We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Oceanside

937 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-2135
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/12/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/12/21
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (226)
Dining (8)


#4 of 31 hotels in Oceanside
Classic architecture with wrought-iron balconies meets contemporary style and amenities at our newly renovated hotel right on Highway 101. Each room features free Wi-Fi, a Flat-panel TV with HD channels and plug-and-play capabilities for your electronics, plush beds with triple-sheeted bedding, a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, and a spacious work desk. Some also have a four-poster bed and a fully equipped kitchenette, perfect for your vacation getaway. Grab a cup of coffee and enjoy a free Bright Side Breakfast with hot waffles, fresh fruit, and biscuits and gravy, among other goodies. Business services and guest laundry facilities are available. Well-behaved pets are welcome and parking is free.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken


Full view
85Good for walkers
Grade: 85 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
1Attractionwithin 0.5 km
544Reviews7Q+A59Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 275
  • 171
  • 54
  • 21
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lucas T. wrote a review 9 Oct
1 contribution
I travel for work, so I stay in hotels a lot. This is without a doubt the worst hotel experience I have ever had. Here’s some of it: The front desk person, a teenager without any training in hospitality and without manners, calls me 8pm at night to tell me my “stay was up” and my bags and all belongings are thrown outside the room. I have a receipt showing the right check out date. I tell her she’s mistaken. “Get your stuff,” she says. So I have to leave work and head to the hotel to clear this up. 20 minutes later she calls and tells me that she got the room numbers mixed up. This place hires capricious teenagers without any training and calls them “receptionists”. There was no breakfast at all. Nothing. Even though it’s supposed to be included in the price. We paid more than $800 for four nights. it was wasted money. There’s no amenities at all. No gym. The laundry in my floor wasn’t working. There was a leak in the ceiling of the first floor. This place is the worst hotel experience I’ve had. There’s many places to choose. Why choose an awful hotel?
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from Jerre Leahy, Owner at The Hotel Oceanside
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for being our guest. We are extremely concerned to read your comments and apologize for the issue you had with one of our associates. Our staff genuinely cares about providing an enjoyable stay for all of our guests, so this incident is not a reflection of our usual service standards. Appropriate action has been taken to ensure this is not repeated.
Read more
robcloutier wrote a review 3 Oct
Joshua Tree, California98 contributions22 helpful votes
We use to love staying at this hotel until the new manager policies went into affect. 1. When we checked in at 3:30 PM on Friday, the doors were locked. From the parking lot, we had to telephone the front desk to get the door open. 2. A $200 cash deposit is required on top of the room fees. 3. When we returned from dinner at 8:00 PM, the doors were locked again. 4. No breakfast was available for guests. 5. No coffee or drinking water was available in the lobby for guests. 6. The room must be inspected before checking out and receiving the $200 cash deposit back. 7. I emailed the manager twice within 24 hours without a response. We did not feel welcomed here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you have a $200 cash deposit to give to the front desk.
See more room tips
ashleydawn999 wrote a review Jul 2021
San Diego, California1 contribution
The carpet felt wet and the room and closet smelled dank and musty. Reminded me of the basement at my former house. Location is close to base and staff friendly but I wouldnt stay here again. There was no breakfast due to COVID so that didn't help.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Jerre Leahy, Owner at The Hotel Oceanside
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip. We are happy that our location was convenient for your needs, as was our staff. We greatly apologize for the smell in the room, and we have addressed this with our staff to make sure this doesn't happen again. We hope you allow us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Read more
Eric H wrote a review Jun 2021
Las Vegas, United States3 contributions
Competitive room rates, super clean, and very quiet. Is there a better combo?! There is no pool, but the beach, and harbor is a pleasant 10 minute walk away. Tons of restaurants, and walking/biking trails right there too. The hotel was SUPER quiet. I didn't hear any disturbing guests the entire time I was there. And it was hospital clean. No hyperbole there. I would recommend this place to anyone. MAYBE, the beds were not the most comfortable. I give them a 6/10. But that is a subjective opinion. Also would be nice if they offered some type of breakfast. I understand were are still in a COVID world in some ways. But some fruit, coffee, and some grab, and go items would be nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Jerre Leahy, Owner at The Hotel Oceanside
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Customer experience and satisfaction are our priorities. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Read more
Wanderer25582996937 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Convenient location, room is large and clean with microwave and a small refrigerator, friendly staff and good services. Well a $200 security deposit was required at check in, but was refunded later without any issue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Jerre Leahy, Owner at The Hotel Oceanside
Responded 2 May 2021
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We're glad our location was convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed your well-equipped room and our friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
US$91 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
la quinta inn oceanside hotel oceanside, la quinta oceanside, la quinta hotel oceanside, oceanside la quinta
La Quinta Inn by Wyndham San Diego Oceanside
United StatesCaliforniaOceanside
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Hotel Oceanside
Which popular attractions are close to The Hotel Oceanside?
Nearby attractions include Oceanside Pier (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hotel Oceanside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Hotel Oceanside?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Hotel Oceanside?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hotel Oceanside?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hotel Oceanside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Venetos, Harbor House Cafe, and In-N-Out Burger.
Is The Hotel Oceanside located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Oceanside.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hotel Oceanside?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Hotel Oceanside?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Hotel Oceanside?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Graves House (1.1 km) and St. Michael's by-the-Sea Episcopal Church (5.5 km).
Is The Hotel Oceanside accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.