We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
300 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2418
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
5 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save up to 25%!
Booking.com
US$229
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/12/21
Official Hotel
US$229
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$205
View deal
Expedia.comUS$211
Hotels.comUS$211
ZenHotels.comUS$242
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (302)
360
Panoramas (56)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Pacific
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#25 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Pacific is a boutique hotel conveniently located in downtown Monterey, California just steps away from the Monterey Conference Center and walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row and other top area attractions. Hotel Pacific offers luxury all-suite accommodations with fireplaces, free wireless internet access, patios and balconies, microwave ovens, refrigerators, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments, luxurious feather bedding and unique vacation packages, Hotel Pacific is the perfect hotel choice for your next romantic weekend getaway, vacation or business trip to the Monterey Bay area.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Windsurfing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Fishing
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Book Direct & Save up to 25%!
1296Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 564
  • 414
  • 186
  • 85
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pointsgirl wrote a review 12 Oct
Tucson, Arizona52 contributions38 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel over the past 23 years and kept returning because we loved the location, spacious rooms, amazingly soft beds, delicious breakfast and lovely wine and cheese happy hour. Unfortunately some of our favorite features are gone. The location and spacious rooms remain, but the delicious breakfast is gone replaced by a weak "snack bag" with prepackaged food and a small apple. We have been traveled multiple times in the last 6 months and this is the only hotel that didn't bring back their breakfast. Also gone is the wine and cheese happy hour. The rooms are beginning to show their age and the bed is comfortable but not the puffy soft beds that were here. We are really sad to see this unique property is not the same place we have always enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Pete923 wrote a review Feb 2020
Boca Raton, Florida91 contributions53 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I was in Monterey for two nights on business and wanted to stay away from the larger hotel chains so I gave this place a try. The rooms looked inviting on their website and the offseason rate considering the location was hard to believe. I checked in and immediately loved the place. I got a lot of use out of the fireplace in the room chilling out at the end of the day with a drink and my tunes going through my Bose speaker. It was quite a comfortable room and the property was set up really nice. So glad I didn't stay in a standard hotel room elsewhere. Sure, it could use a "little' bit of TLC but I overlooked the little things others may have mentioned. Overall, this was a fantastic place to stay and I wish every place I traveled to had options like this, This really was the first. My only suggestion is that they should add a microwave to the breakfast area. If I ever come back to Monterey, I'm definitely staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Rebecca E wrote a review 10 Oct
San Anselmo, California15 contributions3 helpful votes
Looks are deceiving. Online it looks adorable and charming. Sure, you can tell it’s older but I dig charming. This isn’t charming. No AC, the TV channels are super fuzzy/unclear with only local cable shows (what is this the 90’s??) , mold on walls, two huge water pockets in our room, disgusting old carpets, and an overbearing smell of bleach that stuck the whole weekend despite leaving windows open. Hotel staff are rude and annoyed by you, like okay excuse me for checking in or out jeez. My big issue is that it cost us over $900 for two nights and I’m sorry this place is no where worth that much for the above mentioned crap they offer.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Stevan wrote a review 5 Oct
Fresno, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were pleased with the hotel overall except for a few things such as parking is very risky. I was so afraid of having my Tesla damaged I made sure to keep checking the cameras. My biggest gripe is I could hear everything outside my door. Those doors need to updated with something more sound proof and sealed. Also the floor tiles outside the door do not help whatsoever. My goodness it’s loud.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware parking spots are extremely small. I noticed several cars blocked in.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Karel Fernandez, Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for completing our online survey. I would like to take the time to apologize for the negative experience that you had while staying with us. We try to maintain a quiet and peaceful facility,however some types of noise are outside of our control. Our goal is to always provide comfortable accommodations at a great value for our guests. Had our front desk staff been made aware of any challenges that you were experiencing during your stay, We certainly would have been happy to address them at the time to ensure our goal is reached. Should you ever decide to return to the Monterey area, we would very much appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you again.
Read more
Alexandra A wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
It's really too bad because this hotel has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, it is run down and not well-maintained or cleaned. I was there to celebrate my birthday and retirement and really wanted something special. I should have taken the bad reviews more to heart. The common areas look as though they haven't been swept or mopped for a while and the greenery needs to be trimmed. When I got to my room it looked nice on the inside. One of the first things I noticed was a sign next to the fireplace that said "Light at your own risk"! I'm thinking, what kind of place is this? The television was not clear...very bad picture quality. I went to use the restroom and noticed soap scum from the top of the glass shower door all the way to the bottom and what appeared to be cleanser residue in the shower, outside the shower and all along the baseboards! Totally unacceptable to me. I was thirsty so I went to find ice. They had informed me in the lobby that there was no ice machine on my floor but on the second floor there was one. When I found it, there was a big sign that said "Out of order". I was stunned because I had read that was a problem in the reviews but I figured by the time I got there, it would be fixed. So I just went to the lobby with my ice bucket and they immediately got me some ice (never said where they got it). I didn't even have to ask for it...they saw the bucket in my hand and knew, lol! Anyway, I was sooooo tired I lay down for a bit and when I awoke, the noise level in that place is off the charts (another item mentioned in the reviews). I was just distraught and didn't want to spend the rest of my vacation there. Also it was farther from Cannery Row than I expected and I didn't have a car so I needed convenience. So at 1:30 a.m., I contacted another hotel in the area. Not only did they have a room more suitable, they said they would come and pick me up right then and there and bring me to their place!!! When I arrived, the fire was going in my room AND I had a full bucket of ice, lol!!! A full view of the Bay and so incredibly quiet. Beautifully maintained property and wonderful, helpful, staff. I didn't have to lift a finger for anything. I'm glad I switched from Hotel Pacific. And they still charged me for the full night even though I didn't stay. I would NEVER recommend it and will never go there again. It's a shame because you can tell it is a beautiful place if they would just fix it up a little. Whoever owns/manages it is just in it for the money. Well, I made my contribution and I hope my review will save you the money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just don't go here..please. It's just not good at all in my opinion.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Karel Fernandez, Other at Hotel Pacific
Responded 2 weeks ago
I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention, and to apologize for the poor level of cleanliness and condition of your room that was encountered during your stay. This type of feedback is very important to and I assure you that it will be used to help ensure that this type of situation does not happen in the future at our hotel. I will be refunding the entire nights room cost of your stay, as this falls well short of our standards. Again, I apologize; and I hope that you would consider giving us another opportunity in the future to offer you a great hotel stay experience.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pacific hotel monterey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Pacific
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Pacific?
Nearby attractions include Old Fisherman's Wharf (0.4 km), Monterey State Historic Park (0.1 km), and Monterey History & Arts Association: Salvador DalÍ (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Pacific?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Pacific?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Pacific?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Pacific?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paris Bakery Cafe, Montrio Bistro, and Old Monterey Cafe.
Is Hotel Pacific located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Monterey.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Pacific?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Pacific offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Pacific?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (7.4 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (6.9 km), and Cannery Row (1.6 km).