We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rose Garden Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 331: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I booked this hotel due to the fact that every other hotel in the area was really expensive and our group would only be there overnight. That scenario really would be the only reason you should decide to stay here. The hotel itself is dated, with the exception of a handful of rooms that are upgraded. Our room was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denjimenez
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear denjimenez, I am so sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. As you noted, the San Luis Obispo are is only getting more and more popular, and we are proud to offer some of the most reasonable rates in the area. We are in the process or updating the hotel, and have plans to further...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

Clean property and very comfortable beds. Heidi was extremely helpful when ever I needed something like getting me a room with good internet. There was plenty of parking for my truck and trailer. Not sure I wanted to stay there from outside but presently surprised on the inside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman D
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Norman D, Thank you so much for this nice review! It always makes my day to hear from guests who enjoyed their time with us and felt comfortable throughout their stay. I passed along your compliments to Heidi, and she was just thrilled to hear your kind remarks. We pride ourselves on offering comfortable and pleasant accommodations at some...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel should be avoided at all cost! It smells horrific. The toilet didn't work right and the faucet was green. There were brown stains smeared on the side of the bed. The staff just made excuses when we complained. We even paid extra for a room they said was remodeled. Not fit for any living creature!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smitten1995
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear smitten1995, I am so sorry to hear about your experiences during your stay here. Our top priority is that guests are comfortable and content, so hearing that your stay was unpleasant is completely unacceptable. I have brought up your complaints with the staff, and we are working to ensure that this does not happen again. If you would like...

Lake Stevens, Washington
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We won't be returning here. Our room had a really strong odor - it was bad! I went to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms, but they didn't have any other available rooms. They were thoughtful enough to offer me an Ibuprofen for the headache the smell had given me or to come and spray Febreeze...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Terry D, I am very sorry to hear that the room was not up to par. It is our top priority that guests are comfortable throughout their stay here, so this situation is unacceptable. If you would be so kind as to give me a call at the hotel, I would be happy to discuss this further with you....

Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 17 September 2016

decent place to stay at a great price. it's old and dated, but clean. because of cal poly freshman move-in, the location was sold out, and if you needed to change rooms you would be out of luck. still, it was reassuring to know the staff and general manager, Mary, would do whatever was in their power to do to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drj-family
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear drj-family, Thank you so much for this review. We are proud to offer some of the most competitive rates in the area, and I am glad you found the hotel to your liking. The San Luis Obispo area is only getting more popular, but we will always do our best to accommodate guest requests. I passed along your compliments...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had driven all day from Las Vegas on a road trip and rocked up to this place on the highway and it was a lovely surprise. lovely pool and hot spa and Margis diner Next door for an amazing breakfast! clean and comfortable hotel perfect for a few nights stay on route to the rest of California!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 707emmz
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear 707emmz, Thank you for sharing this review! I agree that this hotel is the perfect stuff when traveling through California, and I am glad we were able to offer you a pleasant and comfortable place to stay. The pool and spa seem to be quite popular among guests! The pool area is a great way to unwind after a...

Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is one of my favorite places to stay and this past visit was wonderful as always. This hotel is a quaint older hotel with beautiful grounds. The staff is always personable and helpful. We haven't been in a while and this visit we found that it had a new owner who has begun doing renovations. We were thrilled to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stacey C, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Your compliments have made my day, and I passed along your kind remarks to the rest of the staff. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here and found the facilities easily accessible. I agree that our pool and spa area is one of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a family for 2 nights en route to San Francisco. Whilst the inn is well located for San Luis Obispo, there is a traditional diner nearby and the wifi connection was good everything else was very poor. We were particularly concerned with security as there appeared to be other guests who were wedging the doors open as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oons14
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Oons14, I am so sorry to hear that your were not satisfied with your stay. It is always disappointing when a guest has a less than perfect time at the hotel, but I appreciate your feedback and will work on improving the points you raise. I am sorry that you were woken up by loud engines. It is a...

Fresno, CA
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute trip for us and I'm glad we stayed here. Daniel checked us in and we went to our assigned room upstairs. After opening the door, I called Daniel to see if he could move us to a first floor room for my sister in law who is not very mobile. Not only did Daniel immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stonesnbones
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear stonesnbones, Your review just made my day! Thank you for taking the time to share it. I passed along your compliments to Daniel, and he was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always do our best to accommodate special requests, and I am happy to hear that your whole family found the hotel comfortable and pleasant....

Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewed 13 August 2016

More than two weeks before our stay, I reserved an ADA Queen/Queen room plus a King room, directly from the hotel's website. Imagine my chagrin when, upon presenting ourselves at the front desk, we were told that they had no ADA room for us. No explanation, no real apology, no recognition that people who need ADA rooms need ADA rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yobabs
Mary C, General Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Dear Yobabs, I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in one of our ADA rooms. We always want to accommodate anyone who requests one of those rooms and clearly one of our reservations systems made an error. If you would be so kind as to send us a note to rgislo1@gmail.com, we would like to make...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (135)
Viewed
127 Two Queens (28)
Viewed
206 Standard King (21)
Viewed
227 Two Queens (22)
Viewed
228 Double Double (17)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.7 km away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,518 reviews
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
785 reviews
5.9 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
369 reviews
5.9 km away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
263 reviews
5.6 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rose Garden Inn is a San Luis Obispo hotel, located off beautiful Highway 101. It is a favorite among Cal Poly University families, with easy access to Pismo Beach, Avila Beach, Oceano Dunes and Hearst Castle. Guests are welcome to enjoy the beautiful gardens, heated pool and the areas largest spa with multiple waterfalls. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious, and equipped with the business and family traveler in mind. Free coffee, wireless Internet and a very friendly staff is here to make your stay more comfortable. Rose Garden Inn is just a short drive to scenic Hwy 1, Paso Robles Wine country, and Big Sur. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 1585 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Price Range: RM337 - RM868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rose Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Inn - San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Rose Garden Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i would request an upstairs room. On the bottom floor you can hear every step in the room above.”
 of 5 bubbles coxseven, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“best rooms as far as i know, are the ground floor deluxe queen double rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RRguy1, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2 double beds for 4”
 of 5 bubbles rhernandezch, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“select an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles P4538FDdianaa, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request the upgraded rooms”
 of 5 bubbles denjimenez, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5