We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Traveluro
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (787)
Room & Suite (412)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Monterey Bay Inn
Updated 07/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Massage
Newspaper
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
1836Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,129
  • 491
  • 132
  • 51
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Remodel Please!! wrote a review 7 Oct
11 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
My first impression of this place was wow!! What a great location! Its right next to a hotel that charges $900 a night so I'm thinking this place is trying to give the high priced hotel a run for their money but I was wrong. The place has been remodeled but I couldn't tell what got done. It is right next to the park where the scuba divers unload and dive. The problem I felt with the park was people were hanging out in the park at all times of the night and many were not visible as the park is pretty dark at night. My room faced the park and I would see people appearing out of the dark walking around, possibly homeless. My guess is there is no curfew on the park which leaves it open for anyone to sit there and view you in your room without even being seen. Whatever the case, its not the hotels fault but it is a concern. Nobody was masked in the hotel but everyone in the businesses in town were. Next I was offered a parking permit to park in their garage which had no gates on either end. They informed me they had cameras. I told them I would park on the street but if I change my mind, I will let you know. They said to take this parking permit and if you decide to park there, someone will take inventory of the cars with the permit and charge you for it on your way out. I never stayed in the garage and I think you know what I'm going to say next. When I went to pick up my bill, I had a charge for the parking! I asked them what happened to the person that was supposed to check to see who stayed in there and I was told they were not for sure! It took over a week or so before that charge got corrected but they did make it right with me. Check in was fast and the front desk staff were great! I noticed that they mentioned in their ad that they have spa services! We were excited to get massages and relax. We were told that the facility they use is actually not on site but several miles away in town! What a bummer! Ok, now the room. The room size is awesome! I was quite surprised to see that there was plenty of space and a balcony! But as I started to look closer, the disappointment started to settle in. Things appeared to not be clean and damaged. Lets start with the air conditioner. There is none. Well, actually the unit that use to work is still on the wall. Apparently, in the remodel, there must of not been enough cash to remove the old one so they tell everyone they don't have one even though is right in plain view in your room! They said we would get a great breeze if we opened the sliding door...the same one that faces the park with people creeping around in the dark. We did it anyway because we get hot at night. We burned up as there was no breeze to be found and no air to turn on! Now, I'm starting to get upset with my choice. The nights sleep was rough. The bed was very comfortable however so a plus for the hotel. Inside the hotel, they had a hot tub! It was great to soak in that and we were pleased so nothing bad at all with that. One drawback is its surrounded by all 4 concrete walls so its more on the private end, no view. If you want a view while in the hot tub, you will have to go to the high end hotel next door. I will provide photos so you can actually see what I'm talking about. Even with all this going on, we STILL want to believe in this place. If they repair and remodel again, they will be a great choice for a less expensive option. So if I'm low on money, I will be back. I paid $600 for one night stay so I just expected more.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't get the rooms facing the park!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded yesterday
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and regret this made you think less of our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of the beds and the hot tub; we appreciate all your feedback and will share this with our staff. We truly hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back, so we may demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more relaxing and positive experience. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
Smokeyham wrote a review Sep 2021
California183 contributions157 helpful votes
The location is very good. Slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the main part of Cannery Row, this hotel is a bit quieter, and the location is good for walking to either Cannery Row or Fisherman’s Wharf. Both are about 10 minutes’ walk away. The hotel is not cheap. We paid a total of $521.05 for one night in an “ocean view” room that is right over the water. The basic room rate was $439 with the difference being the cost of parking ($24/night) as well as taxes and fees. This was for a weeknight in late September. Somewhat cheaper rooms that look out over the nearby beach and park are available. Since our prior visits the mattresses seem to have been replaced with lower, and harder, ones. I did not have a good night’s sleep on the new mattress. The rest of the room was pleasant and clean. The bathrooms are nicely decorated and practical. Breakfast is included. This consists of fruit, pastries, one yoghurt and one boiled egg for each guest. Coffee and other drinks are also available. A newspaper used to be delivered with the breakfast, but this is no longer included. You fill out a card before bed with breakfast choices and each item is either “yes” or “no” for both guests. Small touches such as note pads, corkscrews with the hotel’s name, coffee service, etc. have been removed from the rooms. Some of this may be Covid-related and hopefully they will return in the future. The open-air hot tub on the top floor was open and was very enjoyable. The hotel rooms are not air conditioned. California, even on the coast, can have some very hot weather especially in the months of August through mid-October so you should consider the weather forecast before booking or consider moving to the Monterey Plaza Hotel down the street if a heat wave is predicted.