We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,345: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stoped here for a one night stay and it is worth the price. The view is great! This resort has an restaurant on site. It also has an indoor and outdoor pool. The beach was not what I expected, you will find large rocks and debris. There's a sign posted that said do not make contact with the water due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed for 1 night, but I would have stayed longer if possible. The fire pits through out the property were a nice added touch and great way to meet other travelers. The rooms had all amenities, were clean and the beds were comfortable. The property also had Jacuzzi's, which was great to relax and look at the stars....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
St. Louis, MO
Reviewed 1 week ago

Paid extra for room to have sea view and fireplace. Very nice since there Christmas Eve. Room good size and clean. Had a mini bar fridge, once we got there we were told no micro on site although at time of reservation we requested one but no mention none avail. Nice restaurant with view of sea. Rocky beach area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GonetoUK
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It seemed the large majority of the staff were doing us a favor. Dark rooms, old carpets. The cavalier restaurant service was ok, but quite unfriendly, once again , it was as if they were doing us a favor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaz574
Genarro M, General Manager at Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback on your visit to the Cavalier. I am sad to hear you did not have a fantastic visit at our property which is what our team strives to deliver to each and every guest. I will be sure to share your comments with the team in order to help them understand they need to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here over the New Year and were disappointed. No AC and no microwave. The fire pits were closed the first day due to rain earlier in day. Rude and not helpful staff. Stay next door at the sands for cheaper and better rooms. Perks were the view and dog friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora G
Genarro M, General Manager at Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

It’s nice to hear that you and your dog were able to enjoy the ocean front view during your stay. I do however apologize on behalf of the Cavalier staff that they came across as not helpful. We pride our self on 5 star service and it is apparent we did not make the cut during your visit. We do...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were driving along Highway 1 and were chose to stay here based on the great reviews but were disappointed. We had booked King & DBl Queen rooms. While the prices we almost the same, the views and location were different. Queen rooms do not have an ocean view but a corridor in front. The service at checkin was slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank apbanerjee
Genarro M, General Manager at Cavalier Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food, service and value of the Cavalier restaurant. With that said our team is disappointed we let you down with the remainder of the comments in the review. Perhaps on your next visit you will try one of our ocean front rooms and be able to enjoy the experience of being truly...

Cypress, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cavalier in December 2016 again and thoroughly enjoyed it as usual. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on Kings Row and they did their best to accommodate our request to be on the north side and upstairs. They've added extra light in the vanity area of the bathroom which was needed and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Traveler29TT29
LA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We’re repeat guests at this property (usually with a dog in tow) but the first time back without a canine and since the hotel was no longer a Best Western (effective 12/1/16). Still, we were welcomed with the same friendly service, clean rooms, thoughtful amenities, and familiar set-up (e.g., large chairs facing the fireplace, several options for coffee, nightly roaring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cosmotron
Northville, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Compared to other hotels and motels in the area, this motel blows them away. The room was clean but very hot because the heating and cooling in the room did not work. I was surprised by the quality of the room. There was a restaurant on site but breakfast was not included. There were also fire pits on their beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
Del Mar, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here several times and really like this property. We only stayed one night this trip on our way up Big Sur to Monterey and stayed in an ocean front room where you can see the sea right in front of you. There is a path at the south side of the property that leads down to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelin M

1,208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (893)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (192)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (323)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (298)
Viewed
108 Double Queen (33)
Viewed
123 Standard King (33)
Viewed
258 Ocean View King (37)
Viewed
281 Ocean View King (45)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Pool-1 (14)
Viewed
Pool-2 (23)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Waterfront King (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.4 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
882 reviews
4.7 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,584 reviews
5.3 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
757 reviews
4.8 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Price Range: RM630 - RM1,269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cavalier Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Pleasanton, CA
over a year ago
8 months ago
8 months ago
11 months ago
DC
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Cavalier Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“South side has ocean views, confirm the check-in time as mine was changed, waited 2 hours before room was available,”
 of 5 bubbles jang732, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If in main building or restaurant lodge, choose 2nd level for best sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles GonetoUK, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only for a night stay - King Rooms alone”
 of 5 bubbles apbanerjee, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You can still hear and see the crashing waves (and bellowing seals!) from Oceanview rooms.”
  • 2nd floor Oceanview room (winter afternoon)
  • Taken from balcony (Oceanview room)
  • Seriously, if you forgot something, the hotel didn't!
 of 5 bubbles cosmotron, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For budget cost, rooms on parkinglot side will still have a view of the coastline and hear the water.”
  • What a VERY smart idea.
  • Honor bar prices were decent.
 of 5 bubbles mmmcdougal, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay