We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Santa Maria Inn

Traveller (368)
Room & Suite (121)
Dining (13)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We are a historic, full-service property located in the heart of Santa Maria along California's beautiful Central Coast. We offer an award-winning Garden Room Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, an Olde English Tap Room and a Wine Cellar and Martini Bar. We also feature an on site massage therapist, heated pool and spa, sauna, fitness facility, salon and barber. We are only minutes from the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail, championship golf, beaches and shopping. Secure your reservations now or take advantage of one of our many packages.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Family
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
71Somewhat walkable
Grade: 71 out of 100
46Restaurantswithin 1 km
7Attractionswithin 1 km
978Reviews
393Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 392
  • 314
  • 147
  • 66
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
If you're expecting to stay in a hipster or modern hotel look elsewhere; The Santa Maria Inn is a little like stepping back in time. The original part of the hotel was built in 1917 and is on the Historic Preservation List. This means it is protected from ever being remodeled,
Read more
I wasn’t sure what to expect from this hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge. Staff were friendly. Rooms are a bit dated but I think it gives the hotel a bit or character and fits in with the style. It’s not a 5* hotel but for what we
Read more
The hotel was old and musty. They put me in a room right next to the bar too which was extremely loud and my walls were pounding. Terrible experience so I asked the desk to leave. I never touched a thing inside the room (they can confirm). I understand hotels and they had more
Read more
Response from HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Travis, we are disappointed to hear that your experience did not live up to expectation and that there was a miscommunication regarding your third party booking. If there is anything that we may help you with further please don't hesitate to ask! Thank you for letting us know and for providing your feedback.
Read more
On our arrival night we had dinner at the Inn's restaurant, The Century Room which continues to provide great service and great food. It was also nice to see the server who helped us a year ago when she was just starting. This time we tried the Wine Cellar for drinks which is
Read more
Response from HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for this review of our property. We are delighted to hear about your return visit. It sounds like you had a great time. Our friendly staff looks forward to your next visit!
Read more
We've stayed at the Santa Maria Inn multiple times over the years. We appreciate the ambiance of the old hotel structure and history. For those unaware, this hotel has been around forever and housed many hollywood celebrities particularly in the 1900's who were either filming
Read more
Response from HistoricManager, Manager at The Historic Santa Maria Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Willie, Thank you for this review of our property. We are sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet expectations. Being 101 years old we're always striving to improve your stay. We will be sure to share your concerns with our management team. We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Historic Santa Maria Inn
The historic patio fountain
Cushions along bay windows are a charming and practical touch!
Spacious and comfortable room!
Corner room with curved bay windows!
Sink
PreviousNext
12345625
Sorry, I am just seeing this question. If I remember correctly our rate was $175.00 for one night which included fees and taxes. We were there in October 2016.
0 votes
Show all answers
I don't have any pictures. it's not a jacuzzi but a jetted tub. Think of a regular sized bath tub with water jets, that's what they have.
1 vote
We have to pay maybe 15 $ per person (dinner). Breakfast is not expensive...there was a restaurant including buffer or bar for take away.
1 vote
Show all answers
"I would say request a room with a courtyard view."
"Suggest reserving a room in the new tower"
"Choose the newer parts of the hotel if you are sensitive to odors or mold."
"Excellent Historical Old Wing and Modern Wing"
"High tower room facing the front of the hotel faces the main street which can get loud if you are a light sleeper"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$93 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
santa maria hotel santa maria
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta Maria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing