We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monterey Fairgrounds Inn

Save
Share
2042 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/04/22
Hotels.com
US$249
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/04/22
Agoda.com
US$183
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/04/22
Booking.comUS$249
eDreamsUS$249
FindHotelUS$192
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (60)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

#57 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Monterey Fairgrounds Inn their motel of choice when visiting Monterey. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn, visitors can check out San Carlos Cathedral (1.4 mi) and Monterey Municipal Wharf 2 (1.6 mi), some of Monterey's top attractions.

Monterey Fairgrounds Inn is a budget friendly motel offering air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Monterey. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the steakhouses, including Old Fisherman's Grotto, Fish Hopper, and Whaling Station Steakhouse, all of which are a short distance from Monterey Fairgrounds Inn.

Should time allow, Cannery Row, Perry House, and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories are some popular historic sites that are relatively easy to get to.

At Monterey Fairgrounds Inn, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Monterey.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Free breakfast
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
156Reviews1Q+A22Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 17
  • 23
  • 20
  • 86
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Daphne M wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
Filthy windows, stained furniture and dirty floor. Poop splattered in toilet. No phone in room. $241 per night for this recently updated room and worth about $40. Yes there are worse rooms on the first floor where the “nearly homeless” people are living. No ice machine on premises.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Dear Daphne, We appreciate your feedback, many thanks. We are very sorry that so many aspects of your stay disappointed you. We will review all of your comments with our management team, and we will investigate what actions we can take to improve our future guests' experiences with us. Again, we really appreciate your constructive review. Best Regards, Monterey Fairgrounds Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Rm wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
This place is the worse hotel very!! And I mean ever!! The place was filthy, filthy the room was never clean. There was layers of dust , fecal matter on the side of toilet. Crumbs, dust on floor. It look like it has been sitting there for years without cleaning. The furniture filthy, I MEAN FILTHY!! The worse part l. I was charged 157. 62 cents and had to leave the hotel due to its severity of unhealthy conditions. As we walk in my eyes started itching. The smell worse then an actic smell. My son's asthma started acting up. The staff front desk was very nice I explain my reason of why we were living. The worse part was. Dirty mask left on the floor in a corner and tissue with who knows what. And also the worse part. I had try and try and try getting in touch with the owner for my FULL REFUND!!! he has not answered my emails. I was told by the front desk the owner would call me. Never call me. It has been 3 days. This is unacceptable. To charge someone for something you know was not clean. And keeping the money and not responding to any of my emails. I call the hotel and was told he would call me back. Well it hasn't happened. I am very angry and disappointed. Someone needs to investigate this property. I can't believe people actually stay in this hotel. Unbelievable dirty!! All over inside and out. It doesn't even deserve 1 start.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Other at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Responded 10 Jun 2021
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that many aspects of your stay made it very unsatisfactory for you. We appreciate your calling our attention to these matters - we will review each of your points and we will make sure these do not happen again. Guest satisfaction for us is highly rewarding, thus we value every feedback we get as it makes us improve better. Again, thank you for your thoughts, feedback, and constructive comments, it is highly appreciated. We would love it if you would come back to stay with us again - we have no doubt that the next time you would have the wonderful experience that the vast majority of our guests have. Best Regards, Monterey Fairgrounds Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Arlen G wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
What a horrible experience, booked on line for Labor Day weekend. I figured $166 per night was reasonable for a holiday weekend. Boy was I wrong, $40 would have been overpriced!!!! Door didn't even have strike plates so it could not be properly secured, looked like blood stain on wall, the tub/shower was so dirty and stained I wouldn't set foot in it fully clothed, holes punched in the walls, everything in the room was disgusting. Had it not been for clean bedding, I think I would have forfeited the charge to my card and looked elsewhere. Lessons learned the hard way stick in your mind but any agency that lists this as a place to stay should get out of the business. I will not be staying there ever again and I will not be using trip adviser in the future!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: There are no good rooms to choose from!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Other at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Responded 8 Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us with comments about your recent visit. While we are sad to hear that you did not experience the level of satisfaction that other guests usually have, we are glad that you pointed out the things that we can work on. Your comment about cleanliness is noted and we will see to it that our team does a better job preparing the area moving forward. We will also see what we can do about having some updates soon and improve on the maintenance issues. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we hope you consider staying with us again. Best Regards, Monterey Fairgrounds Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Deedee wrote a review Sep 2019
9 contributions1 helpful vote
When seeing road signs for fairgrounds thought this was upmarket and cost 250 dollars for two nights. Front looked nice with pretty flowers. Felt like a ghetto as dirty with rubbish in car park, two tables only to sit at for breakfast which was limited. Had to wipe own tables. Room was okay but sheets grey and towels poor. Safe didn’t work had to ask to open. Closet area poor. Dirty mat in shower. Bedside lamp switch broken. Thought Monterey was upmarket and for brits paying 125 each night for a motel was a bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Responded 22 Sep 2019
Hello Dorothy, Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you taking the time to leave us with comments about your recent visit. While we are sad to hear that you did not experience the level of satisfaction that other guests usually have, we are glad that you pointed out the things that we can work on. Your feedback about cleanliness is noted and we will see to it that our staff does a better job preparing the rooms moving forward. We will also see what we can do about having some updates to the property soon. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we hope you consider staying with us again. Best Regards, Monterey Fairgrounds Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
John L wrote a review Sep 2019
Oakland, California17 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
A score of zero should be allowed. This place was an absolute dump. I'll let the pictures speak for themselves. The kick in the gonads was the $250 we spent for a night during car week, booking on Hotwire last minute. Here's the short list of issues: - Blood on the walls - Mold in the bathrooms - Really stinky, small towels for the bathrooms - VERY dirty floors that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in years - All the racks which are suppose to hold towels or paper tissue were broken - Random furniture in the room - Random art, not hung, left on the floor or tables - VERY stained ironing board - Sheets did not fit beds - Lights didn't work - The only toiletry was 6 crappy bars of hand soap - nothing else I don't expect much from a crappy local inn, but of the 25 countries I've been to, including third world, this might be top worst place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Responded 11 Sep 2019
Dear John L, We are extremely sorry that we could not meet the expectations of a seasoned traveler like yourself. We aim to provide the best to our guests. However, it looks like that in this case, we have failed miserably. But we value your feedback and we will surely take it seriously to do the needful. It is shameful for us that you left without having a first-rate experience. Hence we request you to give us another chance to trust our hospitality and service. We aim to improve and do better for the sake of our customers so that we can provide them with enhanced customer experience. We hope this will not dissuade you from visiting us further! Sorry again! Best Regards, Monterey Fairgrounds Inn Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge monterey fairgrounds hotel monterey, econolodge monterey fairgrounds, monterey econo lodge
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Lanes (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monterey's Fish House, Black Bear Diner, and Monterey Cookhouse - Wood-Fire Cuisine.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Monterey Fairgrounds Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (7.6 km), Cannery Row (3.9 km), and Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.0 km).