We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cedar Crest Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakeshore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cedar Crest Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 48: English reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Went to see Cedar crest after a absence of several years was at Huntington for the regatta. I was disappointed with what I saw. This used to be a quaint and fun family resort, now, dogs running loose at least 3, one stopped to unload, the owner did not pickup after her dog, I saw lots of adult milling around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Ruth R
Barry F, Guest Relations Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review

This is a wonderful quit family Resort and has always had an RV Park in the middle, Cabins all lake front and camp sites and tent cabins in the back meadow! RV's have gotten popular since the 80s! Our restaurant has expanded to 8 new decks with tables, creeks and pounds over looking the lake with a awesome view and...

Newbury Park, California
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Our family was going to my old favorite place growing up, Huntington Lake, in the Sierras north of Fresno, CA. This is a gem of a lake, with pine trees surrounding all shoreline, although the drought has dropped the water level. You can stay in the regular old campgrounds, but this will be memorable. Proprietor Barry will help you take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
Alhambra, California
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Cedar Crest Resort (CCR) is a special place. It's the kind of place your grandfather, or maybe your father and/or uncles would take you to share the feelings that a place like this gave them. It's a place from a by-gone era. A bit quaint and rustic and unpretentious. The type of place celebrities from the 1920s, 30s, and 40s...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William R
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Can't say enough about the wonderful time a friend and I had last summer at Cedar Crest Resort. It's a great alternative to "roughing" it in the Sierras. A great, casual getaway location right on Huntington Lake with a low key atmosphere . Highly recommended as a weekend retreat to beat the valley heat down below. Gotta love the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
Barry F, Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review

I would like to personally thank all the wonderful reviews of our Resort! I don't understand some of the bad reviews as being credible as they seem to be made up and totally wrong and or out of line! I also have a problem with Trip Advisor as they list 5 Resorts at Lakeshore Calif. ~ Huntington Lake when there...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 9 January 2015

If you're trying to get away from it all and are looking to take a trip up into the mountains, staying here is a fantastic alternative to camping. You can experience the mountains, hike around to hot springs and waterfalls (the resort owner knows all the good spots!) and come back each night to your own room, kitchen, bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alec T
Fresno, California
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It had been five years since we last ate here. That was a bad experience. We wanted to give it another chance and came in with another couple. The grounds have been allowed to deteriorate. We walked into a dirty restaurant. Tables were very dirty. Walked into kitchen to check it out. Lots of unwashed dishes, the grill was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jolanda
Barry F, Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review

This has to be a fake review !! We ran out of shrimp on the 1st of Aug and never re-ordered as to the low water we had to close for the season on Aug. 20th! Also we never allow patrons in our kitchen!! Yes our kitchen can pile up with dishes on a friday night as i have only...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Cedar Crest Resort and we already miss the gregarious, colorful staff and the peaceful, tranquility of the resort. Our original intended stay was for 4 days, but we enjoyed ourselves so much, that we stayed for an entire week. The owner Captain Barry has to be 'The most interesting man...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
Hanford
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We staff was helpful upon our arrival. Like the staff most things, like the plumbing doesn't work correctly. That evening I went to the bar to buy ice. I found the bar/ lounge/ restaurant was empty of customers but full of drunk staff members. The next evening my wife and I went to the lounge for a drink, we again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott D
Barry F, General Manager at Cedar Crest Resort, responded to this review

This Review is out of line and complete non-since! This review must be removed as these people are calling ALL my employee's drunks including myself and I am a Federal officer and run an upstanding Family Summer Resort!! Myself and my Cook / Bartender are the only EMPLOYEE'S at the bar and no one on the job is allowed to...

Milpitas, California
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent my 4th of July weekend here. Our rustic cabin had comfy beds and a functional kitchen, but my favorite part was the little patio where I could relax, observe the birds and chipmunks and read. The lake was just a few paces below. The water levels, I hear, are at a record low, but that didn't hinder my enjoyment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saya1984
Baltimore
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights this past June, and I think the experience was alright. The reviews here are kinda all over the place, so some explanation is in order. We had been wanting to try out some canvas tent camping for a while, and the pricing ($45/night) seemed reasonable given the other options for cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jmart134

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeshore
18.8 km away
Shaver Lake Village Hotel
Shaver Lake Village Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shaver Lake
67 reviews
18.8 km away
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
Elliott House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Shaver Lake
51 reviews
32.8 km away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a backwoods rustic mountain lodge lake-view on Huntington Lake in the High Sierra! We have campgrounds, RV sites, Tent Cabins,camping Cabins with kitchens, Store, Restaurant, Bar, Marina, Boat rental, Hot Showers for campers and dump site for RVs!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedar Crest Resort

Address: 61011 Cedar Crest Lane, PO Box 163, Lakeshore, Huntington Lake, CA 93634
Region: United States > California > Huntington Lake > Lakeshore
Price Range: RM178 - RM801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Cedar Crest Hotel Huntington Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Crest Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Let the booker or manager know what you want or need so they can find you the right cabin or campsite/RV site. Press Captain Barry for information and tips.”
 of 5 bubbles M8028CAwilliamr, 1 Mar 2015 | Read review
“If available, ask for tent cabin 1. It's the most secluded from the rest of the tents, but still close to the restrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jmart134, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
“This is a High Sierra Resort, Don't except Beverly Hills,”
 of 5 bubbles jamessK9334JU, 26 May 2014 | Read review
“Reservations for areas with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles WmB_13, 2 Feb 2013 | Read review
“we did not stay in a room.”
 of 5 bubbles 533johnh, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5