We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked a double room for two people, knowing that we will just crash for the night after driving for several hours and leaving early in the morning for an appointment. The parking for hotel is at a lower street level, pretty dark, cold and kind of dirty. The hotel is in Chinatown , but for those who never visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This might be the strangest Best Western I even stayed in. It has a bunch of Chinatown shops on the lower level! The location is great and the price is okay considering it is LA. But this hotel is so noisy they leave ear plugs on the night stands! Don't stay in a connecting room. I think they must have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank husker78
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Husker; I'm sorry you were disappointed with our property. We are have shops on the bottom floor because we are in a tourist location area. Because of our location we do get many tourists who tend to be a bit louder. We try to be proactive and provide ear plugs in case this happens. I do hope you give...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could not get a place closer to the business district in downtown L.A. so I booked here. The neighborhood is not the best. But the hotel was clean and cheap. There were earplugs, nice courtesy, but not needed. The self serve breakfast was a nice touch. A good place for a brief stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Russell B; Thank you for the nice compliment and noticing the ear plugs. We try to be pro active with everything at our property including noise level. I hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Breakfast is amazing, big and good. You an also make pancakes and waffles!! The room is big and confortable and clean: there is also the hair cap (an optional not present in most of the American hotels). Wifi is free and well working. We were there by car so to move was not difficult but wehad the impression that without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silvia C
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Silvia. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your standards. Especially the large room and great breakfast. I'm sorry you didn't find the pharmacy and the market. The closest pharmacy is RIGHT on the property, on the bottom floor and the market is the business next door. PLEASE in the future, please just ask our front desk...

Hemet, United States
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Was in Los Angeles for business, hotel rooms were very clean, bed fantastic, staff helpful and pleasant, breakfast was available, but eat else where. Loved the shower. Variety of places to eat. Had a little fridge but no microwave.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selestina S
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Selestina: Thank you for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, I would eat elsewhere too just because we have soooo many wonderful restaurants all within walking distance to us. However, if you don't have time to go out to eat. Our breakfast is a great choice. We hope to serve you again on...

Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Car parking available for a small charge. Typical Chinese facade. The room was very spacious and of a very good standard. There was no view to speak of and was a bit noisy, ear plugs were provided , not a necessity though. Staff were very helpful and the complimentary breakfast was good. Though need to get there to get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brenda: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Hanford, California
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed two nights while my son was in the hospital. Only a 1 1/2 miles away and I didn't have to get on the freeway. What a plus. Nice big clean rooms with hardwood floors. Beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows. Front desk clerks were very nice and check in was smooth. Free breakfast was offered with cold and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa B: Thank you for trusting to stay with us while your son was at USC Hospital. We all hope your son is doing well. In the future, please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more comfortable. Speedy recovery to your son. Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Ohio
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a nice hotel. Ground level consists of lobby and breakfast room and then a bunch of shops with an open air central courtyard. Rooms are all on upper floors with outside entrances from the courtyard area. It's a small hotel overall, but our room was HUGE! Just a standard room, but so impressed with how much space there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayDubs
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Dear JayDubs: Thank you for the great review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay We look forward to serving you again. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Henderson, Nevada
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I'd call this a very Chinese-friendly hotel, even down to the daily newspaper they supply. Neighborhood is quite busy during the day; not so much at night when streets appear almost empty. But the rooms were comfortable and equipped with personal earplugs to suppress the exterior traffic noise and morning playground screams. There's a nice free breakfast in a parlor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zoom_Gotti
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Zoom: Thank you for a such a nice detailed review. Glad you found every thing acceptable for your stay. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Regards, Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Inn

Winchester, United States
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Not a nice hotel was there on business and was scared my car would be broken in to. The rooms were not nice i was afraid to walk barefoot on the carpet. Loud all night and I'm pretty sure we witnessed a drug deal in the hallway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christian S
DGI8888, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn, responded to this review

Hello Christian: I apologize for your impression of our property. I assure you , we are not in a dangerous area. We are in the safest of all districts in Downtown Los Angeles. You can verify by calling the LAPD. I implore you please read all the reviews of guests that have stayed with us. We score between 4 and...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (22)
Viewed
King Suite (22)
Viewed
One Bedroom King Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Studio King (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Metro Plaza Hotel
#142 of 347 in Los Angeles
339 reviews
Royal Pagoda Motel
#149 of 347 in Los Angeles
110 reviews
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#47 of 347 in Los Angeles
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Historic Mayfair Hotel
#240 of 347 in Los Angeles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn

Address: 818 N Hill St, Los Angeles, CA 90012-2395
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Price Range: RM610 - RM1,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dragon Gate Hotel Los Angeles
Best Western Los Angeles
Los Angeles Best Western
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#68 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Barrington

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Dragon Gate Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't get a connecting room!”
 of 5 bubbles husker78, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles 398brendaw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay in rooms closer to the reception, as there will be less traffic noise , rooms ending with 01-04 on each floor”
 of 5 bubbles randeeparora1, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper level room not facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles BurghDoc, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It would be best to get a room on the third floor for quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles srobby, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay