We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rest Haven Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rest Haven Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rest Haven Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had such a lovely stay here. The staff were so welcoming, and the room was clean and big and had character. The location was great - only 10/15 minute walk to the beach and the main shopping/bar/restaurant area. We were very pleasently surprised at the price as well, we were expecting to pay at least 50% more in Santa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bozle
Management response:

Our great appreciation for this nice review, thank you very much. There`s something i would like to clear out though, i am just a Manager running this motel and not the owner. I do hope someday i am going to run such hotel/motel under my name. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Have a lovely day.

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Having just returned from Santa Monica after a 2night stay at the Rest Haven, we were delighted with the cleanliness, standard and location of this delightful little motel, a steal at $99 per night. I would highly recommend a room around the courtyard as it offers a lovely seating area, perfect for that glass of vino!!!! Very friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne f
Management response:

Thank you again for choosing Rest Haven Motel. Our appreciation for this positive review. This is a family operated small motel and we all care that everyone leaves with good memory. And hope to welcome you both back the next time you travel to Santa Monica. Have a beautiful day.

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We had three nights at the Rest Haven on arrival in LA. What I wanted from that time was somewhere clean and fairly comfortable to recover from our 2-year-old's first flight (and a long-haul, at that), and in a location where we wouldn't need to hire a car. I chose Rest Haven based on some good reviews, the price and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Araikwao
Management response:

Your review and comments are very much appreciated. Thank you for this precise and informative review. It would surely be helpful to our future guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Have a wonderful day!

Del Mar, California
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We were pleasantly surprised at what we got for $99... in Santa Monica! The room, while plain and basic, was very clean and carefully appointed. The staff was thoughtful, helpful and very cooperative. This place is vastly superior to the joint across the main street. If possible, get a room on the private courtyard which has places to sit among...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TwoNewYorkers
Management response:

Thanks for recognizing our place and service. Compliments like this are much needed for motivation purpose. Hope to welcome you back sometime. We are very grateful for the 5-star review at TripAdvisor. Rest assured your next stay will be a pleasant one, too. Have a wonderful day to both of you.

Savigliano, Italy
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Price is good if consider prices in Santa Monica. Rooms basic but clean. Good solution for family (we had 4 bed room). 2 Km from the sea, 1 Km from shopping mall where you can find something to eat (do not go in fastfood close). ADVISABLE.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tropao
Management response:

Thank you for the review and for the positive advise to our future guests. Hope to welcome your family back the next time around. Have an awesome day!!!

Cambridge, England
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I had booked 3 nights at Rest Haven after a very busy 10 day coach tour of California and Arizona, to unwind before my trip back to the UK. I chose it because it was so much cheaper than the frontline hotels a couple of blocks nearer the beach. The motel is situated just off the busy Lincoln Boulevard and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BBTrisha
Management response:

Thank you for staying with us and more thanks for taking your time and post this very detailed review about our motel. We have few electric kettles for tea ( just ask the front desk). There are so many places for breakfast in walking distance, etc. We also offer computer desks if you need it. I hope these infos from...

Bochum
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Clean rooms, neighbourhood a little rough, good Thai restaurant close by. Wifi is rarely available in backrooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tonnruss
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. As for the WIFI, please inform the front desk for any problem or suggestions, we will be very pleased to assist or help you so good we can. And we are in a residential neighborhood with houses which worth minimum $900,000.00. The neighborhood is classic fifties or sixties and very very safe. Have a nice day.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A basic, but clean motel with a friendly and helpful management. Good parking and reasonable location about 20 minutes' walk from the Center of Santa Monica and the beach. Easy access to LAX.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra187064
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time and posted a review. We appreciate all comments and suggestion. Glad to know your stay with us got a positive review from you, thank you very much. Have a nice day and please feel free to contact us the next time you visit Santa Monica.

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was a wonderful pick for a place to stay while on vacation. Had a great experience. Very clean and the staff was thoughtful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rebecca S
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the nice review. We would like to mention specially our housekeeper ANGELA Santiago, without her good ideas when it comes to room decorations and cleanliness, we`ll never have such good reviews. Have a nice day and hope to welcome you back with your friends sometime around.

massachusetts
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nothing fancy. Small and dated, but very clean, which is the most important thing for me. Area was so-so. Needed just a place to stay overnight before our LA tour the next day, and it worked out fine.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bghky
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time and posted an honest review. Hope to welcome you back sometime. Goodday! *jdl/ .

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:44
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Queen Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Triple Room (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (213)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (151)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
225 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#24 of 36 in Santa Monica
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
495 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
155 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#26 of 36 in Santa Monica
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Monica

Neighbourhood Profile
Santa Monica
Santa Monica is a coastal town that maintains a balance as a tourist destination and as an area with a thriving local culture. On the beach, bikers, roller-bladers, runners and walkers move along the famed bike path enjoying the beautiful Los Angeles weather. The solar-powered Ferris wheel at the Santa Monica pier spins high above the water, while park revelers scream with delight riding the roller coaster. Inland from the beach, Third Street Promenade bustles with shoppers and street performers, where every block seems to have a musical or acrobatic act drawing crowds giving Santa Monica both the feeling of a laid-back beach town and a major commercial hub.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*All request, including room type, are non-guaranteed and shall be honored depending on availability at check-in.* We are a small and basic motel. To noise sensitive; we are behind the Jack in the Box(fastfood chain) and the night Bar name TriP. Welcome to Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica !!! Feel good in this neighborhood if you would! This is an economy motel conveniently located in Lincoln Blvd and Grant Street just 20 minutes walk to the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica and the famous Santa Monica Pier where fun and enjoyment can be had beyond compare. The place is quite accessible to many other favorite tourists' haunts known the world over like Venice Beach, Malibu, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Disneyland, and more which makes every stay a pleasure. Built in 1938..."A marvelous experience"... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant Street, Santa Monica, CA 90405
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Price Range: RM589 - RM771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rest Haven Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid room 12”
 of 5 bubbles globalroam, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to find another solution than staying there”
 of 5 bubbles mt631, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ground floor with parking”
 of 5 bubbles Natrock, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
“rooms near to reception have best Wifi reception”
 of 5 bubbles 462PeterC, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Get a room behind the gate. It has a nice courtyard with table a chairs.”
 of 5 bubbles WENDYLALA, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5