We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Merced

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Merced
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Merced
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewed 30 March 2015

When I travel alone, I don't need many amenities. Ease of parking, clean room, a working heater/sir conditioner, comfortable bed, a small refrigerator, and that's about it. I get in fairly late at night and leave early in the morning so I don't need swimming pools, exercise rooms and all those other things. For that reason I always stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank J R W
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with Motel 6 on Childs Ave, we appreciate your repeat business. We have recently completely remodeled half of our room and the other half of our rooms are partially remodeled. The biggest difference in the two is that the completely remodeled rooms have wood effect flooring while the partially remodeled rooms have carpet. We are more...

London, England
Reviewed 21 March 2015

The budget option. It cost $55 for the night, but you dont even get carpet on the floor for that (see picture). Parking is close and no noise overnight as it is far enough from the highways and rail line are the nicest things you can say about it. Staff are fine. We got towels albeit slightly threadbare ones. Has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul113
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to offer clean comfortable rooms and Motel 6 has decided that hardwood floors are cleaner and easier to clean than carpet. We do have some rooms at this property that have carpet in them and if you prefer that, just request it at checkin and we are more...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 18 March 2015

You are tired, and you want to sleep in a safe place where you will be received by very nice staff (Thank you for all your help Melissa!). That is what you will find at this property. Do not ask for more. It is very hard to find a plug for connect your computer, the towels are few and VERY...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gmokatz
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Motel 6 Merced. Motel 6 is a leader in the economy hotel segment and in order to keep costs down, we do not provide shampoo in the rooms but we do make it available for guests who need it. It is nice to hear that Melisa made you feel welcome and I will share this...

Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Black mold in parts of bathroom. No shampoo unless you pay a dollar. No towels in room. Clerk was super nice though and made the stay pleasant. Bed was hard as a rock and room was noisy. Not much but a place to barely sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary T
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feeback is important to us and I will personally address the issues that you have brought to my attention. I apologize that there were no towels in your room and there was an issue with cleanliness. We are currently focusing our efforts on the quality and cleanliness of our...

Reviewed 5 February 2015

I would like to specially thank an employee at this Location... "The Amazing Ashley" This beautiful woman's Customer Service skills were Superb, Extrordinary , Outstanding and Also Conducting in Professional Manner.. She took Quality Time in helping me Find a Affordable Room.. That suited excellent to my expectations.. She took time to walk me around the facility and made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank communiKAYSHON
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Motel 6 in Merced Ca. I am happy to hear that Ashley made your stay pleasant. We are lucky to have her on our team. We hope that you will stay with us again if you are in the Merced area

Reviewed 14 December 2014

Came to California to see Yosemite and stopped at Motel 6 on my way I was extremely tired from being on the road for 12 hours and the girl at the front desk Lisa was very professional and polite took care of me and got me a room so I can sleep in. my room was very clean and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lookwhosontopnow
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Yosemite, I hear it is beautiful this time of year. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and my staff was welcoming. Motel 6 strives to offer clean, comfortable rooms at the lowest price of any national chain and it sounds like we are hitting the mark. Thank...

Desert Hot Springs, California
Reviewed 10 December 2014

It's a Motel 6. It's decent. Staff is friendly and helpful. The Wi-fi is free, but a bit flakey. Water pressure is acceptable. The water gets hot when you want it hot. The corridor smells odd - I can' tell if it's weird cleaning materials or weird food. Maybe both?! But I have a complaint about the heat. The overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

I apologize that your room was cooler than you would have liked it. I assure you that this was an isolated incident. I am glad that you brought this to my attention so that I can have it repaired immediately before any other guests have a similar experience. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time share your...

CLEAR LAKE
Reviewed 8 December 2014

We always travel with our dog, which makes motel 6 our go to motel. They don't charge for my dag where other motels charge $10 and up per night. The room was updated and nice. We had a very peaceful two nights, and look forward to a return trip soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAREN Y
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

'Motel 6 is the original pet friendly hotel chain, welcoming travelers and their pets since 1962'. Here at Motel 6 Merced, we do welcome well behaved pets and if you register your pet at check-in, they receive a treat. Thank you for staying with us and we will see you on your return trip.

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 26 November 2014

A lot of Motel 6’s (M6) are being remodeled. I generally like the modern look of these upgrades. However, I question the planning at this location when I have to use a plug across a room from where I was using my laptop. They designed a nice little corner desk with a built-in seat. However, you can see from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don C
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

I apolgize that the design of our rooms did not meet your needs. When we are considering our next upgrade, I will keep your observations in mind. I am glad to hear that your overall experience at Motel 6 was good and I hope you stay with us everytime you find yourself in the Merced area.

Reviewed 24 November 2014

We have stayed her before and didn't like it But this time we decided to try again and it had been updated and was much better. if we hadn't decided to try again we wouldn't have known they did remodels. Our service was excellent and Taj was very professional . Would defiantly recommend ,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jena C
Lilly K, General Manager at Motel 6 Merced, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us another chance after a not so pleasant stay in the past. We have been recently remodled and will be posting pictures of our updated rooms soon. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope to see you again soon.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merced hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
4.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
0.8 km away
America's Best Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
1.2 km away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
412 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 8.0 from UC Merced and 80 miles from Yosemite National Park. Our rooms offer air conditioned accommodations and a seasonal pool with loungers. Free morning coffee is available in the lobby. Featuring cable TV with extended channels. WiFi in every room. Select rooms feature refrigerators and microwaves. Ironing Boards, Irons, and Coffee Pots available upon request. Wake calls available.We are located within walking distance to several fast food places. As well situated across from a really nice sit down Italian restaurant and an authenic Mexican restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Merced

Address: 1983 E Childs Ave, Merced, CA 95341-5348
Region: United States > California > Merced
Price Range: RM252 - RM319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Merced 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Merced
Super Eight Merced
Merced Super Eight
Merced Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Merced staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room without a working girl next door if you want sleep or you're easily woken by bedroom antics.”
 of 5 bubbles kenh743, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to see the room before renting and inspect it closely.”
  • Bedspread in room
 of 5 bubbles catmorr, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check the room before you pay and hold your nose in the halls”
 of 5 bubbles michaeljC7440LL, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Facing the front . . . ask for a room on the east building and ground floor where I believe it is quieter. It's the building I stayed in.”
 of 5 bubbles JorgeS739, 20 May 2016 | Read review
“Skip this Motel 6”
 of 5 bubbles LACATraveler, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5