We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Solares

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Solares
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

645 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 634: English reviews
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They double booked my room via their website glitched, then they lied and refused to refund the double room. Then I cancelled my reservation and had to still wait 2 weeks for a full refund. Then 2 weeks after cancelling my reservation they charged my card again. Stay Away... ignorant employees and dishonest management.

Helpful?
Thank rcweaver2
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We do apologize for the inconvenience, I do recommend booking directly with us over the phone to try and avoid computer glitches that we have no control over. sincerely Front Desk More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was not bad. Room was clean. It is kind of rundown but for the price it was worth it. Slim selection at the breakfast. There was a drug bust in the parking lot one afternoon. Don't think the bad guys were staying at the hotel.

Helpful?
Thank 4945
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we do work closely with law enforcement to make sure our hotel is safe for our guest. We are constantly improving our service and quality of amenities. Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable. Thank you for your business. More 

South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel solares is what you get for the price. It's nothing spectacular but it was clean and decently close to the boardwalk/beach. We stayed in October so I'm not sure what pricing is like during busier months. The breakfast is usual continental style with some fruit, yogurt and waffle maker. It works to grab a snack on your way out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tashawna g
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we will definitely take them seriously as we are always improving our service and our hotel. Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable. Thank you More 

Sparks, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Slightly remodeled former Days Inn. Offered a minimalist breakfast but no juice (machine broken) and no napkins... Room was clean but found numerous repairs needed. Piece of old trim wood to secure sliding glass door. Black mold behind shower handle. Crack in bathroom mirror. Within walking distance of Boardwalk and Pier.

Helpful?
Thank Wallyf01
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely apologize. we will take all this in consideration to make the proper changes to accommodate you in the future. We are under new management now, and also renovating a lot of rooms to make sure we meet customer satisfaction. More 

Travellers are raving about these Santa Cruz hotels

1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Terrible place to stay. The towels were dirty, the floor was unclean, and the staff was unpleasant. We just needed a place to sleep for the evening and we didn't sleep. The walls were paper thin and VERY LOUD music was bumping ALL night. We called to complain and the front desk never answered the phone. Several others complained and... More 

Helpful?
Thank scoz13
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

we deeply apologize for your experience. we will strive to correct the issues that you mentioned above. if you decide to stay with us again please contact me directly to accommodate your next stay . Joseph Ramos-8314589660 More 

Hanford, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had the two bedroom suite. We had a minor issue with the tv's when we first checked in but maintenance was sent over and took care of it right away. The front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast is sparse but we never expect much from a free breakfast. We would stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank jrchampion
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to comment on our hotel. We are committed to your satisfaction and we are always working on our amenities and customer service look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This is a no frills hotel. It's an old facility but the rooms are nice (fairly modern). The staff's customer service is ok at best. When asked to make coffee to go with the provided breakfast the woman working the counter seemed VERY annoyed. (Waffles, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit coffee and juice) The location of the hotel is about a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Apofire
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our performance I will talk to our front agents about your experience. And we will work hard at improving our customer service thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Love the property and as well as the woman at the front desk Tina very nice and welcoming. Room is great and so is the service we will be back here every time we come now because the staff and beautiful location thanks

Helpful?
Thank Lancejt
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We picked the Hotel Solares because we have a 8 yrs girl. The Solares was a short walk to the Santa Cruz beach, the Boardwalk and had a pool. Free off street parking was a plus too. Like all the hotels in downtown Santa Cruz, it is older and some parts of the building looked run down, but I must... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seror_Carlos
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Nothing wrong about this. Nice staff, clean and spacious rooms, small pool, patio to eat outside and basic breakfast. Big thing was that the Wifi was NOT working properly. Sometimes you were in and then thrown away. If you have a room on the first floor you can hear the noise from breakfast, but I didn't mind as I wake... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olli T
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously. More 

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.3 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#49 of 53 in Santa Cruz
151 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 53 in Santa Cruz
440 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#28 of 53 in Santa Cruz
183 reviews
0.8 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#20 of 53 in Santa Cruz
352 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM398 - RM1,184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Solares staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room with a balcony facing the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Seror_Carlos, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend a street facing corner room because of noise concerns if you want to open a door or window.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniClaire, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on the top floor only”
 of 5 bubbles Paul78789, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor allows pets. If you want quiet, try the upstairs. Sans dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaweedSara, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you have a pet, 1st floor room is great for easy access out.”
 of 5 bubbles olgag49, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay