We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Solares

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Solares
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solares
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Hanford, California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had the two bedroom suite. We had a minor issue with the tv's when we first checked in but maintenance was sent over and took care of it right away. The front desk staff was friendly. The breakfast is sparse but we never expect much from a free breakfast. We would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrchampion
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time out of your schedule to comment on our hotel. We are committed to your satisfaction and we are always working on our amenities and customer service look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your business

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This is a no frills hotel. It's an old facility but the rooms are nice (fairly modern). The staff's customer service is ok at best. When asked to make coffee to go with the provided breakfast the woman working the counter seemed VERY annoyed. (Waffles, cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit coffee and juice) The location of the hotel is about a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Apofire
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our performance I will talk to our front agents about your experience. And we will work hard at improving our customer service thank you for your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Love the property and as well as the woman at the front desk Tina very nice and welcoming. Room is great and so is the service we will be back here every time we come now because the staff and beautiful location thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lancejt
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We picked the Hotel Solares because we have a 8 yrs girl. The Solares was a short walk to the Santa Cruz beach, the Boardwalk and had a pool. Free off street parking was a plus too. Like all the hotels in downtown Santa Cruz, it is older and some parts of the building looked run down, but I must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seror_Carlos
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously.

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Nothing wrong about this. Nice staff, clean and spacious rooms, small pool, patio to eat outside and basic breakfast. Big thing was that the Wifi was NOT working properly. Sometimes you were in and then thrown away. If you have a room on the first floor you can hear the noise from breakfast, but I didn't mind as I wake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olli T
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will take your comments seriously.

Healdsburg, California
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Our room was slightly dirty (bathroom walls etc) and a little tired. Staff was friendly, although when we checked in (after 4p) a maids cell phone was plugged into an outlet in our room. Some dirty cleaning towels were left directly outside our door - they were removed fairly promptly when the maid showed up to collect her phone. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoniClaire
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience I would like to extend a discount on your future stay. sincerely Joseph S Ramos General Manager.

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

ok hotel, over priced but ok for a stop off, Santa Cruz as an area isn't the nicest, I would definitely avoid, you don't feel safe there, around every corner it smells, and there are so many homeless people, the best thing about Santa Cruz is at the end of the wharf the sea lions stay down at the end,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paigewoodcock
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion.

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

For starters we booked online and chose to have the deposit takin from the credit card and pay cash for the rest upon arrival just so we had extra traveling money on our card. Instead they took the whole amount out. When we discussed the issue when we arrived they said they would upgrade our room no charge. So sounds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
DaysInnSC, Front Office Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

At check in it is hotel policy to charge the room most hotel do that and incidental fee is not charged it is just authorize and returned back at check out.

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this place threw booking.com as soon as I booked it the hotel called and canceled my reservation since my card got declined so we went home. Then I go and check my bank account and the next day they charged my card once again total of 6 times my bank said they had tried to charge my debt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raeann G
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

I apologize for your experience hope you will let us make it up to you on your next stay by giving you a discount.

Fresno, California
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We paid for our room in advance. The deal was pay in advance and get a better price. Upon arriving we were not allowed to check-in early. Which okay we can deal with that, however upon checking-in the room we pre-paid for was not available. They gave our room to someone else. We paid for a suite but instead got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blamas4383
DaysInnSC, General Manager at Hotel Solares, responded to this review

thank you for your business.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area
0.5 km away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#27 of 54 in Santa Cruz
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Pacific Lodge
Ocean Pacific Lodge
#21 of 54 in Santa Cruz
355 reviews
0.3 km away
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
Pacific Inn Santa Cruz
#48 of 54 in Santa Cruz
151 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS All Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel Solares

Address: 600 Riverside Ave, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-5162 (Formerly Days Inn and Suites Santa Cruz)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM473 - RM1,655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Solares 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Beach Hotel
Santa Cruz Beach Inn
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Solares staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would pick a 2nd or 3rd floor room with a balcony facing the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles Seror_Carlos, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend a street facing corner room because of noise concerns if you want to open a door or window.”
 of 5 bubbles MoniClaire, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stay on the top floor only”
 of 5 bubbles Paul78789, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor allows pets. If you want quiet, try the upstairs. Sans dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles SeaweedSara, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you have a pet, 1st floor room is great for easy access out.”
 of 5 bubbles olgag49, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5