We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colton Inn

0.6 km from Monterey centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 443: English reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in Monterey and booked the Colton inn counting on it's good reputation in Booking.com, and it was really good experience, the staff are really nice, the room is big and comfortable, the breakfast is good and fresh. Great hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liorbr
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was great to have you stay with us. I hope to see you again on your next trip to Monterey.

Wollaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Just spent a couple of nights here - we had a room with 2 queen beds which was huge. Very friendly and helpful staff - good breakfast and cookies/tea/coffee available during the day. You could eat outside for breakfast which was fine, the lobby area where the breakfast was served is very small - a little difficult to juggle a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NorthantsAquababe
Decatur, IL
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Very charming hotel, Ellen, the general manager was very friendly and helpful. They set out a very nice continental breakfast and tea and coffee and fruit and cookies were available all day. Just a little extra something. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. We loved the location, were able to walk to dinner and to Fisherman's Wharf. We would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denjan1
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, it's a joy to make our guests feel welcome and to make sure they get the most out of their stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Monterey, safe travels and have a wonderful day :)

Okoboji, Ia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Wonderful rooms-fireplaces-outdoor deck area with grills and privacy. Nice complimentary breakfast. Wished we could have stayed here the whole week and skipped heading north! Lots of information on area attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 681jeanannm
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jean, it sure sounds like you have to come back and explore some more. Thank you for choosing us for your stay, till next time and have a great day :)

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Colton Inn is clean and tidy with big rooms - free on site parking which is perfect if you are driving. Reception is friendly and helpful with providing a map - and we are only 5 minutes walk away from the restaurants, 10 mins from the wharf. Free complimentary breakfast which actually was quite nice with a variety of selection....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia C
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Hi Celia, thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again next time you visit beautiful Monterey. Wishing you a wonderful day :)

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Worse hotel I've ever been to. They double charged me and not only that my account over draft like $300+. First of all, they blamed the bank.. So we waited till Monday to call my bank and they was responsible for it. Not only that but they wouldn't admit at first that it was their mistake.. Later on I receive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevin g
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, On Sunday July 17th after you checked out you called to let us know that you were charged 2x for your night stay. I couldn't see a 2nd charge and asked you to please wait till Monday morning so that I could check with our processor. You kept calling. You were impatient and rude. I had to ask...

Harwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good location and room was fine. We had an issue with our rental car failing to start on the morning of our departure which resulted in a 5 hour delay in leaving. To cut a long story short, the lady on reception reluctantly let me use their phone to call for assistance as I was having issues with my mobile...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daveuk776
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 18 August 2016

There are basically two types of hotels - The hotel itself is a part of your trip (such as resort) or the hotel is just a place to take a rest (sleeping, taking shower etc ...). The Colton Inn is obviously NOT a fancy or luxurious hotel that you need to pay a few hundred dollars per night - You...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sukgeun C
Reviewed 13 August 2016

A lovely hotel close to the main pier/town (about 10 minute walk). Room was very clean and even though we had booked a family room expecting 2 double/queen beds this had a futon that was made up so our sons didn't have to share a bed. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We couldn't seem to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
Ellen R, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review

Hi Melanie, Thank you so much for you great review, I'm so glad you had a great time staying with us. We hope to see you again on your next vacation. Safe travels :)

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Upon arrival there wasn't anyone at the front desk. I stood around for a few minutes before someone came only to rudely say that I will need to wait 25-min until 3pm to check in because room inspections were being done. Left and came back after 3pm, and this time I still had to wait for someone to show up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mstlvk9s

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#23 of 55 in Monterey
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,103 reviews
1.3 km away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
756 reviews
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#26 of 55 in Monterey
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: RM482 - RM968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colton Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
San Marcos, California, United States
5 months ago
Campbell, California
over a year ago
Campbell, California
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Colton Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are noisy lifts to contend with so try and get a room that is far from them.”
 of 5 bubbles PROBERTSON2014, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved Room 214 for its size and able to view the street and parking area.”
 of 5 bubbles Marvintm009, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room looking out at the trees and brook 2nd or 3rd floor”
 of 5 bubbles daylej2015, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rear rooms are away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles melaniep859, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms on the back side of the hotel don't face a street and have tree views.”
  • White gunk floating in the tub before even stepping foot in the tub to take a shower.
  • Tub faucet handle loose from tile.
  • Rusty bathroom door hinge
  • Bathroom ceiling
 of 5 bubbles Mstlvk9s, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5