We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

This was such a fun place to stay. The "rooms" are actually two room canvass but very comfortable. When the wind blows the canvass does move, but when we were there the winds didn't last very long. The brochure says to turn the heaters on early to warm up the room, but it was not that cold when we stayed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob N
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Okay, this is an unusually long review for me but I have lots to say... Let me start by saying this was truly a unique experience that is unmatched anywhere in the surrounding areas. We found the B&B on Groupon, but booked over the phone due to lack of availability through Groupon. Unfortunately we were given little information about the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina B
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016

In passing I saw this place come up on a Groupon site. I thought...what the heck?! I took a screen shot and held on to this little pearl. You see, my daughter is a HUGE fan of elephants. They are her "spirit animal" she claims. So it was only natural for me to surprise her with a "birthday adventure" for... More 

Helpful?
Thank 714CaliGirl
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed for two days and loved every minute. The bungalows are authentic canvas tents made in Botswana and make you feel like you are on a safari....classy and comfortable! Having the elephants come in the morning to bring breakfast is special enough. We also did the VIP tour and washed Butch and had some really special photos taken. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMorganCMP
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice weekend getaway! Check in and enjoy the animal tour. Then grab some snacks before heading back to your bungalow for the animal walk. Grab some dinner and enjoy the beautiful sunset on the porch or sitting area. The animals are heard through out the night peaceful way to end the day. Tips: bring slippers, rooms do not have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I have so much to say, so bear (intentional pun) with me...... This was a long weekend we will never forget! Headline: You have to stay here if you're an animal lover! Our package included two nights in the Zebra Zone bungalow, Crunch Time, Butch's Bedtime and a VIP Tour. We enjoyed them all! Make sure to check in by... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlyn C
LaCrescenta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We are a family of four and stayed one night in tent 5 and 8. Both were clean on arrival and beds were comfortable. The night was chilly but the heaters in the tent worked well and we slept great. Lions could be heard throughout the night and that was neat. The elephant delivery was fun but rushed,I felt. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Daysie2300
California
Level Contributor
448 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2016

If you look at this place as a zoo with a B&B, you'll conclude the zoo is a little weak. But if you look at this place as a B&B with lots of exotic animals, it's truly awesome, and the experience will blow your mind! I can't recommend coming here just to do the zoo, but I can STRONGLY recommend... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim_and_Barbie
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2016

We had a reservation, but, had to cancel due a sudden illness with my wife. I understand the "strict cancellation policy"; exceptions are always made, depending on circumstances. We were not seeking a refund, just a different date. Staff was less - far less than accommodating and empathetic. We applaud their vision; we turn our noses at being so "firm"... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank O4257LWdave
FromOurManagement, Owner at Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

As this individual clearly states that they “understood our strict cancelation policy”, asking us to ignore it seems a bit unfair. Unfortunately for those who are truthfully suffering from such circumstances, we have found that over 80% of those asking us to waive our cancelation policy state the same reason while 10% are dealing with a death in the family... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is my first ever trip advisor review although I use it to do research all of the time. I just had to for this B&B. This place is amazing! Touching an elephant was on my boyfriend's bucket list and feeding tigers was on mine so we just had to experience this place. The grounds are well kept, clean and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Queen E

574 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (425)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (241)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
The Little Big Cat House (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salinas
15.5 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
246 reviews
24.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
755 reviews
26.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
1,572 reviews
24.5 km away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listen to the lions and tigers roaring only yards away from your authentic African style bungalow...go on an African Safari in Monterey! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast

Address: 400 River Rd, Salinas, CA 93908-9627
Region: United States > California > Salinas
Price Range: RM934 - RM1,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vision Quest Safari Hotel Salinas
Vision Quest Safari Bed And Breakfast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Sacramento, California, Usa
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Vision Quest Safari Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the bear's den, which had 2 double beds and was very roomy for 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles 986jennd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“giraffe manor, cat's house and leopard's lair offer the best views”
  • Our giraffe manor had lots of cute giraffe decor and furniture
 of 5 bubbles derezago, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay in a cottage overlooking the paddock for the best view.”
  • View of the paddock from our deck
 of 5 bubbles pioneergirl58, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Bears Den downside was farm workers music at 5 Hut 8 is directly in front and has the view of the elephant yard All huts are great!”
 of 5 bubbles 338MarilynG, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms away from the main road would be OK, but it B&B sells out fast.”
 of 5 bubbles 990BobN, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay