We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harbor Inn & Suites

1401 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-1009
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/12/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/12/21
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (12)


#17 of 31 hotels in Oceanside
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
0Attractionswithin 0.5 km
395Reviews3Q+A88Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 89
  • 67
  • 38
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Brandi M wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
This property was not only filthy the owner or manager was rude, unhelpful, and verbally aggressive. The vents had not been cleaned in forever with years worth of grime built up. Burns on the sheets in a non-smoking room, no coffee, and a closet that reeked of urine. Trying to speak reasonably with the front desk got us no where. Turning them in to the BBB and the health inspectors. Don't stay here if you don't want a sinus infection.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Room Tip: Dirty no matter where you stay.
See more room tips
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Harbor Inn & Suites
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Thank you for being our guest. It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and your stay was less than satisfactory. We are taking appropriate steps to ensure future guests do not encounter the same issues. We hope you will accept our apologies and consider giving us another chance to show you the outstanding service that we typically provide.
Read more
Roberta B wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
This was a very disappointing experience. The room was small. The beds were hard. There was hard wooden chair with legs and cross bar that appeared to have been chewed by a dog. The paint was peeling. There was a constant drip from the bath tub faucet and a noisy refilling of the toilet tank throughout the night. The host was curt and discourteous. Pictures of the hotel were completely deceptive.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Harbor Inn & Suites
Responded 17 Jun 2021
We're sorry to hear this. We have shared your concerns with the General Manager in order to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your business and we hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Read more
John G wrote a review Jun 2021
Newcastle, Washington45 contributions15 helpful votes
Hotel near rr tracks and freeway, so some noise, but not bad. Room clean, good bed, good shower, a desk but with a broken down chair. Would stay there again. Refrigerator works, had a microwave. TV good, but remote touchy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Harbor Inn & Suites
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing about your visit. We truly value our guests' comments and concerns. Your recommendation is appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Read more
Happiness201997 wrote a review Jun 2021
Taos, New Mexico12 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms smelled and were extremely dirty. The front desk agent Debbie was rude and would not let me speak to manager. Dirty place, not acceptable. Did not want to refund money, could not stay here. The first room smelled like cigarettes and had disgusting who knows what on dresses. They moved us to a second room, it was just as dirty. The mattress had stains and smelled like urine. Extremely rude customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Harbor Inn & Suites
Responded 6 Jun 2021
Your feedback is very important to us and we have sent your concerns to the General Manager for their review.
Read more
Wendy B wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Warning to any families with babies or anyone with asthma. We entered our room and my friend started to have an asthma attack because of all the smells in this room. We had my grandchildren with us as well..... the carpets were so dirty, the light brown couch dark with grime. It smelled of cigarettes and mold. The carpets around the edges had so much dirt. We were here to see our daughter, who is a marine at the base. (First time we could see her in over a year due to Covid) The hotel kept $300 because we could not stay in the room with my friends asthma and the dirt and grime. Please avoid this place. The manager didn’t have the courage to speak with us, so that we had a chance to explain. They front desk woman who checked us in was so offended that we pointed out the dirt & grime, and smell. The comforters had several cigarette burns, but she said no one ever smoked in there. She became argumentative. When asked to see the manager. She said that he was unavailable. We had this room booked for almost 2 months. I trusted there website on how clean and safe it was. Be aware, it is not as advertised.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Jerre Leahy, Revenue Management at Harbor Inn & Suites
Responded 30 May 2021
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not provide you with a satisfactory stay and sorry to hear about your friend's asthma attack. I hope she's feeling better. Your comments will be sent to the General Manager for their review and, if necessary, will take appropriate actions to prevent these issues for our future guests.
Read more
US$67 - US$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
harbor inn & suites oceanside / san diego hotel oceanside, harbor inn and suites oceanside / san diego, travelodge oceanside san diego, travel lodge oceanside
United StatesCaliforniaOceanside
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harbor Inn & Suites
What are some of the property amenities at Harbor Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Harbor Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Harbor Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Harbor Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harbor Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Stratford at the Harbor, Harbor Fish and Chips, and Rockin' Baja Oceanside Harbor.
Are pets allowed at Harbor Inn & Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Harbor Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Graves House (1.7 km) and St. Michael's by-the-Sea Episcopal Church (6.1 km).
Is Harbor Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.