We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Cuesta Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Cuesta Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is quaint and cozy to stay in! There is a continental breakfast, which you can never go wrong with that. There are a ton of amazing movies to check out for free. Our room also had a balcony, and not many hotels have those any more. The location is incredibly close to downtown. Everything was clean and roomy...

Thank ToryEveryday
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

ToryEveryday, Thanks so much for the kind review! It's always good to hear that you enjoyed our facility - we hope that you are able to come again soon! Thanks again! Sincerely, Andrew A. Fabula Asst. General Manager

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We thought the room was clean and the beds comfortable. The AC worked just fine (see other review) and as a matter of fact, was really cold as my son froze us out! They have DVD's to "rent" for free - much better than buying a movie off the TV - so bring your own movie if you wish. They...

Thank Fran S
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Fran S, Thanks for leaving a review! I am glad you enjoyed our accommodations. It is our pleasure to offer comfortable amenities and a clean place to stay. Also, thanks for your comment about the DVD movies - we will look into adding some new titles! We hope to see you here again sometime, and thank you again for the...

Bakersfield, CA
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and i have stayed at the La Cuesta Inn several times over the past few years and have not been disappointed. It is located right off the freeway, the rooms are clean, and the staff is friendly. We will be back!

Thank PJohnson10
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

PJohnson10, Thanks much for the review! Thank you also for your loyalty to our hotel. We're glad to get feedback from our guests, and even happier to get good feedback from our repeat guests like yourself! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Andrew A. Fabula Asst. General Manager

Kerman, California, United States
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Major issue... I stayed here on the night of 4 July 2013 after enjoying the fireworks in Pismo. I had reservations so I knew there would be no issues obtaining a room. Arrived around 12:30am on the 5th of July and checked in with no problem. Went to room (410) for some much needed rest and it felt like a...

1Thank Mike F
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Mike F. Thank you for your comments, I am very sorry to hear that you left with such displeasure. This is not what we strive for at La Cuesta Inn, and we're sorry that you have the impression that we did not want to address the issue. While I did not go to the room with you at the time...

Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Traveling from Australia and our first time to SLO we were impressed at the level of service this hotel offered and the extra little touches such as free DVD rentals, cookies and cool drink everyday and a great selection of choices in the complimentary continental breakfast. There is also free parking which is a bonus when you have a hire...

1Thank Lil_Traveller123
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Lil_Traveller123, Thanks for the positive feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the town of San Luis Obispo. Please come and see us again soon! Sincerely, Andrew A. Fabula Asst. General Manager

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We attempted to stay at this hotel a few nights ago, but because we booked through Priceline, we were walked. In fact, I happened to glance at the list of people who were walked and it seems there were about 20 or more reservations that they overbooked (a page and a half or more). Maybe this is a Priceline issue,...

4Thank RinRin13
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

RinRin13, Thank you for bringing your frustrations to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this may have caused you and I understand that it is extremely offsetting to be in this kind of situation as a paying hotel guest. While it is highly uncommon for our hotel to be in an overbooking situation, due to a technical...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. Free DVDs to watch was a good perk. Downtown is fun, but the walk is about 20-25 minutes and not very well lit. Breakfast was plenty to start the day. Pool was heated and clean. Outside of that, it was all we needed.

1Thank Molly S
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Molly S, Thank you for leaving us a TripAdvisor review! It's good to hear that you were able to find everything that you needed here at the La Cuesta Inn. The downtown area is just 1 mile from us, however for some it is best accessed via car or even the Downtown Trolley that runs Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays during...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely room, clean and quiet. Very comfy bed. Breakfast was limited, so we ate down the road. Very cute town. Loved the water feature at the entrance. Helpful staff - quickly fixed a phone and DVD player which did not work. Free wifi was intermittent and staff unable to fix.

1Thank Catherine L
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

Hello Catherine L, Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at La Cuesta Inn! I'm sorry that you had an issue with the WiFi, we do record all comments regarding the WiFi to pinpoint any problems that may occur to better serve our guests. We certainly hope that you choose...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a nice hotel, good staff and nice rooms and bathroom. We didn't get up for breakfast as we'd had a few long days and decided to have a lie-in. We asked for directions to town centre and got all our options. It is a little bit outside the town centre, but a lot of the hotels seem to...

Thank CorkCouple
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

CorkCouple, Thanks for the review! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at La Cuesta Inn. It sounds like you were able to catch the SLO Trolley from the hotel down to the town center. During the summer it is running Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. We hope that you are able to return and enjoy another great...

Pinole, CA
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very easy access to the freeway, but not the noise. Most comfortable room and bed, ample breakfast. The staff was most helpful and agreeable, and this is much appreciated. We walked into the town center (15 minutes) where there are many choices for dinner. We'd return here.

1Thank JacMcFar
AFabula, Assistant General Manager at La Cuesta Inn, responded to this review

JacMcFar, Thank you for the review! We appreciate you sharing your experience with everybody, I'm glad you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and amenities. We hope that you are able to return and enjoy our hospitality! Thank you again! Sincerely, Andrew A. Fabula Asst. General Manager

400 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (38)
Room/Suite (13)
View from Room (3)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (2)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Bathroom (3)
Other (10)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Deluxe Double Queen Room (50)
Deluxe King Room (46)
Executive King Room (45)
Pool (23)
Dining (20)
Standard Queen Room (45)
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (66)
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
View from Room (1)
Room/Suite (7)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Dining (9)
Family/Play Areas (5)
Other (20)


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Cuesta is a boutique style hotel offering comfortable accommodations, conveniently located close to downtown, Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center. Free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and complimentary parking. Complimentary DVD library. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Cuesta Inn

Address: 2074 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2618
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Cuesta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cuesta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuesta Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel La Cuesta
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Cuesta Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from La Cuesta Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the elevator (ice machines there are noisy) and on the south end of the hotel facing Monterey Street -might be quieter.”
wendypel, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“clean, safe, and well priced”
Seredni, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Please avoid rooms close to the street.”
MikaelM749, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Left side of the hotel is Quieter as well as the backside.”
420halg, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The private gated rooms on the main road annexe.”
SheshG, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5