We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Sun Inn

Expedia.comUS$63*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$63*
US$96*
US$63*
US$65*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
Royal Sun Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I spent November 4 - 7, 2016 at the Royal Sun. I have stayed here in the past and have always found it friendly and convenient to downtown venues that are of interest to me. Downtown is just 1.5-2 miles on N Palm Canyon Dr. (Thursday through Sunday there is the stop in front of the hotel for the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drusso
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay.We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

I truly enjoy my stay here, I stayed in 306 over looking the mountain with over size balcony, king bed, microwave and refrigerator, room is big, bed is comfortable, I slept well, breakfast is decent, hotel is dated but is well kept is definitely better than motel 6, for the price I paid it was more than enough, I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oceanrfrizz
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words.so pleased that you found us pleasant and helpful. I hope you will tell others about our property and stay with us again the next time you’re in town. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We are return visitors to this motel. It certainly gives good value. The room was spacious and clean......the rooms could do with a little update though. The bed wss extremely comfortable. Breakfast is adequate. The location is very good as it is close to many attractions and general shopping needs. If a three and a half star rating was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RhellieKeith
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind comments. I’m so pleased that you find us a clean and pleasant place to stay. I’m glad we could satisfy you.We’ll be here for you when you need us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Kampen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to LA. Got to sleep in a big room with a huge kingsize bed. Had a very good sleep there. Nice pool area, very simple breakfast in the morning. The bathroom seemed old and the shower had little pressure. Some of the furniture had ripped upholstery but nothing too major. Good for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marahx
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us.I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay.We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay that you’re sure to like again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

St. Albert
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The Royal Sun is a cut below the Motel6/Super 8 quality of motels. The room was OK. Clean, spacious, quiet, good maid service, fridge and microwave. The Royal Sun web site lists a safe but there was not one in our room. Parking was convenient. We had little interaction with staff but they all seemed pleasant and friendly. Air Con...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret that we couldn’t completely satisfy you. I’m glad we could take care of things for you. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible...

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This was perfect for a long weekend in Palm Springs. Really cheap and on free trolley route with botanical gardens across the street. Nothing fancy or anything, but would stay there again if it is that cheap compared to everything else nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatthewM2001
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We sincerely thank you for providing us with the encouraging feedback. It is very important for us to know what our guests think of us and it affirming to have such positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. Also, we hope you will recommend us to your friends and families. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at The Royal Sun Inn many times and it really is a little gem, wonderful value in an expensive town. Each time we visit there has been a little more upgrading and this year see's new pool area furniture, USB sockets in the room and swipe entry key cards. I also thought the wifi had improved from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your stay and nice comment. It’s our pleasure to have you as your guest. Please do visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Burbank, California
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I decided to take my parents for a little vacation to Palm spring I am very very disappointed I wish I would have stayed some where else my parents are disabled so I asked the girl at front desk Janne if we could please have 2 room close by each other she was very rude person she said no I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrindavoodians
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. Our goal is to provide a consistently superior guest experience, and your comments are very important to us. We rely on guests like you to tell us when we’re doing well and when we aren’t so we can get better. If we let you down despite our efforts, I apologize. We have taken...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Very rude staff. Poor breakfast. Room quite spacious and comfortable bed. I would recommend it just for max couple of nights. We didn't pay much but our friends stayed in The Monroe Palm Springs and were much more happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rasyma88
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations because of some issue with our staff and because you didn't like the free breakfast. Still, I'm glad you would recommend our hotel. We take real pride in this hotel and believe that pride shows in everything we do. I’m disappointed that we could...

Reviewed 21 May 2016

Several reviews mention how run down and in need of renovation the hotel required. The owners are apparently listening as we have almost no complaints with our room on the second floor. We have a nice balcony overlooking the Moorten Botanical Gardens and beautiful mountain range. If you want a room overlooking the pool, you'll need to reserve a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark R
royalsuninnpalmsprin, Webmaster at Royal Sun Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m glad you had such a nice experience with us, and I sincerely thank you for your positive comments. We enjoy providing a great experience for all kinds of travelers, and I’m very pleased that you enjoyed being with us at our hotel. We’ll be here for you in the future if you visit the area again, and...

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
Vagabond Inn Palm Springs
#47 of 73 in Palm Springs
242 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Palm Springs
Quality Inn Palm Springs
#61 of 73 in Palm Springs
246 reviews
0.1 km away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stardust Hotel
Stardust Hotel
#12 of 23 in Palm Springs
56 reviews
0.3 km away
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
Motel 6 Palm Springs East
#68 of 73 in Palm Springs
91 reviews
0.5 km away
Musicland Hotel
Musicland Hotel
#23 of 23 in Palm Springs
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Sun Inn known as the “Best Kept Secret” in the desert, due to its ideal location in a quiet residential neighborhood, near the intimate Botanical Garden, away from the noise of the busy streets, yet conveniently situated to most attractions and the famous Downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Sun Inn

Address: 1700 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8937
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Price Range: RM305 - RM911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Palm Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Surprise, Arizona

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Sun Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the pool is nice but louder.”
RichardQ, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
282carolem, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the first floor. There is a lift (elevator).”
Tallbear55, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All of the balconies face the pool & courtyard as well as the mountains”
MandWK28, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“They have an elevator, so choose an upper floor room for great views of the mountains.”
642philipr, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$63
Hotwire.comUS$65
HotelQuicklyUS$96
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates