We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seaway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Seaway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Seaway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We chose Seaway for it's location, and a seaview balcony king room, and were not disappointed by that. The price was reasonable, the room comfortable but nothing exceptional. The bathroom was small and a little worn, with a little vanity unit, counter top basin, wc and small shower cubicle, just about adequate, but otherwise the bedroom was a decent size,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Offthetouristtrack
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, in regards to your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that you were not disappointed by your room, although the bathroom is a "small and a little worn." We are still in the process of expanding the showers, we just have 4 more rooms to go, but this project has been...

Denham Springs, Louisiana
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

It was getting late and we needed a room and I found this little Inn! It was perfect! They are pet friendly and a small Inn near the beach and a great price! The rooms are nice and clean and the double shower was wonderful!! Would definitely recommend this place and stay here again!!! 👍🏻👍🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krze4dolphins
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the fact that we are pet friendly, reasonably priced and that you found our rooms to be nice and clean. We look forward to seeing you again, and thanks for the recommendation!

Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were in Santa Cruz on business. We come here often enough so we have stayed at various hotels in Santa Cruz. This was our first time at the Seaway Inn. Our room was with two queen beds on the first floor. It was a quiet, clean, comfortable room. The WiFi worked very well. When we were not working it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, while in Santa Cruz! We are happy to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed our location, in relation to the beach, restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

La Mesa, California
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We made a reservation at the Seaway inn. They did not have a room available at their primary property but indicated they had a room available at the same rate ($194/night) at their annex property two blocks away. My wife and I should have said no, but based on our past experiences said ok and booked room 302 in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ambarbour
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and posting your comments online. Although you and I had discussed these issues upon your check out, there was a particular issue above that I was not aware of, so do appreciate you for bringing this to our attention. Unfortunately, as we did have a big over turn on the day that you checked...

Grand Cayman
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our road trip through highway 1. Very nice accommodation, clean, comfortable bed, a sea view and walking distance to town. Very friendly reception and thoroughly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules197London
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was decent hotel compared to many that I have stayed in on the California coast. The rooms were adequate, and I liked that there was a window in the bathroom. You can see the ocean from the second floor deck. There were dead (I think) spiders in the ceiling corner above the sliding doors, but it didn't really bother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lesley19662015
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you felt we were in a good price range, for what we have to offer. I do apologize about the spiders in the corner of the ceiling! We do hope to see you on your next visit to Santa Cruz!

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, excellent location 1 block from the beach and a few blocks from downtown. Visit historic Walnut Ave and always the Boardwalk. There are lots of great cafes, restaurants and wonderful strolls in Santa Cruz and along Highway 1 heading North to San Francisco. Scotts Valley and Los Gatos, along Highway 17 are also wonderful spots to explore. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krista W
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location. We hope to see you again!

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Great location to the Santa Cruz pier and boardwalk. I'm a local and in the hotel industry, so I understand the importance of providing good service. The hotel itself was clean and presentable, the room was nice and recently updated. Mattresses were a little lumpy, and they do use the smaller European pillows so you'll have to gather many to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denverite361
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and for commenting on where our staff is lacking. I am truly disappointed to hear that you did not feel welcome upon your arrival due to your interaction with one of our staff members. We take all comments seriously and I will make sure to reiterate to my staff, our purpose and duties here...

County Antrim
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Very good location to the Beach boardwalk and Wharf. No extra charge for parking and always able to get a space. Breakfast available. Staff helpful. Good base to stay and enjoy Santa Cruz and the surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CountyAntrimAlison
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you decided to stay with us for your birthday celebration! We hope to see you again, should you be back in our area!

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This was a pretty good choice for us. The location was very convenient, the staff was very welcoming and the offerings for the included breakfasts were broad. Overall, I found it to be a good value in a great location. The only drawback was the room, itself. Both the room and the bathroom were quite small, and the decor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guppy4
Stephanie V, General Manager at Seaway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting us for your stay. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the room, other than the location. We look forward to seeing you again, when you are back in Santa Cruz!

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
1:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.1 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#4 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,242 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
406 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
0.0 km away
West Cliff Inn, a Four Sisters Inn
0.5 km away
Coastview Inn
Coastview Inn
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Seaway Inn is a charming Santa Cruz hotel perched on a hillside overlooking the gorgeous Monterey Bay. It has all the warmth and coziness of a classic beach hotel with a full array of modern amenities. It is just a short walk to family fun at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk, world-class surfing at Steamer Lane, fine dining at the Municipal Wharf, and unique shops and entertainment in bustling Downtown Santa Cruz. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seaway Inn

Address: 176 W Cliff Dr, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5440
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM593 - RM1,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seaway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Hotel Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seaway Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Seaway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not sure if the first floor is accessible by lift, so if you are not too mobile get a ground floor room”
 of 5 bubbles JasonE781, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have a better view of the sea.”
  • The three sisters view when you look up from the balcony
  • View from ground floor
 of 5 bubbles Destinyspeaks, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stay in a second floor room so you don't hear the people above you walking around”
 of 5 bubbles hemiadvisor, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for a seaview with balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles Offthetouristtrack, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room, as close to the offfice as they can do.”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley19662015, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5