We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Darling House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Darling House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Darling House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
SF Bay Area
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The ocean is right across the house; Darrell Darling is a sweet host, owner of the Darling House with his wife Karen. Both are very hospitable and warm. The house is old historic house with antique furnishings - and very comfortable beds. It is an old house - so expect to be transported in time, but its close proximity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jojo S
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2011

When I saw the room listed on the Groupon site, I was very excited at the Idea a staying a historic house...BUT! The place just seemed run down and smelly. They room we stayed in had cobwebs hanging from the chandelier and we were itchy an uncomfortable in the bed. The shared bathroom was barely bearable....I highly recommend that someone...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Josh S
Mt View
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Charming house and antiques, but neglected, ill equipped and NOT CLEAN. (Definitely don't stay in the smaller rooms with shared bath.) Staff was variably helpful and rude. This place could be lovely, but for now, I couldn't wait to get home and take a shower.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ellen R
DWCD, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this review

We were delighted to have you with us last week-end and I enjoyed the several conversations we shared, including the movie review. It seemed you were quite pleased with your stay and I felt that was emphasized when I found the gracious tip and kind note that you left. In reading this review I would like to extend our hospitality...

Sacramento, CA
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had a groupon for an overnight stay at the Darling House and had the most wonderful time. The grounds were amazing and there was a huge porch area overlooking the ocean for spectacular views! This family-run spot is fantastic - it's almost like staying at the Hearst Castle with all the historic items - but very friendly and down-to-earth,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank drpepper1966
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Darling House was fabulous for atmosphere and charm. The hosts, the Darling family, made us feel like one of their own. Gorgeous views, delicious food, and it felt like stepping back in time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SantaCruzerLMNOP
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The Darling House is an historic gem. It is in perfect original condition. Our room was very comfortable. Totally quiet and quite beautiful. We had an ocean view as well as a garden view. Breakfast was amazing! Coffee and tea as well as homemade apple juice straight from trees in the yard, homemade granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tlgrove
Denise D, Owner at The Darling House, responded to this review

Nothing makes me happier than hearing that you felt so relaxed while you were here. Here's to all of great memories we had in this house, and to all of the ones in the future. Hope to see you again, Darling House Management

Truckee
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This is a great site for a small group retreat. The location is fabulous and the gathering area cozy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank truckeelisa
Arizona
Reviewed 19 November 2010

If you value/adore charming antique furniture, mouth-watering scones (made from scratch!) w/ yogurt and fresh fruit, and a calming, hospitable vacation environment, then this is it. Our family took a mini-vacay in Santa Cruz last August and we were nervous and disgusted by the abundance of over-priced rat holes in the area. That's why we turned to this bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RachMW1
DWCD, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us and sharing family time at our B&B on the sea. It's delightful to have family's with children who stay and bless the house with their special energy. We're glad you pressed thru the accommodation maze and found our welcoming home. We look forward to having you visit again for future days of beach fun....

San Jose, California
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My husband and I love, love, love old architecture! This was a perfect place to stay for a couple like us! The rooms were amazing and beautifully crafted. The home was full of antiques and period furniture. We stayed here in early November to celebrate my Husband's 29th birthday. We were minutes away from the downtown, boardwalk, and some of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katycat28
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Hitting Santa Cruz without a reservation is never a good thing, but try it at the end of the summer and you'll find, as we did, no vacancy or out-of-range prices. A customer at Sand and Surf who overheard a conversation I was having with the hotel staff recommended The Darling Inn. "Great place," he said. We showed up on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YubaLover
4darling1, Manager at The Darling House, responded to this review

Thank you for your sincere approval of your experience at our B&B in Santa Cruz. We are grateful for the opportunity to meet you and your family & enjoyed sharing conversation. It will be a pleasure to see you again whenever you are visiting in the area as we strive to create a "home away from home" at the Darling...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,241 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
406 reviews
0.7 km away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#22 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Seaway Inn
Seaway Inn
#12 of 54 in Santa Cruz
290 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Darling House Bed & Breakfast, a historic inn overlooking Northern California's beautiful Monterey Bay. Centrally situated in a quiet residential neighborhood on picturesque West Cliff Drive, we provide relaxing accommodations to travelers and friends seeking a memorable weekend getaway, a mid-week escape, a family vacation or a romantic getaway. As the only bed and breakfast inn directly on Santa Cruz's beautiful oceanfront, visitors appreciate the soft ocean sounds at night and the sights of gently rolling waves. Our facility is open year round with seven bedrooms for overnight accommodations, plus beautiful indoor space and a 1/2 acre of outdoor space which provide the perfect setting for gatherings of up to 150 people. Darling House is just a short stroll from Santa Cruz's leading attractions: Lighthouse Point, Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz Surfing Museum, Cowell Beach, the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, the Santa Cruz Wharf and Natural Bridges State Beach. West Cliff Drive is also a short drive away from the University of California Santa Cruz campus and downtown Santa Cruz's Pacific Garden Mall retail, dining and entertainment district. Lighted by the rising sun through beveled glass, Tiffany lamps and open hearths, and the grace of genuinely open hearts, the Darling House Bed & Breakfast welcomes you into an experience of peaceful elegance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Darling House

Address: 314 West Cliff Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM576 - RM1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Darling House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Darling House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darling House Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Darling House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great ocean view from some waterfront rooms”
 of 5 bubbles pmastand, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“There are rooms directly over looking Monterey Bay - breathtaking!”
 of 5 bubbles Donna_Byatt, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Anything with an ocean view will suffice.”
 of 5 bubbles KamoHaze, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Be aware, the shared bath downstairs does not have a shower but the one upstairs does.”
 of 5 bubbles honeymooner4, 24 Mar 2014 | Read review
“I would choose a room with an in room bathroom and make sure it has a shower unless you prefer baths.”
 of 5 bubbles brattitoo, 15 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5