We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arbor Inn - Monterey

Show Prices
#39 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of The Arbor Inn - Monterey
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean and cheery room with sink area separated from toilet/shower area. All the basics provided. Friendly staff. Breakfast was not provided but that's okay - we planned to eat at Rosine's anyway. Comfortable nights sleep with fluffy pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice and simple review . We are delighted to know that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the room . Please do visit us again .

McHenry, IL
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were only in Monterey for one night so we were only looking for a place to sleep. The price reflected the location. It was a short drive to shops and restaurants. Because the price was low for the area, we knew what to expect. The room was small but clean. It is a motel so our car was right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeyWester01
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had called prior to booking to ask if there was a deep tub and were told yes. However, the tub is smaller than most in home tubs. Plus, the stopper did not work so the tub could not even be filled. Water pressure on the shower was a joke. "Luxury toiletries " were 2 very tiny bottles, 1 shampoo/conditioner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

We are sorry for the inconvenience you faced . The tubs are standard tubs and because of the city regulations about water usage the stoppers have been taken out . All the amenities are standard in the room and if you had asked the front desk they would gladly provide more . We do have ample parking . We do...

Saint-petersburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

(+) Nice cozy hotel. I have nothing to compare with - I've never stayed in "Inn", the motel type of the hotel, but I supposed it would much worse. The room was really big, had a wardrobe, big TV, table (but no chair), free toiletries, clean and good shower, powerful conditioner, huge comfortable bed. (-) The booking confirmation said that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irina A
Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was ok but car park is outside the door and we could hear people upstairs through the ceiling. My biggest gripe was they added a $10 service charge as well as tax, making the room not great value. It's quite a long walk to town so not a great location unless Yu want to drive. The fridge was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience but the parking is set like that and we do not advertise as downtown property . Cannot avoid tax and service charge too .

Roatan, Honduras
Reviewed 15 February 2017

nothing great about this hotel it was a bit dingy and could use an update, but it was clean, and breakfast was provided in the low price, given the chance again I would have paid more to stay somewhere a bit nicer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DetourRoatan
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for your review . We are in the process to renovate our motel which takes some time . Please do not hesitate to stay with us again .

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 7 February 2017

room is spacious and clean, bed is ok, washroom is clean, no noise issues decor is outdated and not much to look at out the window but for the price you pay at least the essentials are there area is good pretty close to the main attractions parking is free

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samir46
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for you nice review . We are in the process of updating our rooms . Please visit us again .

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The hotel building has that feel of a 1940s board house, which for us was attractive. Be prepared for the smell of curry when your enter the reception area. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. There are no elevators, so if you on the top floors be prepared to work hard lifting those cases to the room. The room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review . We are glad that your stay here was to your liking . The smell in the lobby was from the aromatic air fresh . Please visit us again .

Reviewed 22 January 2017

The room was modern, nice and very clean. It included a fridge, microwave and other basic facilities. Spacious rooms and clean bathrooms. Good service. For the price, it was quite a good room. Good option for extended stays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kulandai Anand B
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

We do really appreciate your simple and great review . We do our best to make our guest stay worthwhile . Please do visit us again and book directly on our web site . Thank you .

Netanya, Israel
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The hotel is well located, rooms are decent, and one member of staff was lovely... BUT Another member of staff was very rude - we had an Emotional Support Animal (small dog) staying with us - one staff member insisted on charging us for a pet in the room (and I quote) "because it doesn't provide any real service". He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
Jay P, Manager at The Arbor Inn - Monterey, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience you face at check in . According to ADA rules emotional pet are not counted as service animals , so the staff member was just letting the guest know about is . Sorry once again .

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#48 of 55 in Monterey
56 reviews
0.0 km away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#53 of 55 in Monterey
310 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Arbor Inn - Monterey

Address: 1058 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4513
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Price Range: RM335 - RM998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arbor Inn - Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arbor Inn - Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Monterey-Munras Hotel Monterey
Monterey Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arbor Inn - Monterey staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Arbor Inn - Monterey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast no longer offered as of October 2016”
 of 5 bubbles matthewhL392UM, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is number 1 in Monterey Ca”
 of 5 bubbles cindyshaw0823, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most of the rooms face the parking lot, so if you want to be secluded choose a corner room.”
 of 5 bubbles deej713, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles h7tree, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles Hamid42, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5