We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles

Save
Share
929 S Broadway, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1609
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Official Website
US$229
View deal
Booking.com
Snaptravel
US$192
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/03/22
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (430)
Room & Suite (221)
Dining (56)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 24/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Updated 24/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#64 of 418 hotels in Los Angeles
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles opened early 2014 in the historic United Artists building in Downtown LA. An ornate, storied and vibrant Los Angeles gem, Downtown is undergoing a renaissance. Built in 1927 for the maverick film studio, the UA theater and tower stand as monuments to a group of seminal American artists pushing out on their own.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Nightclub / DJ
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Korean

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
171Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
31Attractionswithin 0.5 km
683Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 337
  • 174
  • 76
  • 58
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ali S wrote a review 10 Jan
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I wanted to do something special for my birthday and decided to choose the Ace. The ambience of the entire hotel from the lobby, to the hallways, and to the room was amazing. The staff made me feel special on my birthday with the rooms selected and was able to arrange that the two rooms where right next to each other as requested. The room was a dream, from its amenities to the decor. The rooftop pool was a dream to enjoy the next morning. I can not wait to stay the next time I take a trip to LA.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sofia K wrote a review Dec 2021
Los Angeles, California146 contributions24 helpful votes
Unlike the cookie cutter hotels, the ACE DTLA has its unique charm and beauty. It is an old art deco building so the rooms are small and you won't have the conveniences of a new hotel. The front desk staff and bellmen were very friendly and welcoming. The valet guy could be more attentive and helpful. We arrive in our car but were going to across the street so didn't need valet. He just stood there while we got all our luggage out, then he opened the door for us while we dragged all out stuff, I dropped my suitcase and he just stood there. He finally helped me with my carryon while I pushed the bigger suitcase. The bellman was inside, but didn't see us until we were inside. IMO either the valet guy should have called the bellman, or the bellman should walk outside from time to time to see if there are guests arriving. After checking in, we went up to the room and it was a bit dark. Simon the bellman suggested we go ask for another room, and Michael upgraded us to a nicer room. We had a king bed corner room with a balcony with 4 big windows. It was a super nice upgrade! PROS for me: 1. Great location in downtown LA. 2. Hotel style (decor, building) 3. Good quality mattress, pillows and bedsheets/comforter 4, Eco conscious - small hand bar soap (less waste) and refillable shampoo, conditioner and body soap 5. Big windows - lots of lights 6. Rooftop bar is cool and not too big so more intimate 7. They clean your room only if you request it the day before so you they won't bother you trying to get in your room at different times like in other hotels 8. Very nice and good quality assortment of snacks, and drinks - coconut water, Topo Chico, nice brand chips, etc. 9. No carpet in the rooms! CONS: 1. Hallway paint color and carpet is very dark, depressing and old looking. 2. Rooms are small and there's not much space to put your big luggages, small closet and no drawers to put your things 3. Restaurant menu is average, not great. 4. Bathroom tub /shower was elevated and there was no handrail or anything to hold on to when getting out. I suggested to the hotel to put something, someone can slip if not careful. One thing that I found odd s that I called the day after we checked out because I thought I had left a dress. They said housekeeping didn't find anything left behind in the room. Later I found it among my stuff and called back to let them know I had it. That night, I realized we had indeed left a bottle of wine in a gift bag that my boyfriend received as a birthday gift. But they didn't say anything about it. I found it odd that they wouldn't report that, especially when we checked out at 1pm and left our suitcases with front desk until 7pm. Housekeeping certainly had cleaned the room and could have notified the front desk. I am not certain of hotel policies of forgotten items, but I'd think they would attempt to notify guests in case it was forgotten and not left behind knowingly. Overall we had a great stay and experience. We celebrated a birthday in the rooftop bar and Michael the assistant manager had a list with all our guests so they could all go on the hotel guest elevator for quicker access instead of the public rooftop elevator. That was very a very nice touch.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you stay in room facing 9th St or Hill St you will have better lighting
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ADG123 wrote a review Dec 2021
San Juan Capistrano, California49 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
We nicknamed our room “The Cell”. Luckily we are good natured people who had a bit of a laugh about our experience however the high cost took an edge off our humor. We stayed at the Ace because we were attending a concert in the attached theater. The base price was $318/night but when taxes, a $50 usage fee for something or other, and a $50 valet parking fee were added it came to over $500. Our double room on the 11th floor featured a cracked concrete floor, a chipped support column by the window, and what looked like particle board on the walls with a few leak splashes. The furniture included a very low single mattress bed wedged tightly between two walls and a desk. My partner had to crawl over me to get out of the bed at night to use the restroom. If you are old, infirm or have bad knees be forewarned. If you want to spend time in the room one of you will be on that bed since there is only one chair. Other furniture looked as if it had been constructed and hastily painted by the inmates. The hotel appears to want to present itself as hip and trendy but the decor speaks college dorm. The rooftop bar was fun. We enjoyed dinner at Loam the restaurant in the hotel. The employees in both were friendly and efficient although the kitchen was very slow. The neighborhood is not one to walk in. Take an Uber.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The neighborhood is not walkable. Take an Uber.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jenna F wrote a review Nov 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania13 contributions15 helpful votes
We chose to stay at the Ace because of a need to be downtown and good experiences at two of their other properties. We got a decent room rate (minus the “location fee” that covers what I’m not sure) but aside from that, not much to love about the hotel. The two elevators ran extremely slowly and our medium size room was very basic and cramped. Sparse decor, bad lighting, minimal space, a shower that looked over the bed, bathroom with no ventilation - it felt like a campsite to me. The cherry on top was the music blaring from the rooftop bar until 2:30 AM each night. If you choose to stay here, avoid the medium size room and request a room as far away from the rooftop bar as possible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
sushupe wrote a review Oct 2021
San Diego, California6 contributions9 helpful votes
This is not a 4-star hotel by any stretch of your wildest imagination. Bath towels were old and one had holes. No in-room coffee. Many Holiday Inn's off the interstate have Kuerig's. We had no hot water, just luke warm. The soap/shampoo dispensers were disgusting and pumps were broken. Our room keys kept deactivating and we had to get them replaced more than once. The lamp shade in room was torn. The toilet is inside a make-shift closet with no ventilation. No cover sheets on the bed, just a duvet. Overall the Ace in DTLA is an overpriced dump and I regret spending my money there. I suppose it fits with the neighborhood it's in. The rustic/hipster vibe they're going for is overdone. We'll never return to any of Ace's locations.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The best room at Ace hotel is at another hotel.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Christina Winkelmann, Marketing at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Hi Thomas. We are so sorry to hear about your experience. Our General Manager would love to connect with you and will be getting in touch with you shortly. We want to do better and getting insight like this helps. Thank you. - Team Ace
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$226 - US$539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
182
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Which popular attractions are close to Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Nearby attractions include Orpheum Theater (0.2 km), Escape Room LA (0.4 km), and The Theatre at Ace Hotel (0.02 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Conveniently located restaurants include Terroni - LA, Colori Kitchen, and WoodSpoon.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Chinese, and Korean.