. Ferrari's Crown is located minutes away from skiing and snowboarding, kayaking, hiking, biking, horseback riding, golfing, casinos and all that North Lake Tahoe has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ferrari's Crown Resort

Address: 8200 N. Lake Blvd., Kings Beach, CA 96143 (Formerly the Gold Crest Resort)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Kings Beach
Price Range: RM410 - RM869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferrari's Crown Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ferrari's Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferrari`s Crown Hotel Kings Beach
Ferraris Crown Hotel
Ferraris Crown Kings Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ferrari's Crown Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Chehalis, Washington
3 months ago
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Ferrari's Crown Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with Lake Tahoe views are well worth the extra charge!”
 of 5 bubbles momtks, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fork over the extra money in advance and get a waterfront view!”
 of 5 bubbles 810Raymond810, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This was on a busy holiday weekend, I wouldn't stay next to the pool again. it was loud with kids running. I would pick a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles steinbn, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view. The rooms without a view are on the road and you can hear the traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles gooutsideofthebox, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are there for the lake, choose a lake view room. For us it was rewarding.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahw535, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5