We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey

Save
Share
2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
Traveluro
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (113)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (184)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 14/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#35 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey is non-smoking and has 55 newly-renovated rooms rooms ranging from standard accommodations to suites. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, a 32" LED TV, a microwave, mini-refrigerator, in-room coffee, a hair dryer, an iron and ironing board. Enjoy quality time with the family in one of our two Family Suites offering two king-sized beds, a living area with a fireplace and two 32" LED TV's. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. We also offer an on-site snack machine, soda machine and ice machine and feature a cafe shop conveniently located on our lot. Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey has ample parking able to accommodate any size vehicle. We also have an onsite RV Park which includes hook-ups ranging from electric 120v line, water, cable and septic station for all RV guests. One family pet per room is welcome.
Read more

Location

Full view
37Car recommended
Grade: 37 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
2227 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5404
Getting there
Monterey Peninsula Airport1 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
520Reviews7Q+A77Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 127
  • 89
  • 36
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eric M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! We were not given an ADA accommodation as asked for when booking and then when we got to our room, there were ants every where. Maintenance did come out one time to take care of it but they only made it worse. At 10:30, I had to have someone come out again as there was literally an infestation of ants in my room. When I went to the office, the morning manager was fully aware already of the ants and very apologetic. I told her there was no way I was going to pay for the room due to being up all night with my kids. She offered me a full refund with an apology. I felt better about the situation then, but now I'm finding out they only refunded me 15% of my room charge. I called and spoke to the manager and she actually told me that I should have checked out of the room at 10:30 at night and gone somewhere else. She actually said to me, "...There are plenty of other hotels in the area; you could have found somewhere else to stay." Sorry, but packing up my 2 kids, 87 year old Mom and all our stuff at 10:30 at night and searching for a hotel didn't seem like an great option. She also said they record the lobby and when I asked her to go back and review the tape, she refused to do so. I asked that if she was sure she said 15%, then go back and watch the tape. She told me she didn't have time to deal with me as she had other guests to worry about. I asked to speak to the owner and she said I could only email him as he doesn't speak to guests, then she hung up on me before giving me the email address. Comical and the worst customer service experience. From front to back! The worst stay ever!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback however, I am sorry for the inconveniences. This is not the kind of experience we strive to offer to our guests. We work hard to provide 100% guest satisfaction, but it’s apparent in your case that we fell short. I ensure that your feedback will be given to the front desk management and appropriate actions would be taken to ensure the highest level of hospitality. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience. Sincerely, Red Roof Inn Management
Read more
Anne F wrote a review Jul 2021
los altos,ca68 contributions44 helpful votes
We booked this because of their very generous pet policy. 1st pet free and 2nd pet $25. That is the best feature of the motel. I do NOT recommend booking what they call a "suite" which is at the back of the property in a separate building which looks out on the parking lot and right next to the trash dumpster. ( Trash will get picked up early a.m right outside yr door.) Our room had shutters but no curtains so we couldn't get it very dark. We had to have the a/c running the whole time even though it was 65 outside, because we could not get cool air into the room. I didn't expect it to be great, but it was depressing, expecially in a beautiful place like Monterey. If you do have a dog and need to walk it, you will not find any grass anywhere in the vicinity. Try to avoid this place if possible. One positive note was that the beds were comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Responded 8 Jul 2021
Dear Anne, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are glad to note that you appreciated our generous pet policy and also our comfortable beds. I will certainly speak to our management to discuss your feedback and ensure we take the appropriate actions. However, if you had made a call to our front desk while you were here, your concerns could have immediately been solved by our staff. Thank you for staying at the Red Roof Inn and Suites! Sincerely, Red Roof Inn Management
Read more
Nancy G wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Maria at the front desk was super nice and helpful. She made us feel WELCOME. The room was clean and comfortable and affordable. We would recommend this little gem. If your in the area and need a place to sleep go Red Roof.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Responded 23 Mar 2021
Dear Nancy, What a lovely review! Reviews like yours are what keep us going the extra mile to deliver our best and provide 100% value and quality services at all times. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to leave such a detailed review of your stay with us, and the information that you have provided will be beneficial for travelers who may be considering a stay with us. We also appreciate you personally recognizing Maria for her hospitality and willingness to accommodate your needs. We hope everything was in order, and you had easy access to your essentials. Thank you for your continued patronage. It was a pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you back many more times in the future. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Rachelle wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Monterey but this one by far is the best. Super clean huge rooms.. Great service up front. If you have a big family choose this hotel. Very close to shopping we loved it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Responded 16 Mar 2021
Hey Momo, We are always pleased to receive feedback from our guests in relation to their stays with us, and we are delighted with your rating and comments - thank you very much. It feels great to know that so many aspects of your visit pleased you so much, and the information that you have provided will be beneficial for travelers who may be considering a stay with us. You had the experience that we strive to provide for each of our guests, and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Senars wrote a review Nov 2020
8 contributions12 helpful votes
DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Mary at the front desk is the worst! she's like an aunt but replace the a with a C! I traveled 3.5 hours to get there and it was the worst hotel experience. I went to the room (didn't even bring my luggage up yet) and it smelled like mold the walls looked dirty and the paint was peeling everywhere. The room looked NOTHING like the photos so I immediately went downstairs and asked to cancel. Mary said I would be able to cancel my room just to call the third party company I paid with. I did that and when it came down to it Mary when back on her word! I didn't even bring my luggage upstairs yet they wanted me to pay for the room?! That's how you know the business isn't worth anything when they try to make you pay anyway because they know their establishment is a SCAM!!! Even the "owner" of the place wasn't trying to help me out. I waited to speak with the third party I booked with for 2 HOURS just for Mary to back out of it. This place is NOT LEGITIMATE and I DO NOT RECOMMEND! You can try carmel mission inn which is BEAUTIFUL! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME BOOKING WITH THIS PLACE!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Other at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hello, Thank you for your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds like we did not achieve our goal on this occasion. We are disappointed with the feedback on our unfriendly staff; we aim for awesome customer service, and we do not tolerate rudeness from our team. We will look into the matter and have corrective measures in place. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we have taken all your observations on board for the betterment of the guest experience. We will also review in detail all of the other comments with our team, and we will investigate what actions we can take to improve our future guests' experiences with us. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have another chance to change your perception and delight you with the top-notch stay that the vast majority of our guests usually have with us. Kind regards, Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Cypress Tree Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Lanes (0.2 km) and Laguna Grande Regional Park Trail (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monterey's Fish House, Breakfast Club, and Black Bear Diner.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cannery Row (4.3 km), Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.5 km), and Perry House (3.5 km).
Is Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.