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: If choosing a room with a view of the nearby beach/park then choose a room with a higher number...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded yesterday
Hello, Thank you for your review and comments. We apologize for any issues you may have experienced and regret this made you think less of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team. We are glad to hear you had an overall good time staying with us and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more enjoyable experience. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
Elizabeth M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution4 helpful votes
We stayed in the most expensive room in the hotel as a splurge for our only night alone without the kids in two years. The fireplace, view, jacuzzi tub were amazing and the location is great. There was a charger for our car and the place was well cleaned. Aside from that, the terrible, terrible state of the bed and furniture made the room worth half of what we paid for it. The front desk woman was brazenly unmasked, which I’m pretty sure is illegal. Our morning beverages arrived cold. I can’t say enough about how horrible and old the bed, bedding, and furniture in the room was. Really a shame. Management must fix this immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded yesterday
Hi Liz, Thank you for the review and comments. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We have an entirely new bedding program for the entire hotel. Due to supply line issues, the mattresses and bed linens have been greatly delayed. We are looking forward to receiving them and making these improvements to our guestrooms as soon as we are able. In regards to face coverings, currently, Monterey County does not have a face mask mandate. We follow the directive that non-vaccinated employees are required to wear a mask and fully vaccinated employees/guests have the option to wear one. We regret that this perhaps made you feel uncomfortable. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the fireplace, jacuzzi and our location. We truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back so we may demonstrate our commitment to providing you with a more comfortable experience. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
Elaine P wrote a review Aug 2021
Richboro, Pennsylvania4 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed a night to visit Monterey. Hotel was conveniently located to the shops but not too close to the crowds. Situated Right on the water to enjoy the sounds and view of the bay and ocean. It is next to park and enjoyed a long morning stroll. Rooms were as expected and clean. Continental breakfast in room very good and fresh. Reasonably priced.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded yesterday
Hello, Thank you for the review and comments. We're so glad to hear you had a pleasant time staying with us, as well as enjoyed our location and views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Inns of Monterey Management
Read more
Allison M wrote a review May 2021
Los Angeles, California50 contributions30 helpful votes
This hotel has a wonderful location right next to San Carlos Beach, near cannery row. While the hotel is a little dated, the rooms are well appointed, the bathrooms are more modern with separate wc and dual vanity. The bed was very comfortable. Check in and check out was easy. The on site hotel parking was plentiful and safe for $24. The balcony view of the bay is wonderful. The sea lions barking on the nearby pier is a lovely novelty. Unfortunately the hot tubs were closed due to Covid, but they have great locations on the 2nd and 4th floors. Breakfast was included and delivered to my room each morning. Would definitely return to this hotel for the comfort, friendliness of staff, and location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Inns of Monterey, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Hi Allison, Thank you for the wonderful review and comments. We're so glad to hear our staff was very helpful and that you had a comfortable time staying with us, as well as enjoyed our location, balcony views, beach atmosphere and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$164 - US$437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
monterey bay hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monterey Bay Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Cannery Row Monument (0.4 km), Cannery Row Antique Mall (0.3 km), and California Sea Otter Game Refuge (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monterey Bay Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Monterey Bay Inn?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wave Street Cafe, Crystal Fish, and Schooners Monterey.
Are there any historical sites close to Monterey Bay Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (7.8 km), Cannery Row (0.6 km), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (0.8 km).
Does Monterey Bay Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Monterey Bay Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.